Page 1 of 1

RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:49 pm
by Gennadiy51
The router works fine, but it slowly accumulates bad blocks.

download/file.php?mode=view&id=28356

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:40 pm
by mistry7
time to replace the device

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:45 pm
by pukkita
at 500k write cycles per 1:46 , there's little you can do, your nand storage will end up dying sooner or later.

You can netinstall it (bad block count will be cleared), but if the router is kept being used like that it won't last much more.

What's that router doing?

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:53 pm
by Pea
470k writes after 2 hours? You are likely killing the router by your settings.
Time for a new device... and setup with reduced writes to storage.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:27 am
by Gennadiy51
This is an ordinary home router. It has two R52n-m cards and give out Wi-Fi 2,4Ghz and 5,5Ghz. He does not write anything to the NAND.
I have RB493G one year. I got it not new and I do not know its history.
Can this NAND be replaced? Should it be clean or it must be programmed beforehand?

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:16 am
by pukkita
Isn't it doing graphing, proxying, logging to disk, anything that "writes to disk"?

I would netinstall it and see how it progresses afterwards, making sure nand is not getting trashed.

Alternatively, it is also possible to manually repartition / format the NAND from RouterBOOT menu

Replacing the nand chip may be possible, though requires specialized equipment and well above-average soldering skills and handling (apart from sourcing the component).

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:27 am
by sergejs
Please use Netinstall to upgrade your router (install 6.38.7), upgrade RouterBOOT by /system routerboot upgrade and /system reboot.
Make sure not to write logs to disk. Let us know about the results.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:32 pm
by Gennadiy51
Please use Netinstall to upgrade your router (install 6.38.7), upgrade RouterBOOT by /system routerboot upgrade and /system reboot.
Make sure not to write logs to disk. Let us know about the results.
I did it all. Bad-blocks 0,0%.
[admin@MikroTik_RB493G] > system resource print
uptime: 6m
version: 6.38.7 (bugfix)
build-time: Jun/20/2017 10:55:05
free-memory: 224.7MiB
total-memory: 256.0MiB
cpu: MIPS 24Kc V7.4
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 680MHz
cpu-load: 7%
free-hdd-space: 108.1MiB
total-hdd-space: 128.0MiB
write-sect-since-reboot: 1192
write-sect-total: 646763
bad-blocks: 0%
architecture-name: mipsbe
board-name: RB493G
platform: MikroTik
[admin@MikroTik_RB493G] > system routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: 493G
serial-number: 25E0017AAAFF
firmware-type: ar7100
factory-firmware: 2.28
current-firmware: 3.24
upgrade-firmware: 3.24
I wrote 100MB to NAND and 0.6% of bad-blocks appeared and when I repeated this operation, 2.1% of bad-blocks appeared.
[admin@MikroTik_RB493G] > system resource print
uptime: 26m28s
version: 6.38.7 (bugfix)
build-time: Jun/20/2017 10:55:05
free-memory: 220.6MiB
total-memory: 256.0MiB
cpu: MIPS 24Kc V7.4
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 680MHz
cpu-load: 3%
free-hdd-space: 7.1MiB
total-hdd-space: 128.0MiB
write-sect-since-reboot: 52102
write-sect-total: 698942
bad-blocks: 0.6%
architecture-name: mipsbe
board-name: RB493G
platform: MikroTik

[admin@MikroTik_RB493G] > system resource print
uptime: 33m2s
version: 6.38.7 (bugfix)
build-time: Jun/20/2017 10:55:05
free-memory: 222.8MiB
total-memory: 256.0MiB
cpu: MIPS 24Kc V7.4
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 680MHz
cpu-load: 4%
free-hdd-space: 5.2MiB
total-hdd-space: 128.0MiB
write-sect-since-reboot: 104131
write-sect-total: 750971
bad-blocks: 2.1%
architecture-name: mipsbe
board-name: RB493G
platform: MikroTik
[admin@MikroTik_RB493G] >
I'll see at what speed will grow bad-blocks.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:36 pm
by jobidenpalen
Please update us of number of bad blocks after days of operations.
If number is growing exponentially, then return on the warranty might be required.

RouterOS uses intelligent algorithm to work with bad blocks, even 15% of bad blocks leaves 0% of effect on RouterOS operation.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:07 am
by Gennadiy51
Everything is bad! My RB493G worked for 5 months, scored 30% of bad blocks and stopped working, when I updated RB. Even Netinstall does not help. I bought a new NAND, replaced it and the router worked perfectly, bad blocks no longer appear !!!
But I lost the license !!! Router will stop functioning after 4h and 20m if no valid key is entered.
What should I do now? Have to buy a new one?
I asked the local dealer, they promised to help.

Translated by Google translator

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:28 am
by pukkita
Write to support linking to this post and explaining the situation, they'll work out the license issue.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:13 am
by alexkulik
470k writes after 2 hours? You are likely killing the router by your settings.
Time for a new device... and setup with reduced writes to storage.
All versions of RouterOS above 6.34.6 in the old line of devices from MikroTik cause an increased amount of write to flash memory.
I understand that in the new models of devices from MikroTik - a different algorithm for working with memory, and everything is fine.
And on RB951G-2HnD, RB750G, SXT Lite2 and other old models - this is a problem I understand is insoluble (at least until version 6.40).
But I still decided it the following way: on older models of devices I put RouterOS version 6.34.6. And there are no problems.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?  [SOLVED]

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:21 pm
by Gennadiy51
My story ended happily!
I wrote in support that after the replacement of NAND the license was lost and attached the photos:
1. RB493G_SerialNumber.png - the photo of my Routerboard with the serial number and both the old and the new NAND chips;
2. RB493G_Winbox.png - the detailed information about [Routerboard], [License] and [Resources] from Winbox;
3. supout.rif - RIF file corresponding to the newly used NAND chip.
The next day I received a license key without additional questions.
Many thanks to the MikroTik!!!

Translated by Google translator.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:48 am
by sisenis
I have similar issue.
Today MT support refuse license update after NAND replacement for RB493G. As well doesn't offer paid repair.
Think twice before buying MT, one day you will be left behind...

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:22 am
by Reinis
I have similar issue.
Today MT support refuse license update after NAND replacement for RB493G. As well doesn't offer paid repair.
Think twice before buying MT, one day you will be left behind...
1) Manual repairs are not supported (maybe you've seen "warranty void" stickers on nearly all consumer electronics, this includes software warranty).
This shouldn't be a surprise as 99.99% (most likely 100%) of companies world wide does that, but I digress

2) You can always purchase a new license

3) MikroTik does not provide paid repairs other than to CCR / RB1100 / RB800 / CRS317 / CRS328 devices. Warranty and paid repairs are done via distributors.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:26 pm
by sisenis
Thank you for reply!
If manual repairs not supported oficially, then how Mr. Gennadiy51 has got new license free of charge after manual NAND repair ? Please see above posts.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:00 pm
by Elans
Thank you for reply!
If manual repairs not supported oficially, then how Mr. Gennadiy51 has got new license free of charge after manual NAND repair ? Please see above posts.
From Mr.Gennadiy51 last comment was on "Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:21 pm" .
It is strictly per case basis and there can be an exceptions. Rules prohibits any manual repairs and, therefore, you risk with your device warranty/license etc.
reiniss2 explained quite detailed, so it should be clear enough now.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:56 am
by jebz
Today MT support refuse license update after NAND replacement for RB493G. As well doesn't offer paid repair.
.
.
That's very disappointing.
The RB493G was one of MikroTik's most expensive bare board routers with unique features. It's not like a RB411 basic board, you can't purchase a current bare RB with equivalent features.

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:52 am
by reman6110
My story ended happily!
I wrote in support that after the replacement of NAND the license was lost and attached the photos:
1. RB493G_SerialNumber.png - the photo of my Routerboard with the serial number and both the old and the new NAND chips;
2. RB493G_Winbox.png - the detailed information about [Routerboard], [License] and [Resources] from Winbox;
3. supout.rif - RIF file corresponding to the newly used NAND chip.
The next day I received a license key without additional questions.
Many thanks to the MikroTik!!!

Translated by Google translator.
Could you share nand chip details model, pics or how to locate and replace nand...

Re: RB493G, 60.0% Bad Blocks!!! What should I do now?

Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:47 pm
by r00t
Chip is ST NAND01GW382CN6 and this is regular NAND memory, it doesn't have any secure blocks or unique serial number. Just copy all contents from old chip to the new one and it should work just like before...

EDIT: Seems like there is optional unique serial number option for this chip. If it's used by ROS, it will not be possible to just clone old chip to a new one and keep the license.