Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
conchalnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: Brazil

Doubt with Win XP

Tue Jul 11, 2006 10:45 pm

Hi all,

I've 2 mikrotik machines (Mikrotik A and Mikrotik B) configurated in the same tower with ssid and channel diferents.

- I connect with a windows machine on the mikrotik A. The signal strenght stays -60 on the winbox. The windows XP says that the signal is EXCELENT.

I connect with the same windows machine on the mikrotik B. The signal strenght stay -60 on the winbox, but the windows XP says that the signal is GOOD and not EXCELENT.

Does anyone know why this occours? Why does the same signal is GOOD on a mikrotik machine and EXCELENT on the other mikrotik machine if the signal strenght is the same on both?

Thanks in advance,

Fabrício F. Kammer
 
User avatar
BulleriNET
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: prescott az 86301

interferance

Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:14 am

change the channel on the b radio??

there may be more interferiance on that channel
 
jarosoup
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:02 am

Wed Jul 12, 2006 7:09 am

Windows doesn't always report accurate wireless connections...infact, you should never base a connection on this. Get Netstumbler or some other similar utility and check your signal with this.
 
conchalnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: Brazil

Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:50 pm

OK jarosoup

I agree with you, but I want to know why does the same Win XP do different measurement on Mikrotiks A and B?

BulleriNET said that this can be interferiance on the channel... how can I measure the interference?

Regards,
 
User avatar
BulleriNET
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:30 pm
Location: prescott az 86301

only way

Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:06 pm

only way to get all the noiseis with a spectrum analizer but that is Very expensive i would test all the channels first to find which gives you the best profomance if it is the same for all channels it may be hardware and you may test the cables from box to antenna or the pig tale
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Doubt with Win XP

Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:19 pm

Hi all,

I've 2 mikrotik machines (Mikrotik A and Mikrotik B) configurated in the same tower with ssid and channel diferents.

- I connect with a windows machine on the mikrotik A. The signal strenght stays -60 on the winbox. The windows XP says that the signal is EXCELENT.

I connect with the same windows machine on the mikrotik B. The signal strenght stay -60 on the winbox, but the windows XP says that the signal is GOOD and not EXCELENT.

Does anyone know why this occours? Why does the same signal is GOOD on a mikrotik machine and EXCELENT on the other mikrotik machine if the signal strenght is the same on both?

Thanks in advance,

Fabrício F. Kammer

You are only looking at half of the connection. It shows a -60 as the Rx signal level on the Mikrotik AP, but you do not see the Tx signal level (unless you're connecting with another Mikrotik client).

So it may have the same Rx signal, but going to the other AP the Tx signal of the client may be lower (due to noise, further distance, etc..) causing XP to see a lower connection quality.

Use netstumbler and you can find out what the true signal levels are on the client machine. I think netstumbler allows for SNR readings as well, most likely this feature is driver/card dependant.

-Bill
 
bushy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Ireland

Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:15 pm

Maybe one of these might help ? http://www.metageek.net/ , maybe someone here has tried one out
 
conchalnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: Brazil

Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:39 pm

Hi wildbill442,

I understand you and I agree with you, but my doubt is why is the signal in mikrotik B is wrose than Mikrotik B than in Mikrotik A. The client radio/antena/distance is the same. Both mikrotik machines are in the same tower.

Regards
 
cabana
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 9:18 pm

Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:23 am

Maybe one of these might help ? http://www.metageek.net/ , maybe someone here has tried one out
I was going to try it out until I saw the cost in the UK. In the US it costs 99 US dollers (about 53 UK pounds), in the UK it costs 99 UK pounds, almost twice that of the US, and it seems that http://www.metageek.net/ won't deliver to Europe. On principle I won't pay double for something.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aguerraitd, Baidu [Spider], rigasservice, sindy and 54 guests