Page 1 of 1

CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2015 12:40 am
by shodan
Dear Mikrotik, you are CRAZY !!!! REALY !!!
CCR it is a monster!

On product page you dont have info about PPS.
I test it.
Your CCR router with only 9 (NINE!) cores transmit 1 000 000 PPS small packets over vlans with FastTrack, and use only 10% of CPU.
And 0.56MPPS without FastTrack.

This is very-very powerfull!

THANKS!
I think with yours 1072 it is be performance killer... Cisco must die! :)

When i receive 10G network cards ive tested more! :D :D

Screenshot: http://joxi.ru/eAOLMaWI49vgpr

Bee cool if you add into wiki page about optimize with example.
ROS performance is very sensitive to Firewall rules order and many other things.
I increase performance from 0.17MPPS to 1MPPS at 4 hours optimization. But cool if you do manual about it.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:23 am
by ConnectivityEngineer
until some things like IS-IS are supported - Cisco and other vendors still must be part of many providers portfolios :-(

This is NOT Mikrotik's fault however - IS-IS is not supported in the Kernel

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:30 pm
by G2Dolphin
IS-IS is not supported in the Kernel
Well, we're expecting an kernel update in ROS v7.0...

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 5:36 am
by cpliu903
IS-IS is not supported in the Kernel
Well, we're expecting an kernel update in ROS v7.0...
update to latest Linux Kernel ???

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:31 am
by Miracle
CCR1009 HDD only 128Mb, (70Mb useable) while RAM 2GB
You need sdcard for running usermanger

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:58 am
by G2Dolphin
update to latest Linux Kernel ???
Dunno last or not, but MikroTik updating Linux kernel only in major versions.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:10 am
by ConnectivityEngineer
IS-IS I do not believe is supported even in the latest Kernel by default (i might be wrong on that one however)- At present this would require Mikrotik to do some very heavy lifting creating a ISO protocol stack - ISO addressing - CLNS etc.

Here is a start - https://git.netdef.org/projects/OSR/repos/isis

However - i do not even think that has been debugged well.

To that point - Those requiring different items that Mikrotik Does Not Support will require a 3rd party (and more expensive) option like Cisco.


I love Mikrotik - great product, good support ... but it is the Swiss Army Knife of routers - not the end all be all.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:22 pm
by Zorro
since VPLS/MPLS, HWMP, OSLR introduction, Mikrotik designers - proved that "they can" (tm) ;)
backporting some stuff to legacy kernels may be pain in (random word), sometimes.
so switching to newer kernel and toolchain - is "about time". but imply new major tree, ie ROS 7x, yep.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 4:52 pm
by shodan
For my net do not needed IS-IS, VPLS, MPLS, HWMP, OSLR... and other strange words :lol: :lol:
I use it just a simple internet gateway with PCQ, 2ch. load balance+failover, IPv6 and OpenVPN gateway, VLAN routing with firewall.
Just at all. And Mikrotik doing this very-very good! Mikrotik solution more cheapest. Price for Cisco is TOO high!

As i promise, i get 10G NICs, 10G switch and i tested Mikrotik for maximum speed capacity with 9k MTU for routing VLANs and Firewall with FastTrack.
Result is very fine!
http://forum.mikrotik.com/download/file ... w&id=22919

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:39 pm
by Zorro
well, i remember times when folks not used "strange words" like "TCP-IP" in networking, so someone(you or me)personal opinions - barely can affect advance/tech improvement and honestly not count from "common sense" standpoint.
products. or technology, they use(including prototocls) are not built for someone's personal needs, but for some purposes, that may fit someone's needs and not fit others. my point is: "new buzzwords", including protocols - can and WOULD change networking future, its how tech(inlcluding IT)and mankind works.
one century ago - nobody ever heard bout automobiles or electricity or airplanes :)

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:52 pm
by shodan
Zorro - no need to complicate! If my network does not require these technologies, I will not introduce them.
Mikrotik it is best choice for my net. It is only 500 dollars per CCR1009 device(i pay two times more for my low cost 10G D-Link switch)

If you need these technologies, you can use any equipment that supports them.
But I do not see any reason to pay thousands of dollars for Cisco routers with useless features for my net.

I think Mikrotik no need to complicate ROS, he must fix bugs first. It takes some years.

Unfortunately, the speed of the Internet in our country is too slow, and I can't utilize full power of my CCR1009 right now, but i hope after 1-3 years i can get 1-2 fiber links.
Image
In my case CCR1009 it is a best router as i ever seen before. Because it cheap! Not included many useless features, it is not critical for me.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:50 am
by chechito
until some things like IS-IS are supported - Cisco and other vendors still must be part of many providers portfolios :-(

This is NOT Mikrotik's fault however - IS-IS is not supported in the Kernel

take in count currently mikrotik only have devices to compete with cisco branch devices like ISR routers and barely border routers like ASR 1000 5g-10g, i think in this segments mikrotik is very competitive even without IS-IS at a little fraction of cisco total costs

i think mikrotik has no devices to compete with cisco behemoths CRS and ASR 9000 or big ASR 1000 20g-100g models where IS-IS will be more frequently deployed and surely a essential feature.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:29 am
by ConnectivityEngineer
YUP - kick but router ... but when I am working with enterprise customers who are demanding some options -I do not have a choice. On the other hand - when dealing with a large portion of our customer base - they get a Mikrotik EVERY time... not only because of cost - but because it is an easy system to utilize.

:-)

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:32 am
by cpliu903
CCR 1009 Series can install R11e-5HacT card ?

http://routerboard.com/R11e-5HacT

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:43 am
by mrz
CCR 1009 Series can install R11e-5HacT card ?

http://routerboard.com/R11e-5HacT
You can see in specs from link below that router does not have mPCI-e slot
http://cloudcorerouter.com/CCR1009-8G-1S.php

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:51 pm
by awx
I'd really like to see the all the CCR1009's come with 1 m.2 slot for use with the proxy. We would buy 6 of the rackmount and 2 of the desktops if they had the m.2 slots.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:11 am
by normis
I'd really like to see the all the CCR1009's come with 1 m.2 slot for use with the proxy. We would buy 6 of the rackmount and 2 of the desktops if they had the m.2 slots.
M.2 means there should be PCIe support on the board. This would make the device more complicated and expensive.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:54 am
by SystemErrorMessage
But Normis, the TILEgx chips used in the CCR natively have PCIe so how is it complicated? The only thing you would need are drivers. Both PCIe and miniPCIe are the same but with difference sizes so you can find adapters that go both ways. I have before used a desktop GPU on a laptop so dont go saying it is difficult. How much more would 2 mini PCIe ports on a CCR cost? The RB9xx, $120 for multiple miniPCIe, usb, SFP, integrated wireless AC whereas $80 for a similar RB9xx without miniPCIe. so $40 for an extra 2 miniPCIe on the CCR is really worth it.

It really annoys me that when you release hardware there are a number of things you could've done that would've made them even more valuable for the price.

To compete with bigger cisco products that have really high performance isnt really difficult. Why not introduce the CCR as a blade configuration so the TILEgx with 72 cores can be placed as blades assuming the flexIO from the chips support the speed or configuration or PCIe which is generally like a switch.

Also mikrotik products still have those flaws you dont notice until it is too late. my CCR's usb port doesnt reliably power a usb device which i tested using a raspberry pi 2 at 700mhz running minimal things (this could be because the PSU is just barely 60W so it doesnt have another watt). On another USB port from other devices it was fine. The cooling on the CCR can be improved significantly to reduce noise without requiring a major redesign. I literally have my CCR1036 running silent after modding it that even the edgerouter pro makes more noise. When the CCR's temperature increases the power consumption increases dramatically so when it reaches 80C it becomes unstable also because the PSU in it isnt strong enough. I know a bigger PSU is more expensive but if it is $30 more just for a PSU some watts higher that would still help.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:12 pm
by awx
M.2 means there should be PCIe support on the board. This would make the device more complicated and expensive.
We would pay $50 more for an m.2 slot. I personally would love to see m.2 or msata slots on the CRS too.

Re: CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ is a BEST ROUTER !!!

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:48 pm
by WitekB
M.2 means there should be PCIe support on the board. This would make the device more complicated and expensive.
We would pay $50 more for an m.2 slot. I personally would love to see m.2 or msata slots on the CRS too.
Me too. Main reason I still use PC heavily is squid proxy and some other caches for reverse proxy. For reverse proxy few GB of ram is all I need, but for 500+ clients network a squid transparent proxy (on router or second machine) is very helpful. 100GB of permanent storage (in case of reboot) in mirror probably would do that nicely.