Community discussions

 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 8:55 am

We are talking about the upgrade menu. Not "Release Switch menu".

If you are on 6.30, "Bugfix" should bring Updates to 6.30.1, 6.30.2, 6.30.3
If you are on 6.31, "Bugfix" should bring Updates to 6.31.1, 6.31.2, 6.31.3

Not downgrades. Even if you download the "downgrade" and reboot, it will not be installed as it is an older version than the installed one. You will have to run /system package downgrade additionally. So in my opinion this feature is not here to switch between releases, but for changing update channel.
No, the menu provides ability to downgrade as well. So everything works as it should. If one of the "new" features in v6.31 is causing you problems, you can "downgrade" to the last stable v6.30.3
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 9:12 am

Anyone with Reboots happening, please make supout.rif file after the reboot and email it to support@mikrotik.com
Thank you!
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:08 am

Send it yesterday, ticket#2015081666000091, 6.31 kill 750UP after sometime best case reset by watchdog or just hung up :(, disabling wireless package also not working it is end up by kernel failure.
SXT device and BaseBox seem to me not affected, lost one Groove52 but not have access to him to see what happens.
 
Łukasz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:41 am

Send it yesterday, ticket#2015081666000091, 6.31 kill 750UP after sometime best case reset by watchdog or just hung up :(, disabling wireless package also not working it is end up by kernel failure.
SXT device and BaseBox seem to me not affected, lost one Groove52 but not have access to him to see what happens.
I upgrade 2 omnitiks UPA and with both is problem - lost contact with devices (only ping answer). I don't upgrade rest of omnitiks UPA.
Maybe problem is with poe-out devices?
Mikrotik, please check it.

You promised me that [Ticket#2015070966000221] will be fix in this relase - it is still not fixed.
 
patrick7
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:40 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:41 am

@normis OK, I understand. But then you should propably consider renaming this menu. Commands like update, check-for-updates for downgrades is a little bit confusing :-)
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1106
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 12:24 pm

If one of the "new" features in v6.31 is causing you problems, you can "downgrade" to the last stable v6.30.3
6.30.3? Has it been released already?
 
NetworkMeister
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:59 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 12:42 pm

Could not add VirtualAP via winbox on my RB751G-2HnD, "L2 MTU" field is empty and grey (read only) so i get error message: "Couldn't add New Interface - l2mtu wrong (6)". It is only possible to add interface via terminal. I tried with winbox 2.2.18 and 3.0rc12.
On my second router RB2011 I can normally add VirtualAP via winbox.
I confirm this bug. Same problem on RB951G-2HnD, tried on 2 different routers. Works OK on 6.30.2, but throws "Couldn't add New Interface - l2mtu wrong (6)" on 6.31.
 
trottolino1970
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 4:25 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 12:44 pm

Could not add VirtualAP via winbox on my RB751G-2HnD, "L2 MTU" field is empty and grey (read only) so i get error message: "Couldn't add New Interface - l2mtu wrong (6)". It is only possible to add interface via terminal. I tried with winbox 2.2.18 and 3.0rc12.
On my second router RB2011 I can normally add VirtualAP via winbox.
I confirm this bug. Same problem on RB951G-2HnD, tried on 2 different routers. Works OK on 6.30.2, but throws "Couldn't add New Interface - l2mtu wrong (6)" on 6.31.

i resolve this problem with installation wireless-fp and non cm
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:14 pm

please fix connection-rate problem in next bug release!

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 12#p495212
Second this, it is not working any more. I noticed this since version 6.30 (but might have happened before).
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
jiaxy001
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:02 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:15 pm

Be very careful with this release now lost one wireless link with Groove52 not come back after update.
Also on 750UP try it to disable wireless package also lost device but they reboot after couple minutes by him self with log message kernel failure but wireless not disabled.
One 750GL every two minute in log say interface,warning ether5-slave-local excessive broadcasts/multicasts, probably a loop.

