Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
wasbak
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:15 pm

Help with mixed vlan config on rb-2011iL-RM

Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:27 pm

I realise that vlans have been discussed in many posts on this board but I'm having a hard time filtering the relevant information.

We are looking to implement the following setup on a rb2011iL-RM. It needs to function as a switch, no firewall/routing/dhcp etc needed.
We do need a bunch of vlans:

eth1 untagged: vlan1
tagged: 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112

eth2 untagged: vlan1
tagged: 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112

Et3 - Eth10:
untagged: 102

I would prefer to use the switch chip but in all honesty I'm having massive trouble figuring out how to get this to work. If anyone can help me with this setup it would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
 
User avatar
rmmccann
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Help with mixed vlan config on rb-2011iL-RM

Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:40 pm

You could go about it a couple of ways:

IMO using the switch chip would be a cleaner config and faster. If you use bridging, you'd need a bridge for each VLAN and a bridge for your untagged vlan and ports.

I believe the 2011 has two switch chips, so you'd need to bridge the two to allow them to communicate. To enable the switching functionality, you go into interface config and assign a master port (this is usually going to be your first ethernet port in each switch, so eth1 for swi1 and eth6 for sw2). You'd create your VLANs in the switch config and assign them to each particular port that needs them. You'll also want your management VLAN assigned to the switch CPU ports.

To allow hybrid ports (untagged and tagged frames on same interface), you'd set the VLAN header to add if missing and assign the VLAN ID for your untagged port. For VLAN mode, secure would only allow VLANs you've defined.

If I dig out my 2011 from storage I could probably cobble together a config, but I *hope* maybe this information can help you get going in the right direction. I'll admit I had some troubles initially grasping the config for the switch, but this website helped me understand it a lot better:
http://www.breekeenbeen.nl/2014/12/11/m ... -bridging/
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. --Douglas Adams
 
wasbak
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:15 pm

Re: Help with mixed vlan config on rb-2011iL-RM

Tue Mar 03, 2015 3:18 am

Thanks for responding to an admittedly lazy post. I'll take a look at the link.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Buster2, sjdurand and 143 guests