Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
neilstuckey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:24 pm

Force OpenDNS and Safe Search on a vlan only

Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:32 pm

I recently bought a hap ac2 device as i found one of my kids was figuring out how to get past OpenDNS adult site filter i set on our Asus home router. Now i already have firewall rules to force all DNS to go through the router to prevent someone from manually entering DNS on a device to avoid the filter. Thats working fine. I also set static DNS entries to force googe, bing, yahoo safe searches. However would anyone know how to force OpenDNS filtering and safe search for a vlan only ? Or i suppose i could do it by DHCP server IP range too like for example set all in DHCP range to force the filter. Anyways looking for advice and options.
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Force OpenDNS and Safe Search on a vlan only

Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:30 pm

You should be good to set src-address in your dst-nat rules matching the subnet of your specific vlan.
If you have more address spaces to cover, you might be better off with an address list.

And I think your post is better placed in General.

-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AllexRo and 5 guests