I update lot of device in last couple years this is maybe second time to lost device after update, that Groove is just simple wireless bridge but not have access in next 7 days :(.
My friend, I do not speak English while I'll try to make my input clear enough.

I have the same issue as you did on my RB2011UiAS-2HnD, which was working perfectly on ver. 6.29. After I upgraded it to ver. 6.31 precisely every 30 secs the log showed "ether2-master-local excessive broadcasts/multicasts, probably a loop".

I tried to reset the configuration & spent long time to sniff the imcoming packets in my LAN but found nothing.

Eventually this issue was 'resolved' by disconnecting the device (a QNAP TS-219PII NAS attached in my LAN to provide file storage). Then i connected the NAS to the empty ether5 port. It's working properly now. One day has passed since I disconnected ether2 & no more excessive broardcasts message was recorded in log.

I hope my case can helps a bit for you.

Thanks.
 
jiaxy001
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:02 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:19 pm

Be very careful with this release now lost one wireless link with Groove52 not come back after update.
Also on 750UP try it to disable wireless package also lost device but they reboot after couple minutes by him self with log message kernel failure but wireless not disabled.
One 750GL every two minute in log say interface,warning ether5-slave-local excessive broadcasts/multicasts, probably a loop.

I update lot of device in last couple years this is maybe second time to lost device after update, that Groove is just simple wireless bridge but not have access in next 7 days :(.
My friend, I do not speak English while I'll try to make my input clear enough.

I have the same issue as you did on my RB2011UiAS-2HnD, which was working perfectly on ver. 6.29. After I upgraded it to ver. 6.31 precisely every 30 secs the log showed "ether2-master-local excessive broadcasts/multicasts, probably a loop".

I tried to reset the configuration & spent long time to sniff the imcoming packets in my LAN but found nothing.

Eventually this issue was 'resolved' by disconnecting the device (a QNAP TS-219PII NAS attached in my LAN to provide file storage). Then i connected the NAS to the empty ether5 port. It's working properly now. One day has passed since I disconnected ether2 & no more excessive broardcasts message was recorded in log.

I hope my case can help a bit for you.

Thanks.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 3:50 pm

750Up Watchdog problem

#2015081766000535
I sended with autosupout!
 
darkprocess
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 3:58 pm

Hello

I found a small bug with Winbox and this release.

I'm unable to ceeate a virtual AP using the GUI. THE L2MTU is missing and you can't put it. The field is grey.

Only solution by command line
 
Panoulis
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:32 am

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 4:46 pm

hi i just updated to 6.31 from 6.30.2
and there is a bug with R11e-2HPnD cards

my setup is
Intel C2D E6400
2Gb Memory
RB14e
2x R11e-2HPnD
Intel 82571EB Gigabit Quad Copper Ethernet

with 6.30.2 i can see both R11e-2HPnD as diferent interfaces
but when i upgrade to 6.31 only on of the R11e-2HPnD card is recognized by ROS

Downgrading to 6.30.2 solves the problem and both interfaces are availiable in ROS
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 612
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 5:37 pm

upgraded to 6.31 on CRS125. IP phones cannot connect to gateway after CRS125 reboot. Had to manually restart each phone. Not acceptable so reverted to 6.30.2. All fine again.
Could you try removing the UDP connections to you SIP server from the conntrack table ( IP > Firewall > Connections )?
 
mmabob
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 5:46 am

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:25 pm

After updating to 6.31 on a pair of RB750 routers, I now have Issues with the ovpn connection between them.

The branch office router that connects to the main router will connect enough that I can send ping traffic over it, but as soon as I try to use the connection for useful data such as connecting to a computer on the other side of the connection, I see in the log "ovpn-out1: terminating... - TLS failed"

I don't know if it is the slightly larger amount of data being transferred that is relating to the issue or what the problem is. It worked well on version 6.27 which we were running before this.

Is anyone else seeing this?

I appreciate any of your help. I currently have a branch office without a useful connection.
I downgraded the routers back to 6.27 by copying the routeros-mipsbe-6.27.npk file to the routers and selecting System Package Downgrade. After the reboot on the older RouterOS, the OpenVPN links are now working properly again.
 
User avatar
MAYAKNET
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:16 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.31 released

Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:53 pm

Пишу второй раз. После обновления до релиза 6.31, на HP-сервере, с установленным RouterOS для X86 возникла такая проблема. Вместо 32 ядер сервера - осталось только 1 ядро. И загрузка процессора показывало 100%.
 
pbr3000
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:31 am

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:12 am

Send it yesterday, ticket#2015081666000091, 6.31 kill 750UP after sometime best case reset by watchdog or just hung up :(, disabling wireless package also not working it is end up by kernel failure.
SXT device and BaseBox seem to me not affected, lost one Groove52 but not have access to him to see what happens.
I upgrade 2 omnitiks UPA and with both is problem - lost contact with devices (only ping answer). I don't upgrade rest of omnitiks UPA.
Maybe problem is with poe-out devices?
Mikrotik, please check it.

You promised me that [Ticket#2015070966000221] will be fix in this relase - it is still not fixed.
We had the same issue on some RB450g. Just pings and no ssh, http etc. Reverted to 6.30.2.
PS: v6.31 worked fine for some time, like 12 hours or so. I don't sent the supout file because there is no access to do it.
 
pbr3000
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:31 am

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 5:17 am

If one of the "new" features in v6.31 is causing you problems, you can "downgrade" to the last stable v6.30.3
6.30.3? Has it been released already?
I guess no. It was just an example. Normis, can you confirm this?
 
infused
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:09 am

Virtual Support... oh hell yeah.
 
makstex
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:31 am

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:02 am

RB750:
Switch DES-1005P on any port mikrotik.
Auto Negatiation is ON.
Link at intervals of 2 seconds up...down...up....down...
Downgrade to 6.30.2 solved a problem,
 
User avatar
Reborns
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:35 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:38 am

RB750:
Switch DES-1005P on any port mikrotik.
Auto Negatiation is ON.
Link at intervals of 2 seconds up...down...up....down...
Downgrade to 6.30.2 solved a problem,
Yes i can confirm that .. :(
 
phuang3
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:39 am

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:01 am

Problem with 6.31 on NetMetal 5. After reboot, I can see wireless-6.31-misbe.npk was still there and Netbox showed 6.30! Downgrade to 6.30.2 successfully, but the Netbox is showing 6.31... I got confused!

After upgrade to 6.31
Image


After downgrade to 6.30.2. Still showing 6.31
Image
 
kostas22
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:22 am

After updating to 6.31 on a pair of RB750 routers, I now have Issues with the ovpn connection between them.

The branch office router that connects to the main router will connect enough that I can send ping traffic over it, but as soon as I try to use the connection for useful data such as connecting to a computer on the other side of the connection, I see in the log "ovpn-out1: terminating... - TLS failed"

I don't know if it is the slightly larger amount of data being transferred that is relating to the issue or what the problem is. It worked well on version 6.27 which we were running before this.

Is anyone else seeing this?

I appreciate any of your help. I currently have a branch office without a useful connection.
I also have issues when updating RB750 routers from 6.23 to 6.31. After the updating I don't have internet, if I downgrade back to 6.23 is fine.
 
demonster
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 5:59 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:01 am

I have issue with switch port flapping with 6.31 on "model: 750", after downgrade to 6.30.2 all is ok
I have same problem on two RB750. After downgrade to 6.30.2 port flapping reveals on week or more - reboot needed.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3074
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:16 am

Finally it's great to know that the CHR is now available...
CCR= "Cloud Core Router", what stands "CHR" for? Cloud Host router? What new device would this be anyway?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:17 am

CHR is a virtual machine image, it is not a device.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
infused
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:26 am

So out of interest, is virtual routers going to ever come back to Mikrotik in the form of multi core routers? I totally dig vmware images, but that'd be nice too.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:31 am

Multicore and 64Bit is already supported by CHR image. CHR is not only for VMware, it is for any virtual system
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
infused
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:46 am

I mean inside of the Mikrotik OS, to spawn up virtual routers within RouterOS, like metarouter, which works on CCR etc. We have a couple of Fortinets to do this where we need it.
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:48 am

I mean inside of the Mikrotik OS, to spawn up virtual routers within RouterOS, like metarouter, which works on CCR etc. We have a couple of Fortinets to do this where we need it.
CCRs do not support Metarouter.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:52 am

That is a different topic, CHR works ourside the RouterBOARD, either in your PC or in the cloud or somewhere.
RouterOS built in virtualization also will be re-made, but nothing to announce yet.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:12 pm

Normunds,

Can you explain more detail on this 3:
*) fixed ethernet stopping on RB NetMetal / SXTG-5HPacD 10Mbit and 100Mbit links
-can you share more detail about this as i believe there is some case study.

*) wireless - implemented l2mtu update if wireless-cm2 is enabled
*) wireless - improved WMM-PowerSave support in wireless-cm2 package
-What's the different fo the cm2 and fp package? which is more faster on the packet pass-through?
-It's the cm2 compatible with fp package or they only can talk with the same package running?
 
peter37577
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:21 pm

working fine on several devices (CCR, CRS, Groove, 951G, 751G, hap-lite)

one common issue
/system shutdown via Winbox and/or console, ssh, telnet is not working anymore
The device does make a reboot instead.
This issue is found on the platforms mips-be and smips (tilera not tested but likely also affected).
Edit Issue is also present on ppc platform (RB1200 and RB1100AH tested).
The issue is gone after downgrading to 6.30.2. Edit end

I hope this is a bug. Or is shutdown not supported anymore?
The same observed on 751, 951 and 2011 with mipsbe.
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:48 pm

working fine on several devices (CCR, CRS, Groove, 951G, 751G, hap-lite)

one common issue
/system shutdown via Winbox and/or console, ssh, telnet is not working anymore
The device does make a reboot instead.
This issue is found on the platforms mips-be and smips (tilera not tested but likely also affected).
Edit Issue is also present on ppc platform (RB1200 and RB1100AH tested).
The issue is gone after downgrading to 6.30.2. Edit end

I hope this is a bug. Or is shutdown not supported anymore?
The same observed on 751, 951 and 2011 with mipsbe.
Shutdown is not the safe option, it should be removed for security purposes.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8290
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:54 pm

Вместо 32 ядер сервера - осталось только 1 ядро.
I can confirm: 6.31on x86 detects only 1 CPU core:
[admin@TestPlace] > sys hardware pr
  multi-cpu: yes
[admin@TestPlace] > sys resource pr
                cpu-count: 1
if you check 'Allow x86-64' in WinBox under System -> Resources -> Hardware, then all CPUs are back. what's Terminal command for 'Allow x86-64'? Can't find anywhere...
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3074
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:13 pm

750Up Watchdog problem

#2015081766000535
I sended with autosupout!
I can confirm. Yesterday updated one line (route) of 6 nodes towards AP fm 6.27 to 6.31. It includes 2 rb750UP's. One already rebooted 4 times for watchdog. (No ip set for watchdog.) I'll revert back to 6.30.2 because that seems to work on at least 8 other 750UP's out in the field..
It took some 12 hours for the first reboot to occur.

The other one has not been rebooted but than again, watchdog timer is also not set..... It runs now for almost 17 hours.
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
strods
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 1406
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:22 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:40 pm

We have found out that there are two things which causes reboot on router with RouterOS 6.31. Routers with PoE-OUT are rebooting themselves and also routers which has MetaROUTER.

Is there any other router rebooting itself with 6.31 which does not have PoE-OUT or MetaROUTER on it?
 
infused
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:46 pm

I mean inside of the Mikrotik OS, to spawn up virtual routers within RouterOS, like metarouter, which works on CCR etc. We have a couple of Fortinets to do this where we need it.
CCRs do not support Metarouter.
That's my point.
 
User avatar
ufm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:53 pm

That is a different topic, CHR works ourside the RouterBOARD, either in your PC or in the cloud or somewhere.
RouterOS built in virtualization also will be re-made, but nothing to announce yet.
As I understand - CHR without limitations and 64 version for bare metal x86 - not planned?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:02 pm

As I understand - CHR without limitations
planned, but as a subscription service
64 version for bare metal x86 - not planned?
unclear, but most likely CHR will get priority with all 64Bit and multicore support for now
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8290
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:27 pm

64 version for bare metal x86 - not planned?
unclear, but most likely CHR will get priority with all 64Bit and multicore support for now
so, what is 'Allow x86-64' tick in x86 RouterOS?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:54 pm

Chupaka: Bug, on X86 regular this should not be shown. This is only for CHR image
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
rajo
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:12 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:09 pm

We have found out that there are two things which causes reboot on router with RouterOS 6.31. Routers with PoE-OUT are rebooting themselves and also routers which has MetaROUTER.

Is there any other router rebooting itself with 6.31 which does not have PoE-OUT or MetaROUTER on it?
I don't have either and I get reboots on one of my RB450G routers, if I have 6.31 loaded.
 
marosi
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:00 pm

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:18 pm

Found something strange. On wireless links with NV2 and a secret. If You change something on the link or reboot the device then the link goes down every 3-5 seconds with "key exchange timeout" in the log.

When i type in the NV2 secret by hand on the client of the wireless link and klick "apply", the link comes back and stay stable. So do not reboot or change anything or you have to type the NV2 secret and klick apply. Very strange.

I tested this about 10 times on different SXTs (2.4 and 5Ghz) to confirm this behavior.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3074
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:29 pm

Found something strange. On wireless links with NV2 and a secret. If You change something on the link or reboot the device then the link goes down every 3-5 seconds with "key exchange timeout" in the log.

When i type in the NV2 secret by hand on the client of the wireless link and klick "apply", the link comes back and stay stable. So do not reboot or change anything or you have to type the NV2 secret and klick apply. Very strange.

I tested this about 10 times on different SXTs (2.4 and 5Ghz) to confirm this behavior.
I can't repeat this issue.
After I upgrade several SXT's and they come back up I also upgrade the firmware, which needs another reboot. After that units come back up and stay up. (NV2 + secret enable CPE/station).

To test again I logged into an already upgraded SXT and changed something in the config (just a scan setting in wireless) but the unit just kept on working fine.
Than I made a reboot of the SXT and after the disconnection for a while it came backup and stayed connected.

So the prescribed issue of the "key exchange timeout" is not happening on my units.

And how can you 'type' in the secret again? Has it been erased? Do you have access from the AP to the cpe? Or do you have to go to the client to login and correct?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3074
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:33 pm

We have found out that there are two things which causes reboot on router with RouterOS 6.31. Routers with PoE-OUT are rebooting themselves and also routers which has MetaROUTER.

Is there any other router rebooting itself with 6.31 which does not have PoE-OUT or MetaROUTER on it?
I have two rb750UP's updated to 6.31.
One with watchdog function enabled (no address) did reboot several times due the watchdog function according the log
The other one, that does NOT have the watchdog function enable is just up since the upgrade. That's 20 hours ago now...

Maybe this is a little more help in troubleshooting the issue?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3074
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:35 pm

CHR is a virtual machine image, it is not a device.
So its actually a "CGR", Cloud Ghost Router! :lol:
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
ufm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:44 pm

Chupaka: Bug, on X86 regular this should not be shown. This is only for CHR image
Wait-wait. You want to say - in 6.31 broken support multicore cpu on x86 and this is not a bug, it's a feature?????
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24054
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.31 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:47 pm

The specific checkbox/setting is not supposed to be shown in PC, only in CHR image.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests