Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:28 pm

I had another tread but it seems dried out, so tried again with new subject and experiances.

Some Apple devices, (not all, some work inmediately) can connect to a wifi AP and some other router on a remote 'bridged' router (some interface are bridged) plays the role of dhcp-server.

Now I have two networks, one allows most Apple devices to get an IP, but yet again not all. Where the other denies most Apople devices (but again, not all) an IP address.

Some Apple devices that are denied IP addres from the one network/dhcp-server have no issue obtaining similar from similar but other network. Apart from the IP address range and the physical nature settings are all exactly the same!

In both cases the devices login the wireless AP without problems (NO encryption, only mac filter in the access list) but the IP requested for (either dynamic or dynamic-assigned or fixed) is not handed out.

The status for that devics goes from "bound" for about 10 secs to 'busy' for some time (anywhere between 4 sec to some minutes) to go to 'offered' again. It takes ample seconds to hand it out and "bound" pops up again and the cycle starts again.

In the apple device's network status doesn't change at all..


We tried every possible setting in the dhcp-server field.

We tried the client as random dynamic client,
We tried the client with an fixed lease client and tried serveral setting here.

All to no avail.


Very frustrating...
We have couples coming in with two brandnew Ipads. One connects, no problem. The other just can't get an IP?????

Androids, window device or whatsover never have this issue. Only the 'top' brand Apple?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:35 pm

in the MacOS device, open "Console" to check for any errors. And also enable debug log in the RouterOS. compare the two.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:30 pm

in the MacOS device, open "Console" to check for any errors. And also enable debug log in the RouterOS. compare the two.
well, that kept us busy for half an hour. My employees IpadTouch 5th generation doesn't have a "Console".
There must be another way but in google we could only find a long explanatory manual on how to set it up. Since she already was late we decided to give it another try tomorrow. (I have no other apple devices at hand now...)

But how can it be that on one AP with dhcp server there is not a single problem where on another it has.

The only difference on the AP with the issue is that the dhcp-server is some hops (wireless and wired) away and together with some 8 other AP's all interconnected with a vlan. The dhcp-server of this 'Hotspot' (It is not a real hotspot, just dhcp-server with mac auth. list) sits on a bridge interface that bridges several vlan's for this purpose in this router.

The AP that works is just bridged to a bonded link that is bridged to another router that has also 2 normal ethernet interfaces in a new bridge to create one big office network. That all works fine.....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
kristaps
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:37 pm

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:52 pm

Hi We will try to replicate your setup and problem.
We have tested wireless with different apple devices iPhone 4s, iPhone 6, iPad air 2, etc.
And they didn't showed any problems with connection.

try to enable wireless debug and also dhcp debug on router.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:45 pm

Hi We will try to replicate your setup and problem.
We have tested wireless with different apple devices iPhone 4s, iPhone 6, iPad air 2, etc.
And they didn't showed any problems with connection.

try to enable wireless debug and also dhcp debug on router.
Already made a dhcp-debug pringt in another tread opened months ago. http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 59#p480559

Its only that tread was sort of 'bleeded' I started again and finally get you guys's attention. :)

Anyway, tomorrow when I have an apple device again we try to do it again and also debug the wireless.
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24315
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:24 pm

Ah, you mean iOS devices. Console applies to Mac machines only. iOS does not have debug console :(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:17 am

Ah, you mean iOS devices. Console applies to Mac machines only. iOS does not have debug console :(
Well, iOs or Apple. We see the issue with Apple iPads, Apple iPhones and Apple Ipod-touch. I seem to remember once we had someone with an Apple Macbook having the same issue.. So, Apple or iOS, whatever, they don't work.

Haven't had time today. Too many other issues to solve....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
Nollitik
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:16 am

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Thu Jul 16, 2015 3:43 am

You can try assigning a fixed IP address. Here are some links to solutions that seem common among the iPod Touch.
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2757493?tstart=0
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1282140?tstart=0
https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/963 ... IP+address
 
FunkyBunny
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:33 pm

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:47 pm

I am having the exact same issue at one of our clients. They have a CCR-1009-8G-1S acting as a router, a cisco sg300 switch, with a CAP-2n access point hooked up to the switch which is hooked up to the router.

