Community discussions

 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

S+RJ10 Revisions

Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:49 pm

Doing some labtests with CRS317/2xCRS305/Multiple S-RJ01/Multiple S+RJ10/S+DA0001 with 6.44beta28.

Seems there are different Revisions showing different SFP-Parameters. But it is not clear what is real.

Only one S+RJ10 shows temperature,Supply Voltage and Advertised/Link Partner Advertised speed. Changing advertised speeds does not change anything (Even advertised speed). Only this module shows correct 1Gbps negotiation when there is a S-RJ01 on the other side. All other S+RJ10 modules show always 10Gbps.

So seems there are different S+RJ10 Modules out there. The better module has Manufacturing Date 18-08-30 Vendor Revision 2.07. The older with wrong reporting are Revision 1.0.
 
Jonkheer
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:47 am

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:25 am

Sorry for digging up this thread. Meanwhile the RJ10 product page lists the new revision as also supporting jumbo frames (the old one did not).

I have 3 rev1 modules and 1 rev2 (happely working together). Is there a way to trade/flash/... the rev1 modules to rev2?
 
User avatar
arturs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:55 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 am

Is there a way to trade/flash/... the rev1 modules to rev2?
Unfortunately no, because transceiver hardware differs.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:35 pm

Sorry for digging up this thread. Meanwhile the RJ10 product page lists the new revision as also supporting jumbo frames (the old one did not).

I have 3 rev1 modules and 1 rev2 (happely working together). Is there a way to trade/flash/... the rev1 modules to rev2?
Even rev2 is old. The actual are rev3.
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:10 pm

Interesting, I had a discussion about this after my CRS309 video last week. I was testing, including jumbo frames and it was working fine and he said it was impossible.

All that I can add to this discussion is that module revision 2.11 manufactured 2018-12-06 works well. Tested it with 1Gbit Intel NIC connections (GUI reports 1Gbit connection in status window) and 10Gbit connections through 35m of CAT7 to an Intel x540 with full 10Gbit speed. I also inserted the S+RJ10 into a Mellanox ConnextX-3 and in there I was also able to get the full 10Gbit connected to a S+RJ10 in the CRS309.

I know hardware manufacturers don't like to do this but if Mikrotik could put up a list on the S+RJ10 information page what changed with what revision, it would prevent a whole lot of troubleshooting and testing!

p.s. My serial number ends with r2, does that mean it's a revision 2? Or is this the revision 3 you mentioned because it's the newest version I see posted here and the date is quite "young".
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:08 am

Interesting, I had a discussion about this after my CRS309 video last week. I was testing, including jumbo frames and it was working fine and he said it was impossible.

All that I can add to this discussion is that module revision 2.11 manufactured 2018-12-06 works well. Tested it with 1Gbit Intel NIC connections (GUI reports 1Gbit connection in status window) and 10Gbit connections through 35m of CAT7 to an Intel x540 with full 10Gbit speed. I also inserted the S+RJ10 into a Mellanox ConnextX-3 and in there I was also able to get the full 10Gbit connected to a S+RJ10 in the CRS309.

I know hardware manufacturers don't like to do this but if Mikrotik could put up a list on the S+RJ10 information page what changed with what revision, it would prevent a whole lot of troubleshooting and testing!

p.s. My serial number ends with r2, does that mean it's a revision 2? Or is this the revision 3 you mentioned because it's the newest version I see posted here and the date is quite "young".
I have no r3. I have r1 and r2. r2 did show some more sfp info. Both can't handle frames big enough for mpls. Don't remember exactly but I think it was 1504 byte frames max. Test if you are able to handle bigger packets.
 
tojoe
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:27 pm

I got 4 Rev 2.11 here (shipped 4 weeks ago, manuf. date Jan/2019) and neither one seems to support Jumbo Frames in either a CRS317 or CRS328.
Jumbo frames work nicely if I plug in an ancient 1GBit SFP I had lying around or a fibre SFP+ module instead.
I'm rather annoyed about not being able to use jumbo frames on *newly* bought modules and there's no way to make sure I get a revision which actually supports jumbo frames.
 
Guntis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Wed Apr 10, 2019 1:22 pm

@tojoe
You can distinguish new S+Rj10 revision by “/r2” at the end of the serial number.

There shouldn't be any issues with passing Jumbo frames, if modules are from r2 revision. Please send us email, describing your setup and problem in more detail, at support@mikrotik.com
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:21 pm

@tojoe
You can distinguish new S+Rj10 revision by “/r2” at the end of the serial number.

There shouldn't be any issues with passing Jumbo frames, if modules are from r2 revision. Please send us email, describing your setup and problem in more detail, at support@mikrotik.com
Not true.

We have /r2 versions which do not handle Jumbo Frames. These were bought before you announced the new modules with Jumbo Frames.
We had big issues with MPLS and bought some other vendors modules to make it work.

e.g.: SN: 9C5C039C8FEB/r2

They are different from r1 as they have more DDM Information.

You should have used /r3 for the new modules.
 
tojoe
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:36 pm

All right, new discovery: my r2 modules support jumbo frames, but only if they link up at 10G. I only have SFP+ NICs (ConnectX2) to play around which I've used with fibre modules and I was using the S+RJ10 in the CRS317 to provide 1000BaseT connections to the rest of my network where a ancient Zyxel gbit switch handles jumbo frames just fine.
The 3rd party cisco compatible 10GBaseT modules I've got access to wont show much under the status tab in the CRS317 and CRS328 but at least they do jumbo frames even when the link partner only supports 1GBit.
Same thing in the ConnectX2 - jumbo frames work with the cisco modules even at 1gbit, the S+RJ10 do jumbo only at 10gbit.
 
tojoe
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:52 am

Final conclusion for me - switched to fiber, removed S+RJ10. If I want 10GBaseT I'll get a switch with fixed 10GBaseT ports. Besides running hot as hell (the switch is in the attic and it isnt even summer yet) I had issues with multiple modules just stopping receiving traffic in the CRS328 randomly after 6-24 hours. They show link and TX traffic but no RX traffic until I disabled/re-enabled the module in the CRS328. Even connecting a different NIC to this module didnt matter in this state. Could be some bad interaction with a HAM radio station in the house though. Whenever they're doing shortwave transmissions at 100W and the "wrong" band the interference on the 25m of shielded CAT6 cable and the S+RJ10 apparently generates enough errors effectively resulting in 0BaseT although 1000BaseT connections show no issues.
 
tms
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: Siofok, Hungary
Contact:

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:39 pm

Hi!

I have done a setup with an RB4011 and two CRS328s. I connect the devices with four S+RJ10s. After some days the router's netwatch started to email me that the connection between the two CRS dropped. First time just few times a day, but later 10-20 minutes. I started to monitor the SFP interfaces and they were extremely hot, about 80-85 degrees between the switches. Between the router and the first switch it is 75 degrees, but I had to change the S+RJ10 between the switches to gigabit optical modules.

Is there a way to handle this situation? I am a little bit confused because I planned a setup with 10gbit backbone and now I can not use my 10gbit modules. They're all rev2 modules.

I do not want to buy two more 10gbit optical modules with double price.

Is there a way to cool them down to a normal temperature? I put two more fans into the CRS but 1 or 2 degrees is nothing in this situation... Maybe a peltier... 😁
 
PatrickKan
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:44 am

I can confirm my S+RJ10 module (R2 18/12/06 shown on label and R2.11 shown on SFP tab in ROS) allows jumbo frame of 9000 at link speed of 2.5Gbps.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:41 pm

Is there a way to cool them down to a normal temperature? I put two more fans into the CRS but 1 or 2 degrees is nothing in this situation... Maybe a peltier... 😁
Someone in the forum used small memory heatsinks. Give it a search, and you will find it. It was an SFP+ (I think it was SFP+) port overheating.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: S+RJ10 Revisions

Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:41 pm

I can confirm my S+RJ10 module (R2 18/12/06 shown on label and R2.11 shown on SFP tab in ROS) allows jumbo frame of 9000 at link speed of 2.5Gbps.
So if they negotiate down to 1G they no longer transport Jumbo Frames? Difficult to find the problem if that happens ...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest