Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
mada3k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

RB922UAGS-5HPacD, ether1 broken?

Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:48 am

Hi,

I decided to upgrade a existing office accesspoint with a RB912 board to AC performance, so I got a RB922-board.

After initial configuration I measured absolutley horrible performance, about 1-2Mbps with wireless. I tried all kind of settings and even at basic 11a mode it was terrible. Then I saw that the Ethernet-port had several linkdowns. I took a look at the switch (RB260GS) and there was thousands of FCS Errors, Pause and packet drops.

I created two VLAN's and tried some simple routing, and the performance is even worse(!) iperf sometime reports 0kbps as the link just dies.

So far i have tried:
  • Different powersupplies
  • Many different cables, cat5e and cat6
  • Factory reset
  • Two different switches
  • With and without traffic-flow
  • 100Mbps/FDX - and then I can reach about ~80Mbps VLAN-routing, still with errors/drops
I'm not using PoE.

The RB912 had no problems with VLAN routing, peaking at 600-700Mbps.

Is there anything else I could try or is it a case of RMA?
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Sep 16, 2015 12:57 pm

Try to change interface queue type for ethernet.
 
mada3k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: RB922UAGS-5HPacD, ether1 broken?

Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:53 pm

Tested 'ethernet-default' and 'default' - Same problem.

I did some tests against the RB912 with the bandwidth test. Inbound performance seems fine. Averaging on 500-600Mbps. But outbound performance test generates interface resets.

Graph from RB912 board:
Image

Interface resets on RB922:
Image
Last edited by mada3k on Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's
 
VicRace
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:17 pm

Re: RB922UAGS-5HPacD, ether1 broken?

Thu May 26, 2016 9:24 pm

How did you do the factory reset? From the quick guide (http://i.mt.lv/routerboard/files/rb9xx-ac-qg.pdf):
RouterOS reset jumper hole (Reset2 in above image) – resets RouterOS software to defaults. Must short circuit the
metallic sides of the hole (with a screwdriver, for example) and boot the device. Hold screwdriver in place until
RouterOS configuration is cleared.
But there is no "above image", and I cannot find the jumper hole when I study the PCB.
 
mada3k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: RB922UAGS-5HPacD, ether1 broken?

Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:29 am

I never used the jumper/pads, did it in CLI (/system reset-configuration) But for what I understand, you simply should short the connection between the pads som something conductive.

Anyways.. My problem got solved. The antenna was to close to the Ethernet-chip, causing it to reset. When a moved the antennas, the problem disappeared. I guess it's the same symptom as GSM-noise in FM-radios/ampilifiers :)
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: glueck05 and 29 guests