The devices seem to stay connected to the wireless (I watched the registration table on the CAP and they don't disconnect according to the uptime), but they keep requesting DHCP leases and the old IP they requested just shows up as "busy". I set the devices to static on the mikrotik, so at least now they're not burning through IP

Did anyone find a solution to this yet?
 
FunkyBunny
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:33 pm

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:27 pm

I did a bit more investigating, and the issue I'm seeing with the apple devices that aren't working shows up in the dhcp debug as:

[dhcpserver] client [mac address] declines IP address [ip address]

I'm not sure how to resolve, and I'm assuming it's probably the same issue as the original poster.
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:12 pm

My Samsung Smart TV does not get DHCP if connected to switch1 of RB2011.

It also does not connect if I use static settings.

But the link appears established.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Sat Sep 12, 2015 1:29 pm

We tried all suggestions post on this forum but to no help.
We have a 3 AP 2,4Ghz sort of 'hotspot' system. We authenticate mac addresses in the access list of each AP (depending which one will 'see' the client(s)) and all 3 hotspot APs are bridged with a vlan network that has one dhcp-server assigning addresses with dns and default gateway.

What is so weird is that some families walk in our office for access, both having a Ipad; one connects without problems and has internet access, the other connects, gets IP address but cannot get to the internet. Or sometimes does connect (registered in the registration table) but is not even getting IP address. IP is offered by dhcp-server but after some times goes to 'busy' or disappears to be offered again, and again, and again, etc. etc.

We also have some that say they can connect in one AP but on the other they get no internet access? Very weird.

I didn't spend too much time on it because it needs extensive investigation and I just don't have time for it.
Androids or normal laptop hardly seen the same issue. But Apple devices quit regularly, 90% I would say.....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Mon Sep 21, 2015 3:45 pm

My Samsung Smart TV does not get DHCP if connected to switch1 of RB2011.

It also does not connect if I use static settings.

But the link appears established.
I tried now with interface queue ethernet-default just in case, but it did not help.

I think this is a general problem with Samsung Smart TVs, not really Mikrotik's fault, but if you were able to solve it, it would be good for marketing.

Now I am wary of buying another router that only has gigabit ports.
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Mon Sep 21, 2015 3:59 pm

My Samsung Smart TV does not get DHCP if connected to switch1 of RB2011.

It also does not connect if I use static settings.

But the link appears established.
I tried now with interface queue ethernet-default just in case, but it did not help.

I think this is a general problem with Samsung Smart TVs, not really Mikrotik's fault, but if you were able to solve it, it would be good for marketing.

Now I am wary of buying another router that only has gigabit ports.
My Airport Extreme simultaneous dual band with gigabit LAN running its own DHCP server just worked without any issues.
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:54 pm

My Samsung Smart TV does not get DHCP if connected to switch1 of RB2011.

It also does not connect if I use static settings.

But the link appears established.
I tried now with interface queue ethernet-default just in case, but it did not help.

I think this is a general problem with Samsung Smart TVs, not really Mikrotik's fault, but if you were able to solve it, it would be good for marketing.

Now I am wary of buying another router that only has gigabit ports.
My Airport Extreme simultaneous dual band with gigabit LAN running its own DHCP server just worked without any issues.
I put the Airport Extreme in bridge mode as DHCP client, and the Airport Extreme, the TV, and the wireless devices connected with the Mikrotik DHCP server without problems.
 
User avatar
meverest
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia
Contact:

[possible solution] Re: Some (not all) Apple device get no IP fm some dhcp-server

Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:10 am

I found a solution for this issue - hope it works for you too! :-}

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=96472&p=619402#p619402
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Why Choose DuxTel for all your MikroTik needs?
http://duxtel.com/why_duxtel
Follow our tweets for news and updates: twitter.com/duxtel

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 83 guests