Page 1 of 1

Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 8:37 am
by normis
Unfortunately, there was a bug in our NTP package that caused a crash on CCR units due to the introduction of the Leap Second on June 30, 2015. This bug did not cause any other problems. We have fixed the issue in RouterOS v6.30rc26. No other devices were affected, only CCR units.

We are sorry for the inconvenience, please upgrade the devices when the new v6.30 version comes out, or upgrade to the RC now, if you prefer to get the fix sooner. The fix will also prevent any problems with further leap seconds in the upcoming years.

In addition, we also improved the Watchdog to do it's job better and make sure the devices are rebooted in this type of crash.

Download v6.30rc26 here: http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 30rc26.npk

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 3:51 pm
by joegoldman
Hi Normis,

I had CCR unit running NTP updates on 6.27 that did not crash?

I purposefully disabled SNTP on my primary routers but left it on my secondary's to see if they would be affected but they were not.

CCR1036-8G-2S+ running 6.27

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 3:59 pm
by normis
It is possible that your NTP server did not send a "Leap Flag" but simply sent new corrected time, it depends on the server.

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 4:57 pm
by kgninfos
My ccr did crashed on 30th June midnight
after rebooting it worked fine

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:45 pm
by IPANetEngineer
Thanks for the patch guys....will test it out soon.

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:49 am
by tsedes
HI,

I have same issue here, my CCR was Crash and must power restart to make it UP. But, I thing my problem is diff because there is no ntp client or server enable. This happen periodically but random. there is no CPU load issue.
anyone have my experiece to?

Thanks

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:24 pm
by paulct
Just a bump..... leap second on the 31st of December 2016. Make sure your CCR's are upgraded before then.

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:29 pm
by Chupaka
huh... Normis, please confirm that the bug is in NTP package, and SNTP client is not affected

or should we better disable SNTP client for a day or two on pre-6.30 versions?

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:30 pm
by normis
the old bug was in the NTP package (affected only multicore systems). but it was fixed after 6.30

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:36 pm
by pe1chl
So our CCR with ntp package version 6.37.3 will not crash tomorrow night? Promise? :)

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:36 pm
by normis
We did test it again, so I hope it will be ok :D

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:49 pm
by paulct
Mine is on 6.30.1 - holding thumbs :)

Re: Leap Second issue on CCR units

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 2:19 am
by pe1chl
Our CCR made it OK... Happy new year!