Community discussions

 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

IP Cloud question

Thu May 07, 2015 1:28 pm

Hello,

Is it possible to have two (or more) IP cloud DNS names?
Would be usefull eg when you have multiple ISP connections into one mikrotik.

Kris
 
deanMKD1
Member
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Macedonia
Contact:

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon May 25, 2015 12:00 am

I think that is not possible for now.. :(
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Mon May 25, 2015 7:23 am

Better to use normal ddns service that provides fully manageable settings.
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon May 25, 2015 12:36 pm

What is the advantage of using a "normal" DDNS service in comparison of using the Mikrotik DDNS?
When using a "normal" DDNS script, i have to put a device, using 24/7 power. Why should I do that when the Mikrotik can manage it all?

I'm using the Mikrotik cloud on all my devices and i'm happy with it...

Kris
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

IP Cloud question

Mon May 25, 2015 3:41 pm

Own domain names, aliases, freely selectable ttl and other normal dns things that mikrotik doesn't provide. And what is more it works. I don't understand the note about 24/7 power.
 
upower3
Member
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Wed May 27, 2015 7:12 pm

Mikrotik's DDNS is quite a help to set up something quickly and easily. But for the sake of security we need to remember that DDNS name is exactly device-serial-number followed by .sn.mynetname.net (so to say, "sn" appears to be "serial number").

While it's not something too unusual, this way by scanning hostnames by simply iterate serials, one can get IPs of real Mikrotiks and thus can use these IPs to scan devices.

I'd wish names are to be generated with some salt or extra string but it is done the way it's done.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Sat May 30, 2015 6:58 am

Exactly. This was my reason from the beginning for not putting my IPs on such public list.
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Jun 08, 2015 2:09 am

Own domain names, aliases, freely selectable ttl and other normal dns things that mikrotik doesn't provide. And what is more it works. I don't understand the note about 24/7 power.
Another device = a device that needs power 24/7...

So, how can we put this on the Mikrotik list for future improvements?
If anyone can tell me how i can use this function in combination with a domain name of my own : shoot (without any other device)!

Problem:
Port 1 : cable internet provider (variable IP)
Port 2 : xDSL internet provider (fixed IP)
Port 3 : Wireless internet provider (fixed IP)

When i use the cloud function, i can't "tell" the Mikrotik that he have to listen to Port 1, he takes the fixed IP of my xDSL provider.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24272
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:36 am

you can use Metarouter to run OpenWRT and there run your DNS server
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:25 pm

So it isn't possible out-of-the-box with RouterOS (eg a 2011)?
Could you please pick this up as an idea for the next version of ROS?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24272
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:51 pm

Since the DNS name is based on your RouterBOARD Serial Number, you can't get two DNS names.
We could introduce custom / multiple DNS name as some sort of premium feature maybe.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

IP Cloud question

Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:19 pm

There is no difference between normal ddns service and mikrotik cloud ip other than you are getting more options and control over what and how is set when using other ddns service than mikrotik. No need to run any device more 24/7 only for that.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

IP Cloud question

Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:20 pm

There is no difference between normal ddns service and mikrotik cloud ip other than you are getting more options and control over what and how is set when using other ddns service than mikrotik. No need to run any device more 24/7 only for that.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

IP Cloud question

Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:24 pm

I would be more than happy when mikrotik develops cloud ip service into comparable level like dnsexit for example offers for free. Come with such functionality and I will come to ip cloud. Otherwise I am keeping my scripts and using dnsexit further. Ip cloud is not usable for me so far. Unfortunately.
 
wcsnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:43 pm
Location: South Africa

IP Cloud question

Wed Jun 17, 2015 8:27 pm

Ip cloudy works well though i use it lots!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
upower3
Member
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Wed Jun 24, 2015 4:21 pm

We could introduce custom / multiple DNS name as some sort of premium feature maybe.
Please don't! Please simple add text input field like "extra part" and "use interface MAC" chekbox into ip/cloud settings and allow 1-8 chars to be entered there. Then simply create cloud hostname out of serial, this "extra part" and interface's MAC for every (public) interface of the device.

Can be good feature, secure and useful, which can play for ROS popularity.
 
janisbvp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:33 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:25 pm

We could introduce custom / multiple DNS name as some sort of premium feature maybe.
Well, that could be feasible, because this dns as it is, is useless.
Would you remember your router dns name if ir was 42711237ace5.sn.mynetname.net? Thought so - you wouldn't.
Using strange script to manage Dyndns is also some form of craziness, I think.
Metarouter with openwrt, to update dns... well, you know, what I wanted to write here.
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:35 pm

We could introduce custom / multiple DNS name as some sort of premium feature maybe.
Well, that could be feasible, because this dns as it is, is useless.
Would you remember your router dns name if ir was 42711237ace5.sn.mynetname.net? Thought so - you wouldn't.
Using strange script to manage Dyndns is also some form of craziness, I think.
Metarouter with openwrt, to update dns... well, you know, what I wanted to write here.
I just use CNAME dns entry. En works great :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests