Community discussions

 
chrryd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:03 pm

MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:07 pm

Hi folks,

I'm trying to connect a CRS326-24G-2S+RM and a CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+PC using a MikroTik SFP+ DAC cable (SplusDA0001) but I can only get the link to work at 1Gbs... Does this cable allow connection at 10Gbs? Or is it limited to 1Gbs? Whenever I attempt to set the speed to 10Gbs on the CCR the link drops, and the CRS326 booted in SwOS doesn't even offer a 10Gbs speed option.

Thanks for any help or answers,
Chris.
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:12 am

ROS / SwOS versions? Have you tried booting the CRS326 in ROS?

According to the wiki a 10G Link between CRS326 and CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+ using a SFP+ 1m or 3m DAC should be supported (SFP+ 1m/3m DAC column):
Captura de pantalla 2017-07-16 a la(s) 10.10.15.png
I would check both Routerboards have the latest ROS / SwOS versions and Firmware, if you still don't get a 10G link, I'd generate a supout and email it to support, linking to this post.

What's the SFP port configuration? Is autonegotiation on? Is 10G advertised?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
chrryd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:03 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Mon Jul 17, 2017 2:29 pm

Thanks pukkita - yes, I thought it should be possible to get a 10G link, but I've not managed to get it working yet. Both the CCR and the CRS are running the latest RouterOS/SwOS versions, and it doesn't seem to matter whether the CRS is booted in SwOS or RouterOS mode. I've currently got auto-negotiation disabled, but even with auto-negotiation on it's still won't give me 10G. It seems that at least on the CCR end, it's only set to advertise up to 1G, and there doesn't appear to be a way to force it to advertise 10G.

Thanks,
Chris.
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:18 pm

Set it back to use autoneg and generate a supout on each router, and email support attaching both and linking to this post.

Apart from ROS, is firmware up to date on both?
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
User avatar
skylark
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:55 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:29 pm

Hi Chris,

I did some tests between CRS326-24G-2S+RM (both SwOS/ RouterOS) and CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+ with SFP+ 1m and 3m direct attach cable, they worked perfectly. There should be 10G link when autonegotiation is enabled on both ends. It looks like a cable fault, please check it in other devices to verify that.
 
chrryd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:03 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:58 pm

I've obtained a new cable, but still had the same issue. I've just updated the CCR to 6.40, and now I can get a 10Gbs link working between the CCR and the CRS - so the hardware is obviously OK. However, what I can only get the 10Gbs link to come up if the CRS is booted in RouterOS mode. If it's booted in SwOS mode (running 2.4) then the link still refuses to come up. Unfortunately, since RouterOS on the CRS doesn't support LACP in hardware, I need to have the CRS boot in SwOS mode (unless anyone knows how to get the CRS to do hardware LACP in RouterOS - which would be my preferred solution).
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:11 pm

chrryd, then I would write support again updating the ticket with this new info.

Check the firmware (System > Routerboard) of the CRS while in ROS, is up to date?
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
chrryd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:03 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:51 am

Yeah, I've updated support too, but just posting here as well in case anyone else has the same issue :-) Firmware is all up-to-date on both CCR and CRS.
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:51 pm

Great, please post support conclusion once answered...
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
chrryd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:03 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:37 pm

So Support sent me a SwOS 2.5rc2 firmware to try in the CRS326, which I've tried and that still doesn't work. I'll update the thread further when I hear back from support again.
 
Kevo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:38 am

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:12 am

Any news on these 10Gbps links with SFP+ ports? We have a CRS226 that blows up every few days and I have one of the new CSS326's to try out, but it sounds like it's a bad idea to even try at the moment.
 
chrryd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:03 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:17 pm

Support have sent me two different SwOS RC firmware's (2.5rc4 and 2.5rc5), but it's still not working at 10Gbps when running either of those SwOS versions. Running the latest RouterOS on the CRS will get me 10Gbps working, so it's not a hardware issue - but unfortunately RouterOS doesn't yet support hardware LACP on the CRS, so it's not worth me running it in RouterOS mode either. Support tell me that hardware LACP support in RouterOS is not planned to be implemented anytime soon, so they are concentrating on trying to get 10Gbps SFP working in SwOS at the moment - though I've not heard anything back from them since 4th August (so 10 days ago now), so I've know idea what progress they are making, if any. In the meantime, my CRS is basically gathering dust as it's not fit for purpose until this is resolved.
 
brixo
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:45 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:10 pm

Hi all,

Just recently started to use Mik gear. I bought them purely for the 10G capability and am seeing this very same issues. If I run my CRS in ROS, I can hard fix to 10G no problem. If I boot in SWOS (which I want as it seems infinitely easier if you only want L2 capability), it will not do 10G - either with or without auto-neg. There isn't even an option in SWOS to hard nail it to 10G; and as there is not SSH/CLI, I cannot have a further look.

I am using SwOS 2.6 - so, I assume that there isn't a fix for this yet?
 
juanabreu
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:19 am

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:25 am

Hi,

I have the same issue.

* )CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+
Router OS : 6.40.5
Routerboard Firmware : 3.41

* ) CRS326-24G-2S+
SWOS : 2.6

Regards.
 
Andrewyi12
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:00 am

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:57 am

1G could not support 10G cable, but 10G can be used on 1G port.
 
User avatar
Ablesonebell
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:18 am

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:11 am

SFP+ DACs compatiblity is a troubling issue, that I met many times. Luckily, I used to get MikroTik SFP+ DAC 3m for my server connections, no issues. But now I have replaced those DACs with some new SFP+ DACs from other sllers, they works fine too. Maybe you can have a try.
 
tricksol
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 3:55 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:00 am

So can we or can we not get 10G with the CRS317 in SWOS? I'm looking for LACP and don't really want to have to purchase an old amazon piece of equipment to get the function that I need.
 
w0lt
Member
Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Fri May 11, 2018 10:01 pm

Hi,

I have the same issue.

* )CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+
Router OS : 6.40.5
Routerboard Firmware : 3.41

* ) CRS326-24G-2S+
SWOS : 2.6

Regards.

I seem to be having the same problem with a CRS-328. It Doesn't want to connect at 10G but works just fine at 1G using the SFP+DAC cable. Any solutions to this? :?
MTCNA - 2011

" The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten "

Image
 
sp0tteh
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:40 am

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:20 am

Hey,

Have had the same issue for a while, was hoping a new F/W would end up fixing this.

CRS125-24-1S
Router O/S 6.44.2

Fiberstore SFPP-PC02 1m SFP+

CSS326-24G-2S+
F/W 2.9

In router OS i can select up to 10G but in SWOS can only see (10M, 100M, 1GB).
When both ends are set to auto the link never comes up, have to set both to 1GB to get an active link.

Anyone had any luck?
 
Guntis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: MikroTik SFP+ DAC 1m cable - does it support 10G?

Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:42 pm

@sp0tteh
CRS125-24G-1S-IN only has SFP cage, not SFP+, so you cannot get 10Gbps rate with it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests