Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
kurtkraut
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:55 am

Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+?

Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:44 pm

Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+? Rephrasing in another way, is it possible to obtain wire speed 40G if I bound four 10G interfaces in this device or bounding is depending on CPU capacity?
 
patrick7
Member
Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:40 pm

Re: Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+?

Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:52 pm

It's in software, but you should be able to use wirespeed. See http://www.stubarea51.net/2015/10/09/mi ... t-testing/ 
 
kurtkraut
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:55 am

Re: Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+?

Tue Jul 12, 2016 11:32 pm

It's in software, but you should be able to use wirespeed. See http://www.stubarea51.net/2015/10/09/mi ... t-testing/ 
Hi Patrick. This benchmark doesn't involve ethernet bounding. So it does not serve as an evidence I would achieve what I want to with CCR1072-1G-8S+.
 
patrick7
Member
Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:40 pm

Re: Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+?

Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:01 am

Hi there

You're right, I'm sorry for that. But I don't think you will face into performance issues with CCR1072 :-)

Regards
Patrick
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1871
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+?

Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:26 am

It is likely you will face performance penalties when using bonding on the CCR1072.

Unfortunately RouterOS v6 only supports fastpath RX, not fastpath TX on bonding interfaces.

This means that traffic needs to take the slow path when using bonding interfaces.

Hopefully this will change at some point in the near future.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+?

Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:14 am

thats perhaps the Only possible advantage of aggregated switch chips used in cheaper devices(eg "multiple ports in one IC"), but among them - models with natively supported bonding not common(same about say MacSec, PortSec+ and other essential stuff, not working w/o proper PHY under it).
 
andryan
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:33 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Is ethernet bonding at the hardware level in CCR1072-1G-8S+?

Mon Aug 29, 2016 5:16 pm

I would like to know the answer to this question as well.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests