Page 1 of 1

Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:37 pm
by anarkikrzysiek
Hi,

I have problem with RB2011UiAS-RM.
Device was working on same configuration for over 1 year and now it just stuck .
Touch Screen is white and nothing more and right 5 ethernet ports (Fast Ethernet ports) doesn't work (there is no reaction on LED when i connect something.
first 5 (Gigabit ) are working like switch and LED are showing that there is some action .
I cant connect to router using winbox (winbox doesn't see device)

I know that this device is working for long time but i'm trying to fix it .

Thank you for any help.

Re: Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:32 pm
by gustavomam
Hi.

Try to access throught another routeros device with mac-telnet.

Try to write the mac in winbox address if it does not apear.

Regards.

Re: Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:33 pm
by Rudios
The device has a serial port, try to connect to it in order to see if it reacts.

Re: Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:09 pm
by schrotn
I have two RB2011's just like this currently.
Ports 1-5 work perfectly as a dumb switch, but there does not seem to be a way to communicate with the internals. The LCD screen is white as well.

I've tried Winbox, NetInstall, serial console, ssh, telnet, mac telnet, reset button, and spanning the hard reset contacts inside the case.

We're still not sure what happened at this site, but the 2 2011's that went bad started throwing a lot of port errors in the log, then would die like this.
We think it was a power related issue, but it disappeared so we have no evidence to work on.

Is there any way to restore the RouterBoot firmware (or RouterOS, etc) through JTAG or anything like that?
I realize it may not be officially supported, but it would be nice to get these back to some sort of working order.

Re: Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:03 pm
by Rudios
I have two RB2011's just like this currently.
Ports 1-5 work perfectly as a dumb switch, but there does not seem to be a way to communicate with the internals. The LCD screen is white as well.

I've tried Winbox, NetInstall, serial console, ssh, telnet, mac telnet, reset button, and spanning the hard reset contacts inside the case.

We're still not sure what happened at this site, but the 2 2011's that went bad started throwing a lot of port errors in the log, then would die like this.
We think it was a power related issue, but it disappeared so we have no evidence to work on.

Is there any way to restore the RouterBoot firmware (or RouterOS, etc) through JTAG or anything like that?
I realize it may not be officially supported, but it would be nice to get these back to some sort of working order.
Now you are saying something about power I remember a while ago I also had some issues with my RB2011. Mine was acting weird and rebooting once in a while without real reason.
After I opened the case found out that the power plug inside the device that connects to the board has come loose a little. (I happen to have the oldest version I believe where there is a power connector inside the case, right on the board and the powercord is lead through the housing. I also thought there is a newer version where the power connector is position more to the ouside of the board in order to be able to just plug the connector from the outside (Like with the RB750/951 etc.))
Just noticed that anarkikrzysiek is talking about a rack mount model, but still could be a power issue.

Re: Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:07 pm
by schrotn
Both of mine are rackmounts as well (RB2011UiAS-RM). Didn't think that would make a difference.
I have two RB2011's just like this currently.
Ports 1-5 work perfectly as a dumb switch, but there does not seem to be a way to communicate with the internals. The LCD screen is white as well.

I've tried Winbox, NetInstall, serial console, ssh, telnet, mac telnet, reset button, and spanning the hard reset contacts inside the case.

We're still not sure what happened at this site, but the 2 2011's that went bad started throwing a lot of port errors in the log, then would die like this.
We think it was a power related issue, but it disappeared so we have no evidence to work on.

Is there any way to restore the RouterBoot firmware (or RouterOS, etc) through JTAG or anything like that?
I realize it may not be officially supported, but it would be nice to get these back to some sort of working order.
Now you are saying something about power I remember a while ago I also had some issues with my RB2011. Mine was acting weird and rebooting once in a while without real reason.
After I opened the case found out that the power plug inside the device that connects to the board has come loose a little. (I happen to have the oldest version I believe where there is a power connector inside the case, right on the board and the powercord is lead through the housing. I also thought there is a newer version where the power connector is position more to the ouside of the board in order to be able to just plug the connector from the outside (Like with the RB750/951 etc.))
Just noticed that anarkikrzysiek is talking about a rack mount model, but still could be a power issue.

Re: Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:37 am
by Janevski
Inspect power supply.
Inspect capacitors.

Re: Faulty RB2011UiAS-RM

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:17 pm
by kermu