Community discussions

 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:59 pm

Hey Folks,

We are looking for a device to replace our UBNT Toughswitch Pros that can run routerOS. Anybody seen anything out there?

We have used the RB750UP, but with VERY limited success, especially when powering more than just a couple of POE devices.


Look forward to any responses!
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:46 pm

Did you enable long-cable mode on the 750UP? That seems to come up as the solution to a lot of users' 750UP questions when the 750UP is powered via PoE anyway.
/int ethernet poe settings set ether1-poe-in-long-cable=yes
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:05 am

Thanks, but yes. The specs simply can not power 5 POE devices, it does not have enough WATT output to do so. Its a real gimmick. Try connecting 4 sxt's up to it, they will brown out and reboot in cycles, and thats with just 10ft of cable between them.
 
djdrastic
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:14 pm

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:27 pm

Tried looking for something Mikrotik based for this for a project last year but in the end I had to use Netonix switches to replace the Toughswitches.

So far so good.
 
User avatar
PaulsMT
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 2:18 pm

If you are using included 24v 2.5A power adapter, then with enabled "forced-on" mode and ether1-poe-in-long-cable, all powered devices should work stable.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Po ... ed-on_mode
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:07 pm

Thanks PaulsMT,

But it does not. Have replicated this with many devices and multiple PowerBOXs.

As the powerbox starts to power port 1, then port 2, etc, as it reaches port 4, port 1 will brown out, then port 5 will power and another random port will brown out, and then this creates a constant cycle. Then any heavy load on the radio of one of the devices will cause a heavy draw in watts, and it will brown out. Simple math of the specs shows that it can not power 4 sxts.

You can state all you would like about the devices I have in stock, but they simply can not be relied upon, they do not function well.
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:14 pm

Tried looking for something Mikrotik based for this for a project last year but in the end I had to use Netonix switches to replace the Toughswitches.

So far so good.
Thanks, those look great! However, I need be able to route with OSPF and I really dont want to introduce a different OS for routing into our network.
 
User avatar
grusu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 7:35 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:12 pm

Try with 30V 2.5A power supply.
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:15 pm

Thanks, those look great! However, I need be able to route with OSPF and I really dont want to introduce a different OS for routing into our network.
Well, as long as the new device is just acting as a switch, it wouldn't have any impact on your OSPF.
(assuming it doesn't cause packet loss or drop multicast frames or anything unusual)
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:30 pm

Thanks, those look great! However, I need be able to route with OSPF and I really dont want to introduce a different OS for routing into our network.
Well, as long as the new device is just acting as a switch, it wouldn't have any impact on your OSPF.
(assuming it doesn't cause packet loss or drop multicast frames or anything unusual)

I meant I need to replace toughswitches with a router that can facilitate ospf.

I want to avoid having a poe switch AND a router.
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:21 pm

3 options,
  • A) Use a MikroTik with enough ports to do the routing you want + a mid-span PoE injector. The mid-span can be individual single-port injectors or multi-port. Optionally, the mid-span can be manageable.
    • A1) Use multiple MikroTik 750UP type devices and don't put more watts on any individual 750UP than you feel can be supported on a 750UP. Leave one or more ports empty.
    B) Ubiquity has some multi-port routers which have PoE out ports. You won't have RouterOS.

    C) Use a MikroTik router + PoE capable switch.
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 pm

Thanks, But thats what we already have. I want routerOS with POE out on mulitple ports that is actually carrier grade, NOT the 750UP.
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:10 am

So, this thread should have been labeled as a feature request?

I think we've all been reading it as a design help or tech help request.
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Fri Feb 05, 2016 2:29 am

So, this thread should have been labeled as a feature request?

I think we've all been reading it as a design help or tech help request.

I see how that could be seen that way. However, I am looking to see if anyone has found a piece of hardware (mikrotik or not) that they use to run POE and routerOS. I don't think that is so much a feature request.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:38 am

If you don't mind to loose poe management, why not just solder the wire in rb750 like this: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 50#p448944? It works reliably. Unfortunately you can do it only with 100mbit ports...
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Fri Feb 05, 2016 2:02 pm

I'm powering networks with 750UP, up to 7 switches and NB400+NS2M with original power adapter but I always use the power jack, just split the wires and add a jack.
 
ronniee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:32 pm

Re: Replace UBNT Toughswitch with RouterOS Device????

Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:40 pm

in 2-3 weeks is the MUM Europe
for sure, will be announced some new products
i hope a bigger poe switch, and I expect at least one gigabit "unifi ac" cAP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests