Community discussions

 
emikrotik
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 9:30 am

CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:31 am

Hello,

Is there any news or draft spec on the hardware of the CRS317-1G-16S+RM and release date?

Will the CRS317 support VLAN ACL? and will it be suitable for use as a core switch in a high throughput network running a RIP, VRRP, bridge?

Thanks.
 
emikrotik
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 9:30 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:12 am

Any update?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri May 19, 2017 10:43 pm

Waiting for one of the >2 SFP+ port switches myself.... I'd just like a price and a timeframe.
 
anuser
Member
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sun May 21, 2017 11:04 pm

It will be nice, if it would be available within the next few weeks/monhs, i.e. Q2/Q3 2017
 
sandmantik
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:46 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:49 pm

It would be great if we could get any info at all on this product. Hardware specs, price, date for getting to market. PLEASE!!! something any data.
 
mysz0n
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:14 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:26 pm

Can I use 1.25G SFP transceivers with CRS317-1G-16S + RM?
Do SFP+ ports support 10G ONLY?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24217
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:30 am

Can I use 1.25G SFP transceivers with CRS317-1G-16S + RM?
Do SFP+ ports support 10G ONLY?
It works also with 1.25G modules
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Ascendo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:06 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:39 pm

Can you do interface bonding with the CRS317?
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:06 am

Can you do interface bonding with the CRS317?
In SwOS the link aggregation on CRS317 is supported at hardware level. In RouterOS it will become available in future.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS/CRS317#LAG
 
Ascendo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:06 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:32 pm

Can you do interface bonding with the CRS317?
In SwOS the link aggregation on CRS317 is supported at hardware level. In RouterOS it will become available in future.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS/CRS317#LAG
Great, thanks. Any information on the packet buffer size? We often have problems with packet loss to 1Gb hosts.
 
jwarne
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:32 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:07 am

Does anyone know if this switch supports RoCE v2 or Priority Flow Control?
 
anuser
Member
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:20 pm

 
jwarne
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:32 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Mon Jul 24, 2017 4:12 am

So if the 98DX8216 ASIC supports PFC/RoCE, does SwOS?
 
User avatar
marlow
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:23 pm

Can I use 1.25G SFP transceivers with CRS317-1G-16S + RM?
Do SFP+ ports support 10G ONLY?
It works also with 1.25G modules
I tried it with 1.25G modules. It does detect them, but does not get link.

If I plug the same module out of the 317 and plug it into a 226 (sfp-sfpplus1 port), it works perfectly. ROS 3.41rc32.

/M
Communication is the beginning of understanding
-- AT&T
 
mysz0n
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:14 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:33 pm

I tried it with 1.25G modules. It does detect them, but does not get link.

If I plug the same module out of the 317 and plug it into a 226 (sfp-sfpplus1 port), it works perfectly. ROS 3.41rc32.

/M

I bought 3 crs317, but it turns out that I can't configure vlan like on crs212.
I was conected via ethernet, but when i was trying to install a new package, the transmission speed reached 20kbps (max),
system.npk I uploaded probably 5 times before all went through.
Tested on 2 crs, with different cables
 
User avatar
marlow
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:41 pm

I tried it with 1.25G modules. It does detect them, but does not get link.

If I plug the same module out of the 317 and plug it into a 226 (sfp-sfpplus1 port), it works perfectly. ROS 3.41rc32.

/M

I bought 3 crs317, but it turns out that I can't configure vlan like on crs212.
I was conected via ethernet, but when i was trying to install a new package, the transmission speed reached 20kbps (max),
system.npk I uploaded probably 5 times before all went through.
Tested on 2 crs, with different cables
Hi ,, I ran into the same problems. The way of doing the configuration has changed.

Read this for 6.40.1 and up: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... N_examples
Beware .. VLANs will be done in CPU, not in hardware doing it this way.

Hardware offloading is not implemented until the latest release candidate. I've installed 6.41.rc32 on mine and it works fully with Hardware Offloading now.
Read:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... _Filtering
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:S ... Offloading

Also .. if you configured it as above under 6.40.1 and then go to 6.41rc32 or later, you will have to remove the bridge-partners and re-add them (so reconfigure your switch basically from scratch) to be able to enable hardware offloading.

If works though, afterwards. And I quite like the new way of configuring the VLans. Much tidier.

/M
Communication is the beginning of understanding
-- AT&T
 
User avatar
emils
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:53 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:56 am

I tried it with 1.25G modules. It does detect them, but does not get link.

If I plug the same module out of the 317 and plug it into a 226 (sfp-sfpplus1 port), it works perfectly. ROS 3.41rc32.

/M
Did you try disabling auto-negotiation and forcing link speed to 1G on both sides?
 
User avatar
marlow
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:06 am

I tried it with 1.25G modules. It does detect them, but does not get link.

If I plug the same module out of the 317 and plug it into a 226 (sfp-sfpplus1 port), it works perfectly. ROS 3.41rc32.

/M
Did you try disabling auto-negotiation and forcing link speed to 1G on both sides?
I would have expected the same behaviour from either switches, so no, I didn't do that.

I've tried that now and that solves the problem. Is there any explanation to that behavior ?

/M
Communication is the beginning of understanding
-- AT&T
 
User avatar
Melody5781
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:20 am

My CRS317 is almost silent when used below 40℃. It can work with DACs from Cisco and Dell. But I’m using more cost-effective FS SFP-10G-DAC on it. Turns out it is fully compatible and works perfectly. BTW, I was also wondering if I could use this CRS317 as core switch as I planned for a upgrade in my server room to handle the increasing data traffic.
 
schorsch
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:56 am

Hi,

I need to use the CRS317-1G-16S+RM in a TELCO environment (-48VDC).
What about the "internal voltage" behind the two bulit in AC power supplies? 24VDC, 48VDC?
Is it possible to replace the internal AC power supply with eg. https://shop.meconet.de/Stromversorgung ... 17098.html and feed it with NEGATIVE 48VDC? Or positive 48VDC with a DC/DC converter?

The same question is generally for the CCR1009 and CCR1036....

Regards
Thomas
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24217
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:58 am

Hi,

I need to use the CRS317-1G-16S+RM in a TELCO environment (-48VDC).
What about the "internal voltage" behind the two bulit in AC power supplies? 24VDC, 48VDC?
Is it possible to replace the internal AC power supply with eg. https://shop.meconet.de/Stromversorgung ... 17098.html and feed it with NEGATIVE 48VDC? Or positive 48VDC with a DC/DC converter?

The same question is generally for the CCR1009 and CCR1036....

Regards
Thomas
We are developing new products with -48 V so I wanted to ask, for your specific environment. In a DUAL PSU device, would you prefer both PSU to be -48 V or rather have one -48 V and the other AC 110/220 V ?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
schorsch
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:10 am

Hi normis,

if we place this unit into a street cabinet together with a DSLAM, one PSU with -48VDC and one with 230VAC would be fine.
At our CO we have -48VDC and 230VAC both redundant.
I would prefer modular PSUs. So just give the unit two free slots and variants of PSUs, so we have ONE hardware that fits everywhere.

Do you have an answer to my question above? ;)

Regards
Thomas
 
User avatar
marlow
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Sep 29, 2017 12:55 pm

Modular PSUs like on the 72-core CCR definatly would be better.

And then offer a -48V and a 220V version. That way, you can swap as you need.

And definatly dual PSU, both modular.

/M
Communication is the beginning of understanding
-- AT&T
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:48 pm

Definitely modular PS units. In most cases, we will do all AC or all DC.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
marlow
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:59 pm

Definitely modular PS units. In most cases, we will do all AC or all DC.
With Cisco, you can't mix and match. It doesn't really matter anyhow. But yes ... modular is a must. And redundancy also.

/M
Communication is the beginning of understanding
-- AT&T
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1819
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:09 pm

+1 to modular PSU.

Redundancy is pointless if you cannot swap out the dead PSU without downtime...
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
Anna
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:56 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:00 pm

In many cases, the SFP optical module can be inserted into the SFP +. But there is a general confusion about the compatibility of them both. They may not work in all circumstances. The SFP optical module can operate in the SFP + slot whereas the reverse is not true. If you insert an SFP module on an SFP + port, the speed is brought down to 1G instead of 10G.
The port may lock itself to 1G speed and you may need to reprogram it for upgrading speed. SFP + ports usually can’t sustain speeds below 1G. Thus we can’t use 100Base modules on SFP+ ports.
 
geneb846
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:27 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi,

I need to use the CRS317-1G-16S+RM in a TELCO environment (-48VDC).
What about the "internal voltage" behind the two bulit in AC power supplies? 24VDC, 48VDC?
Is it possible to replace the internal AC power supply with eg. https://shop.meconet.de/Stromversorgung ... 17098.html and feed it with NEGATIVE 48VDC? Or positive 48VDC with a DC/DC converter?

The same question is generally for the CCR1009 and CCR1036....

Regards
Thomas
We are developing new products with -48 V so I wanted to ask, for your specific environment. In a DUAL PSU device, would you prefer both PSU to be -48 V or rather have one -48 V and the other AC 110/220 V ?

If you are in a telco office, there will be an A and B -48dc feed. So you would want two -48 supplies. Most telcos I have seen do not have 110 at the rack.
 
User avatar
kuz8
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Thu Mar 15, 2018 11:26 pm

What are the latency specs? They don't not seem to be published on official specs page..
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2985
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:15 pm

Definitely modular PS units. In most cases, we will do all AC or all DC.
+1
BR,
Metod
 
cordeironeto
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:29 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:34 am

I have a CRS317 and the bandwidth control is not working. I made the ACL per port controlling but the traffic goes much more on the client. I do not know what it can be since HITs normally count in the ACL. Version 2.7 swos
 
zikachu
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:08 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:27 pm

Marvell 98DX8216
How much mpps can handle per second? does some one know ?
 
psannz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:52 pm
Location: Renningen, Germany

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:55 pm

Marvell 98DX8216
How much mpps can handle per second? does some one know ?
https://mikrotik.com/product/crs317_1g_ ... estresults

There you go
 
zikachu
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:08 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:20 pm

i want to know million packets per seconds.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2985
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM - Hardware specification

Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:30 pm

i want to know million packets per seconds.
You can't get that data, it's confidential.

Perhaps data about thousands packets per second would do? It's there, in colums kpps (kilo=1000 packets per second). You might be able to calculate Mpps from that.
BR,
Metod

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests