Community discussions

 
User avatar
G2Dolphin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 6:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Tue Dec 08, 2015 7:33 pm

I'm just an average MikroTik user, but quite interested in new 802.11ac devices incoming -- hAP AC and RB3011 models. Seems like hAP AC is still doing it own way to market, but we already have a rackmount version of RB3011, so, I assume, desktop 2HnD is incoming.
Because of useful miniPCI-e slot, I have an important (it is, yes?) question — will it work with third-party WiFi modules, especially the dualband 802.11ac ones? Intel 7260HMW, for example. Or can you advice some compatible 802.11ac dualband modules, if they exist? Because if it will be upgradable like this, I will definitely add some $$$ and buy more powerful RB3011.
Last edited by G2Dolphin on Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Home: RB3011UiAS-IN (2011 case+3011-RM), hAP ac, mAP2n/mAP2nD, GrooveA-52HPn, hEX (r3), hAP lite, RB951G-2HnD
Work: RB2011UiAS-RM / UiAS-2HnD-IN, RB951G-2HnD, hEX (r3), CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN, CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+
 
pablomancan
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:35 am

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:13 pm

> Intel 7260HMW

Just a fun fact, but that specific Intel card has its firmware lockdown the channels it can emit radiation on, specifically ALL of the 5GHz channels (No 80211ac AP support with that card, sorry).
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:52 am

What's the use of a dual band router that is not dual radio? Dual band card's are for "stations".
Eliminates the need of 2 wireless cards.
I don't think will work any radio except atheros/qualcomm, like always.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Dec 09, 2015 7:41 am

I would rather see possibility to run two separate radios in 3011 at once than to be able to select one or another radio, even if it could be dual band.
 
User avatar
G2Dolphin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 6:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re:

Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:27 am

I would rather see possibility to run two separate radios in 3011 at once than to be able to select one or another radio, even if it could be dual band.
Yes, that's what I meant too -- 2.4 and 5 Ghz at the one time wit some miniPCI-e card. Just like hAP AC (lite) models -- wlan0 is 2.4Ghz radio, wlan1 is 5Ghz.

I meant "dual radio", of course, sorry. :)
Home: RB3011UiAS-IN (2011 case+3011-RM), hAP ac, mAP2n/mAP2nD, GrooveA-52HPn, hEX (r3), hAP lite, RB951G-2HnD
Work: RB2011UiAS-RM / UiAS-2HnD-IN, RB951G-2HnD, hEX (r3), CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN, CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Wed Dec 09, 2015 12:22 pm

Mikrotik supports only Atheros-based cards. 7260HMW is an dual-band (not dual-radio) card, so you can choose to use 2.4Ghz OR 5Ghz but not both at the same time.
I haven't seen dual-radio mPCIe card, so I think dual-radio RB3011 is impossible.
 
User avatar
G2Dolphin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 6:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:43 pm

Mikrotik supports only Atheros-based cards. 7260HMW is an dual-band (not dual-radio) card, so you can choose to use 2.4Ghz OR 5Ghz but not both at the same time.
I haven't seen dual-radio mPCIe card, so I think dual-radio RB3011 is impossible.
Well yes, that example wasn't very good, okay. :)
So... what about more hardcore variant named "FG-MCV02A-1"? :D
Home: RB3011UiAS-IN (2011 case+3011-RM), hAP ac, mAP2n/mAP2nD, GrooveA-52HPn, hEX (r3), hAP lite, RB951G-2HnD
Work: RB2011UiAS-RM / UiAS-2HnD-IN, RB951G-2HnD, hEX (r3), CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN, CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2293
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:36 pm

I haven't seen dual-radio mPCIe card, so I think dual-radio RB3011 is impossible.
Perhaps in the future we will see dual-radio card :)
it would be a solution...
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:18 pm

Perhaps in the future we will see dual-radio card :)
it would be a solution...
I wish.... :D


@G2Dolphin: Is it even available in mPCIe form factor? Anyway I don't think it's gonna work due to PCIe2.0 requirement.
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:34 am

@G2Dolphin: Is it even available in mPCIe form factor? Anyway I don't think it's gonna work due to PCIe2.0 requirement.
or maybe MikroTik design and manufacture one - special for their devices ? just like how they created 4x PCIe card ;-)
technically Atheros(Qualcomm (tM) brand now ;)chipsets/SDK allow it to do on Recent SoC pretty nicely)
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:43 am

@G2Dolphin: Is it even available in mPCIe form factor? Anyway I don't think it's gonna work due to PCIe2.0 requirement.
or maybe MikroTik design and manufacture one - special for their devices ? just like how they created 4x PCIe card ;-)
technically Atheros(Qualcomm (tM) brand now ;)chipsets/SDK allow it to do on Recent SoC pretty nicely)

maybe something like this adapted to mini pci express

http://i.mt.lv/routerboard/files/RB14e-131021162825.pdf
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:57 am

Apart from us trying to solve that brain teaser I'm puzzled why MikroTik lacks devices like Aerohive AP370?
While hAP AC will be nice (if released in 2016 at least :P) it's not an perfect solution for enterprise environment. I currently work in a company which is not in IT business, but we have 802.11n @ 2.4G + 802.11ac 3x3 deployed for 1.5y now. Besides that it works in full roaming mode where devices just use one SSID and the best mode is chosen based on conditions & history of usage (so, power-users are bound to "ac" group while cell phones are always in 2.4G network).

I wish to do something similar using MTs devices only...
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:18 am

Mikrotik is a small company from a small country and maybe it lacks research facilities that other huge company have.
Also they tend to have low prices compared to other professional products. I even consider hap lite an professional product because of the excelent software, good hardware and no need to reboot, ever.
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Sat Dec 12, 2015 2:06 am

@InoX: maybe you're partially right, but look at their devices like CCR1072 - it's not an simple SOHO device ;)
They have very competitive offer in wired market, but there're few gaps in wireless market.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Sat Dec 12, 2015 2:52 am

Apart from us trying to solve that brain teaser I'm puzzled why MikroTik lacks devices like Aerohive AP370?
While hAP AC will be nice (if released in 2016 at least :P) it's not an perfect solution for enterprise environment. I currently work in a company which is not in IT business, but we have 802.11n @ 2.4G + 802.11ac 3x3 deployed for 1.5y now. Besides that it works in full roaming mode where devices just use one SSID and the best mode is chosen based on conditions & history of usage (so, power-users are bound to "ac" group while cell phones are always in 2.4G network).

I wish to do something similar using MTs devices only...

i think maybe with some collective effort using api can fe developed a open source solution like that to use on mikrotik hardware

unfortunately mi coding skills are very low
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Sat Dec 12, 2015 3:10 am

I wish I have more time...
It's for sure doable, but is it currently possible to make single SSID for two frequencies and multiple APs to provide users seamless experience across large open space office?
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS-2HnD + Third-party Wi-Fi

Sat Dec 12, 2015 4:24 am

I wish I have more time...
It's for sure doable, but is it currently possible to make single SSID for two frequencies and multiple APs to provide users seamless experience across large open space office?

i have tested using ping and voip on a laptop windows 7 with intel 7260n chipset and lost only one ping and udp voip call lost about 3-5 seconds of audio when roaming

if i am using youtube you have a momentary drop on troughput but if video is buffered no problem on video.


but

on a old thrive android toshiba tablet when roaming it stops youtube inmediatly

on a motorola razr i on android the roaming takes 5-15 seconds


on my experience roaming its very client dependent

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 35 guests