Community discussions

 
fqx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:24 pm

RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:27 pm

I installed a Cisco Aironet 3700 series AP to RB960PGS, which powered by 48V2A DC.
The AP runs in a low power mode, saying "Due to insufficient inline power. Upgrade inline power source or install power injector."
I have changed the POE option from auto to force, nothing changed.
I have upgraded the firmware of RB960PGS to latest stable 6.37.3, upgraded the firmware of AP to the latest public, changed DC power to 56V2A, nothing changed.
RB960PGS and Cisco Aironet 3700 series AP both should support 802.3at (POE+), what is wrong?
 
fqx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:24 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:55 pm

Additional information:
AP is the only poe out device.
The AP should be running in 4x4:3, in this low power mode, it runs in 3x3:3. A pair of antennas was disabled.
This situation can also be found when the power source only supports 802.3af.
 
paulct
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 286
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Fri Dec 23, 2016 10:50 am

I have some Hex POE's powering 802.3at devices fine. Maybe the cisco required 2A, the Mikrotik can only do max 1A per port.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5545
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:52 am

At work we have a number of those, connected to HP PoE switches, and the usual indoor types work
without problem. We also have an outdoor model, and it only started working when adding the optional
supply from Cisco (PoE injector). I think it must have a built-in heater or so. The supply is very large
and heavy, should be able to put out 100W or so. Indeed it would be 2A at 48V.
 
fqx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:24 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:46 pm

I have some Hex POE's powering 802.3at devices fine. Maybe the cisco required 2A, the Mikrotik can only do max 1A per port.
The original adapter of this AP is 48V0.38A. And the max power consumption is 18W.
 
anass
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:50 pm

it's not a question of power delivered by the HEX POE.

it's the way that cisco requesting POE+. I've already encountered the same problem with some ruckus AP and that was due to the LLDP negotiation for POE+ "LLDP-MDI" , and this is not supported by MikroTik as they are just providing passive POE.

The solution was that Ruckus provide us with an update that force the AP to bypass the LLDP negotiation

FYI : some Cisco POE Injector are able to handle LLDP . Which explain why it's working at full power when used with their original injector.
 
fqx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:24 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Sat Dec 24, 2016 5:30 am

it's not a question of power delivered by the HEX POE.

it's the way that cisco requesting POE+. I've already encountered the same problem with some ruckus AP and that was due to the LLDP negotiation for POE+ "LLDP-MDI" , and this is not supported by MikroTik as they are just providing passive POE.

The solution was that Ruckus provide us with an update that force the AP to bypass the LLDP negotiation

FYI : some Cisco POE Injector are able to handle LLDP . Which explain why it's working at full power when used with their original injector.
Tried 6.38rc which added LLDP support, but the low power mode remains.
It looks like the LLDP in 6.38rc is not good enough, maybe does not support Power-via-MDI TLVs?
 
anass
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Sat Dec 24, 2016 7:20 pm

LLDP-MDI is not supported by MikroTik
 
fqx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:24 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Sun Dec 25, 2016 2:26 am

LLDP-MDI is not supported by MikroTik
Is it going to be supported in the near future?
 
anass
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Sun Dec 25, 2016 2:35 pm

I have no Idea .Maybe Normis could give you a hope.

All what i know is that LLDP-MDI is only implemented on some High Enterprise grade device like Cisco HP/Aruba Brocade. also that Ubiquiti announced officially that power-via-mdi is not implemented yet on EdgeSwitch but they will look for implementation in future so don't buy a ubnt switch as it's not implemented yet .

Maybe a fully 802.3at compliant POE injector will do the job for you for the moment or ask cisco if they have a firmware/or Cli command that will put the AP in POE+ without LLDP Negotiation
 
fqx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:24 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Sun Dec 25, 2016 3:10 pm

I have no Idea .Maybe Normis could give you a hope.

All what i know is that LLDP-MDI is only implemented on some High Enterprise grade device like Cisco HP/Aruba Brocade. also that Ubiquiti announced officially that power-via-mdi is not implemented yet on EdgeSwitch but they will look for implementation in future so don't buy a ubnt switch as it's not implemented yet .

Maybe a fully 802.3at compliant POE injector will do the job for you for the moment or ask cisco if they have a firmware/or Cli command that will put the AP in POE+ without LLDP Negotiation

Cisco wil not run in POE+ with out negotiation, only low power mode supported.
Think I will return this router, since without POE+ supports, this router is no better than hEX.
 
anass
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Sun Dec 25, 2016 4:08 pm

I am currently using it with a UNIFI AP ACv2 (802.3AT) and a CloudKey (802.3AF/Passive POE) at the same time and it's Working Fine.
If some one need the POE Pairs as it's not mentioned on the datasheet 4, 5+; 7, 8 Return.
 
slaaavko
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: RB960PGS 802.3at compatibility?

Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:41 pm

it's not a question of power delivered by the HEX POE.

it's the way that cisco requesting POE+. I've already encountered the same problem with some ruckus AP and that was due to the LLDP negotiation for POE+ "LLDP-MDI" , and this is not supported by MikroTik as they are just providing passive POE.

The solution was that Ruckus provide us with an update that force the AP to bypass the LLDP negotiation

FYI : some Cisco POE Injector are able to handle LLDP . Which explain why it's working at full power when used with their original injector.
Hi,

i have the same problem.
Mikrotik RB260GSP which dont want to power up Ruckus T310. Can you give me the contact to ruckus to get an update to bypass LLDP negotiation?
thanks

Slavo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests