Community discussions

 
User avatar
mja
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:29 am

Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:39 pm

Hi all,

We just acquired "the flagship that Mikrotik has develop until now". Just after turning this CCR on, the first thing we are having is "the fault light on". I am worried this is a 3,000 USD router and since the beginning I am having issues ;(. Can some tell me if this normal? (I don't think so). I have observed that the back fans are not working or do they work when necessary, with some sort of temperature sensor?

I would really appreciate any given help or advice.

Thank you before hand.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24278
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:56 pm

Check if one of the fans has not stopped. This could trigger the fault as well
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
mja
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:29 am

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:27 pm

Hi Normis,

As per: "Check if one of the fans has not stopped", liked I said before, they are all stopped on the back, the ones that are attached to the back side of the chassis. Is is normal? or do they work with temperature sensors?. Anyways, I will open it and check what is happening and will post pictures - but this is very disappointing :((

Thank you.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24278
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:40 pm

Sorry, I missed that part. Yes, at least some fan needs to be spinning. This is not normal
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:25 pm

maybe a faulty device

is perfectly statistically normal

some years ago i received a 10.000 US device from another vendor and it was faulty, vendor toke 30 days to replace the unit

today is not your lucky day

because that in a project we have to do planning taking in count this kind of possible drawbacks
 
User avatar
mja
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:29 am

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:10 pm

maybe a faulty device

is perfectly statistically normal

some years ago i received a 10.000 US device from another vendor and it was faulty, vendor toke 30 days to replace the unit

today is not your lucky day
Ok so this is my story. I had to travel from Managua to MIA to buy this unit because of gov. educational customer (VIP) - we are up-dating their network as fast as we can. So now, I am back in MIA to exchange this faulty stuff for a new one. On one hand, before leaving Mikrotik's authorize dealer, I had to power on the unit and this time the fault light is not on anymore.

Mr. Normis, the fans on the back don't move at all, I believe this only works when temperature demands it? can you please verify that before going back to Central America with this unit.

Thanks.
 
User avatar
mja
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:29 am

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:50 pm

I have acquire several S-RJ01 for this CCR1072, electrical SFP (ethernet) and I am not able to see the unit thru winbox connecting my computer directly to the S-RJ01 port. Why is this happening?
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:39 pm

I have acquire several S-RJ01 for this CCR1072, electrical SFP (ethernet) and I am not able to see the unit thru winbox connecting my computer directly to the S-RJ01 port. Why is this happening?



compatibility of CCR1072 with S-RJ01 SFP modules ADDED on RouterOS RELEASE CANDIDATE 6.34
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:32 am

btw, do current ROS firmware (ROS itself and preferably on bootloader-level too)support CCR fan failure detection and gracefully shutdown ? do there was thermal throttling that allow CCR remain operational/accesible even with COMPLETE fans failure, but with Severe underperformance(due to harsh/safe underclocking and throttling) ? if not - whould be nice to implement this atleast partially.
 
wirelesspeople
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:07 pm

This product is not ready for sale!

https://youtu.be/KqnfQ30IO-o
 
User avatar
Murmaider
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:10 am

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:45 am

Between this and the post of random SPF+ ports not working or just dying we are seriously reconsidering whether or not we want to invest in these units. It definitely doesn't instill confidence in the product.
 
wirelesspeople
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:58 pm

It's been over two weeks and MikroTik do not want to replace equipment RMA140122885.

It's a shame that even MikroTik don't know what is the problem and hide behind the MikroTik RMA policy ;(
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik CCR1072 Fault issue.

Mon Feb 08, 2016 5:37 pm

It's been over two weeks and MikroTik do not want to replace equipment RMA140122885.

It's a shame that even MikroTik don't know what is the problem and hide behind the MikroTik RMA policy ;(

its a shame, looks like new devices are not suitable for critical environments.

is not only a mikrotik problem, is a very competitive market and vendors are in a hurry to release devices and get profits, because that testing schedules are trimmed to accelerate show time.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests