Community discussions

 
MikroTikFan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:13 am

RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:49 pm

RB 3011UiAS has Qualcomm Authors Internet Processor. This processor is prefixed IPQ. APQ8064 (Snapdragon 600) and has SATA3 connectivity.

http://images.anandtech.com/doci/7526/I ... 1479656169

I just wondering if there is any chance to connect using SATA3 SSD drive ?
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:07 pm

For what purpose? The RB3011 does everything it needs to just fine with the memory it has. What are you planning on storing within it?
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:22 am

RB 3011UiAS has Qualcomm Authors Internet Processor. This processor is prefixed IPQ. APQ8064 (Snapdragon 600) and has SATA3 connectivity.

http://images.anandtech.com/doci/7526/I ... 1479656169

I just wondering if there is any chance to connect using SATA3 SSD drive ?
No, the RB3011 does not have a connection point for an SATA drive. Your only option is a USB3 external drive.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
MikroTikFan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:13 am

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:13 am

Fine, is there any USB drive limitations 32 Gb will be fine ?
Which file system is prefered ?
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:33 pm

2TB is the limit.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
MikroTikFan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:13 am

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:10 pm

What kind of data can I store in additional UDB3.0 memory drive:
- proxy data?
- lists for dns adblock and ddos firewall blocking?
- other?

Can I get your feed back how you are using this additional drives ?

I just want get idea how big this drive should be ?

32G, 64G, ora 128 G?
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:00 pm

I do not use external drives on my routers.

You can store proxy data, Dude database, SMB file shares on the drive.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
MikroTikFan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:13 am

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Sat Dec 03, 2016 12:29 am

I decided to use just USB via USB 3.0. Unfortunately one of the best USB SANDISK ULTRA FIT 32GB USB 3.0
(https://www.sandisk.com/home/usb-flash/ultra-fit-usb) is not working with RB3011.
Both router and USB drive has USB 3.0 port and should work. I tried to format this drive using exfat and fat32 and is still not recognized in disks.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Sat Dec 03, 2016 12:37 am

Use WinBox and see if the drive is listed in the System->Disk window. If it is, then format it. If not, then it wasn't detected.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
MikroTikFan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:13 am

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:02 am

The problem is that this very nice USB is not detected in RB3011 and I don't know why ?
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:17 pm

The problem is that this very nice USB is not detected in RB3011 and I don't know why ?
I seem to think that recently there has been some issues with rOS and the RB3011 USB3 port. I think they are working on it (sorry, can't find thread at the moment to link to)
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
MikroTikFan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:13 am

Re: RB3011UiAS - possible to connect SSD ?

Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:17 pm

I have send e-mail to Mikrotik Support (support@mikrotik.com) and share with community about this USB 3.0 issue.
Unfortunately I haven't received any official reply from Mikrotik and either on this forum from Mikrotik employees.

Please anyone from Mikrotik who is on this forum to make any statement.
Officially RB3011 has USB 3.0 port and should work !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests