Community discussions

 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

HAP AC lite is here

Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:56 pm

http://routerboard.com/RB952Ui-5ac2nD
suggested price: $49.95

sadly not listed at my distributor yet.
#TR0359
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:11 am

I ordered 5 Today.
Tomorrow i Test them
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:53 am

I ordered 5 Today.
Tomorrow i Test them
please share your findings

i think is a very interesting device, specs look very good
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Jan 06, 2016 8:24 pm

Interesting for that price. Single chain ac and 16mb of storage is not so impressive. Brochure has different data than Web description.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:05 pm

Interesting for that price. Single chain ac and 16mb of storage is not so impressive. Brochure has different data than Web description.

whats different?
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:08 pm

Interesting for that price. Single chain ac and 16mb of storage is not so impressive. Brochure has different data than Web description.

yes very interesting entry level dual-band device at a very good price, single chain on 5ghz have very good tx power i think is enough for many scenarios because most smartphones, tablets and laptops are single chain too

its only 5us for the 5ghz additional radio over regular hAP (no lite) 8)
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:56 pm

There is difference in power consumption. The usage surely varies according to who has what. My notebook has 3chain ac for example.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:59 pm

My notebook has 3chain ac for example.
woho nice!! which NIC has your notebook?
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Re:

Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:26 am

My notebook has 3chain ac for example.
woho nice!! which NIC has your notebook?
I also have 802.11ac triple-chain. All Macs' since 2013 contains Broadcomm card with 802.11ac support ;)
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Re:

Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:11 am

My notebook has 3chain ac for example.
woho nice!! which NIC has your notebook?
I also have 802.11ac triple-chain. All Macs' since 2013 contains Broadcomm card with 802.11ac support ;)
im very curious what laptop nic you have

take in mind ac support do not imply triple chain 1300mbps datarate, in fact some implementations are even single chain 433mbps or dual chain 866mbps

mainly because only recent triple chain AC implementations (2015 and later) have a low power consumption.

previous (2014 and 2013) triple chain implementations had a high power consumption, not practical for laptops, because that until 2015 i have not seen any triple chain laptop adapter (until now)

the same for first AC triple chain accesspoints, the power consumption made necessary to use POE+ on that accesspoints and cause power budget problems on POE switches.

only the most recent AP (2015) can do triple chain AC with power consumption lower than 15 watt and use of standard POE

be aware of 802.11ac marketing confusion here is a good explanation

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless ... ducts-2015
 
syntxerr
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:03 am

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Thu Jan 07, 2016 7:27 pm

YAHOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! So exciting!!

Any idea what the transmit power is on the lite? Will this be higher on the non-lite version?

Trying to figure out if I buy this or wait... also do we know if these will come in a 2011 chassis :)
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:11 pm

YAHOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! So exciting!!

Any idea what the transmit power is on the lite? Will this be higher on the non-lite version?

Trying to figure out if I buy this or wait... also do we know if these will come in a 2011 chassis :)

2.4ghz radio is identical to hap lite and regular hap
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Re:

Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:03 pm

im very curious what laptop nic you have
We use triple-chain 802.11ac in our office, any my laptop connects at 1.3Gb ;)
I've also checked chipset for you - it's BCM4360 and came with laptop from 2014.
 
User avatar
DmitryAVET
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:27 am
Location: Ukraine, Mukachevo
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:32 am

Have hAP ac lite and Netis wf2190 (realtek 8812AU). I will try test on this week.
 
User avatar
discard
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:12 am

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:26 am

Just received two of them last week, runs like a charm as CAPs in my environment with 6.32 :D

regards
 
csohns
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:00 am

Mine showed up today (RB952Ui-5ac2nD-US), default config still. I have never used a MikroTik with two wireless interfaces before.

The PDF spec sheet lists:
Wireless chip model QCA-9887-0-68BMQFN-TR-02-0
Wireless standards 802.11a/n/ac
Secondary wireless chip model QCA9531

wlan1 is listed as Atheros AR9300, which is supposed to be dual-band. I figured I'd see more than 2.4Ghz options here
Image

I don't see any 802.11ac options or even 5Ghz in general, I'm presuming user error. What am I missing?


I also don't see the SSID show up in any scan of the 2.4 or 5 bands from my laptop. Yet my phone shows it under 2.4 by name and as a very strong nameless signal under 5. Cisco Aironet APs show up correctly under both bands on both my laptop and phone. Perhaps I don't understand "dual-band" as far as MikroTik defines it?

Any advice will be welcome.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:05 pm

Mine showed up today (RB952Ui-5ac2nD-US), default config still. I have never used a MikroTik with two wireless interfaces before.

The PDF spec sheet lists:
Wireless chip model QCA-9887-0-68BMQFN-TR-02-0
Wireless standards 802.11a/n/ac
Secondary wireless chip model QCA9531

wlan1 is listed as Atheros AR9300, which is supposed to be dual-band. I figured I'd see more than 2.4Ghz options here
Image

I don't see any 802.11ac options or even 5Ghz in general, I'm presuming user error. What am I missing?


I also don't see the SSID show up in any scan of the 2.4 or 5 bands from my laptop. Yet my phone shows it under 2.4 by name and as a very strong nameless signal under 5. Cisco Aironet APs show up correctly under both bands on both my laptop and phone. Perhaps I don't understand "dual-band" as far as MikroTik defines it?

Any advice will be welcome.

enable cm2-wireless package and the wlan2 interface will be shown that's the 5ghz radio
 
csohns
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:56 am

enable cm2-wireless package and the wlan2 interface will be shown that's the 5ghz radio

Ohhh I wish it were that easy, already tried that. Any other thoughts?
Image
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:58 am

csohns, please make a support output file and send it to support@mikrotik.com so we could check why you don't see wlan2 as it should be there.
Here is the link how to make a support output file:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Su ... utput_File
 
csohns
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:26 am

csohns, please make a support output file and send it to support@mikrotik.com so we could check why you don't see wlan2 as it should be there.
Here is the link how to make a support output file:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Su ... utput_File
Submitted.

I can reliable reproduce making wlan2 disappear and reappear now. Procedures are in the email, along with supout files when it's missing and immediately after getting it back.

----
initial power on
wlan2 available
disable wireless-cm2
reboot
wlan2 unavailable (expected)
enable wireless-fp
reboot
disable fp
enable cm2
reboot
wlan2 available (expected)
shutdown
power cycle
! wlan2 missing
power cycle
! wlan2 available again
 
User avatar
DmitryAVET
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:27 am
Location: Ukraine, Mukachevo
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Sun Jan 31, 2016 8:19 pm

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by DmitryAVET on Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:51 am

would be interesting to see the datarate link of the client on 5ghz, good review 8)
 
User avatar
DmitryAVET
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:27 am
Location: Ukraine, Mukachevo
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:24 am

would be interesting to see the datarate link of the client on 5ghz, good review 8)
Speed near the device is 400 Mbps. With distance speed falls to 270, etc.
But almost always you have real 100 Mbps. Don't worry)
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:40 pm

would be interesting to see the datarate link of the client on 5ghz, good review 8)
Speed near the device is 400 Mbps. With distance speed falls to 270, etc.
But almost always you have real 100 Mbps. Don't worry)

another question, did you use 80mhz channel on 5ghz??
 
brwainer
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 2:55 am

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Tue Feb 02, 2016 2:57 am

would be interesting to see the datarate link of the client on 5ghz, good review 8)
Speed near the device is 400 Mbps. With distance speed falls to 270, etc.
But almost always you have real 100 Mbps. Don't worry)
I can't read the review as I speak English only, sorry, but how are you getting these speeds on a device with only 100Mb/s ports? Or are you only reporting the wireless link speed?
 
csohns
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:25 am

another question, did you use 80mhz channel on 5ghz??
I don't have any fancy metrics or graphs to back this up, but 801.11ac-only WPA2 AES at 5 Ghz DFS on a 20 MHz channel (I think), I get a PHY of 433.3 Mbps and a Btest UDP unidirectional of 290 Mbps client receive and 235 Mbps client send. Maybe 25 feet, no obstructions. Client adapter is a USB Edimax EW-7711ULC on Windows 7.
 
User avatar
DmitryAVET
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:27 am
Location: Ukraine, Mukachevo
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:19 pm

another question, did you use 80mhz channel on 5ghz??
Default settings, channels 157+161
I can't read the review as I speak English only, sorry, but how are you getting these speeds on a device with only 100Mb/s ports? Or are you only reporting the wireless link speed?
I mean link speed.
But if you test between client WiFi 2.4 GHz and client WiFi 5 GHz, you can get more than 100 Mbps.
 
masseselsev
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:01 am
Location: Zhukovskiy, MO, Russia
Contact:

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:16 pm

another question, did you use 80mhz channel on 5ghz??
Default settings, channels 157+161
I can't read the review as I speak English only, sorry, but how are you getting these speeds on a device with only 100Mb/s ports? Or are you only reporting the wireless link speed?
I mean link speed.
But if you test between client WiFi 2.4 GHz and client WiFi 5 GHz, you can get more than 100 Mbps.
Or you can use interface bonding...


Does anyone know what are the max values in manual TX power for both radios?
Or which settings can produce max powers?

Of course, manual_txpower + no_country_set + gain 0
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
raidu
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: HAP AC lite is here

Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:25 pm

Can the block diagram be found somewhere?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests