Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
olydoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:24 pm

No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 3:09 am

Firmware version 6.47.10
I am trying unsuccessfully to get a copper SFP to work in a CRS112-8P-4S. I have tried setting both devices to fixed 1Gb and rebooted both devices. I have tried connecting the CRS112 to an MT RBLHGG-60AD, MT Rb750Gr3, a Ubiquiti switch and a cisco switch. No joy on any of them. I have also tried swapping out the SFP with other SFP's (same make). The CRS112 appears to detect and recognize the SFP (see below) but I note the sfp-connector-type says LC and no RJ45. I also note that it doesn't seem to see any rx-signal no matter what I connect it to.

Is there a specific SFP that is better to use?

# jun/23/2021 16:44: 9 by RouterOS 6.47.10
# software id = WLHF-SV18
#
name: sfp9
status: no-link
auto-negotiation: disabled
sfp-module-present: yes
sfp-rx-loss: yes
sfp-type: SFP-or-SFP+
sfp-connector-type: LC
sfp-link-length-copper-active-om4: 100m
sfp-vendor-name: FLYPRO
sfp-vendor-part-number: SFP-1G-CS-100M
sfp-vendor-serial: 210508CI1040
sfp-manufacturing-date: 21-05-09
eeprom-checksum: good
eeprom: 0000: 03 04 07 00 00 00 08 00 00 00 00 01 0d 00 00 00 ........ ........
0010: 00 00 64 00 46 4c 59 50 52 4f 20 20 20 20 20 20 ..d.FLYP RO
0020: 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 00 53 46 50 2d 31 47 2d 43 .... SFP-1G-C
0030: 53 2d 31 30 30 4d 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 c0 S-100M ....
0040: 00 00 00 00 32 31 30 35 30 38 43 49 31 30 34 30 ....2105 08CI1040
0050: 20 20 20 20 32 31 30 35 30 39 20 20 00 00 00 72 2105 09 ...r
0060: 00 00 08 cd 3a 87 31 8b 5f da c3 1e 26 6b 6e 82 ....:.1. _...&kn.
0070: 4e 07 31 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 77 ae 6c 8c N.1..... ....w.l.
0080: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
0090: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
00a0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
00b0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
00c0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
00d0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
00e0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
00f0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........ ........
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4566
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 3:17 am

Use MikroTik S-RJ01 instead of incompatible third party SFP

As productor FLYPRO say, SFP-1G-CS-100M are only for Cisco Systems device.
 
ormandj
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:25 am

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 3:32 pm

The obvious answer is just buy a Mikrotik branded SFP as previously suggested, the S-RJ01, then there will be no question about compatibility. That said, FS has the SFP-GB-GE-T which worked fine on my CRS2004. (I buy the Generic model, which is part #34976). Just call them or chat with them online and they can check compatibility with your specific model (CRS112-8P-4S), since I've never used one or tested that SFP in that model.
 
mada3k
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:17 pm

Sounds like incompability. Is it a 1-Gigabit class SFP or for less speeds?

I have used a Cisco GLC-T "clone" in my CRS112 with no issue, correct identification and all, but the Mikrotik RJ01 does indeed work best.
CCR/CRS/hEX/wAP • Ansible • NetXMS
 
olydoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:24 pm

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:50 pm

It's listed as 10/100/1000M and was advertised as Mikrotik (Netgear, Cisco, etc.) compatible but obviously there is compatible and there is actually works. I was eventually able to get it to link to a Ubiquiti switch, by setting the CRS112 SFP interface to fixed 1Gb/Full with the Ubiquiti in auto, but I had to reboot the CRS to get it to link. I tried every possible combination of fixed/auto between the CRS112 and RB750, rebooting both devices with each new attempt, but was never able to the CRS to link up with the Rb750. I also tried putting the SFP into a Netgear switch and did not get it to work in the Netgear either, but I didn't spend anytime trying different settings. At that point I just chalked it up to incompatible SFP.

I have ordered a couple of the Mikrotik SFP modules recommended above and will try them tomorrow when they come in.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4566
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 7:05 pm

who advertises compatibility?

FLYPRO does not have any product declared compatible with MikroTik,
some web link?
 
olydoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:24 pm

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 7:31 pm

Amazon
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4566
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Thu Jun 24, 2021 7:34 pm

Mmm... do not trust what vendor say on Amazon, check on productor website...
 
biomesh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Fri Jun 25, 2021 1:56 am

I have some 10GBase-T SFP+ and SFP+ DACs from FLYPROFIBER and they work great. I don't have a CRS112 and have not tried the SFP(1G) module. I have used them on CRS317, CRS326, CCR1009, and CRS309 devices.
 
olydoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:24 pm

Re: No Link with Copper SFP (CRS112-8P-4S)

Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:28 pm

The Mikrotik SFP's worked without a hitch

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 28 guests