Community discussions

 
karwos
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Poland

Add new PCQ classifiers

Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:51 pm

Hi,
seems current PCQ classifiers (dst-ip-addr, src-ip-addr) working only on etherType=0x800=ip packet
when device working in bridge mode and bridging packets, when it's attached QUEUE on INTERFACE, it's only classyfing plain IP packets.
Packets with etherType=pppoe sesssions, or packets with VLAN header, or Vlan-in-Vlan header ARE NOT BEING PLACED IN PCQ QUEUE!

I think best solution will be to add two PCQ classifiers: src-mad-addr, dst-mac-addr - then we don't care what services being bridged through...
 
User avatar
shahbazian
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:22 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:24 pm

Queue work only on layer 3 traffics, So don't work on bridge ports.
Queue don't limit traffics forward through bridge ports.
Learn MikroTik to improve your network.
( MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E, MTCINE )
MikroTik Certified Trainer & Consultant
RIPE NCC Trainer
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:56 pm

If you are also doing queues on the pppoe server, and your transport / backhaul network is using vlan tags, then your marking rules on the pppoe server could also set a dot1p priority (cos) flag on the vlan headers. Middle switches could queue based on dot1p.

Other than that, you're out of luck for prioritizing traffic within a tunnel.
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
User avatar
shahbazian
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:22 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:05 am

yes, this is good; but the queue do not support layer 2 traffics, so this is not related to pcq classifiers.
Learn MikroTik to improve your network.
( MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E, MTCINE )
MikroTik Certified Trainer & Consultant
RIPE NCC Trainer
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Tue Apr 14, 2015 4:26 pm

yes, this is good; but the queue do not support layer 2 traffics, so this is not related to pcq classifiers.
hmmm - I would have thought that wmm might support this. It's always one of those shadowy things that's always just below the surface, doing its job, and you cannot configure it. (QoS is this way in Ubiquiti also)
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
karwos
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Sun May 10, 2015 9:35 pm

Queue work only on layer 3 traffics, So don't work on bridge ports.
Queue don't limit traffics forward through bridge ports.
I though "interface queue" is last queue before calling hw transmit - so it should work on L2 as well. any comment from MT engineers?
 
karwos
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Sun Jul 05, 2015 5:37 pm

bump ...
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Mon Jul 06, 2015 6:46 am

Queue work only on layer 3 traffics, So don't work on bridge ports.
Queue don't limit traffics forward through bridge ports.

i have used simple queue and queue tree on bridge implementation
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1721
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: Add new PCQ classifiers

Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:20 am

First of all it is important to know if you use use-ip-firewall in bridge settings.

Second, it is not good practice to limit traffic after encapsulation happened, you need to limit traffic before you encapsulate traffic into pppoe packet.

So i would suggest to move your queues to HTB Global, or to the simple queues, Where you can work with IPs.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 59 guests