Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
tkotek001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:21 am

crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:46 am

hello mikrotik

port 1 (ether1) is consistently flapping between 1G and no-link every 2-3 seconds
Os 6.37 and 6.40.1 against i350-t4 adapter (on linux )

- other ports are ok
- 2 other crs210 exhibit same behaviour

kindly advice

thanks

ps. board admin - just replied to old topic from 2011(?) that seems related - however it states flapping between 100M and 1000M
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 3037
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:32 am

This is most probably hardware-specific, so doubt RB2011 issues could be related.

Post an screenshot of System > Routerboard, does Current Firmware match Upgrade Firmware?
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
tkotek001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:21 am

Re: crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Wed Aug 09, 2017 12:02 pm

Hi

here you go
[admin@MikroTik] > /system routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: CRS210-8G-2S+
firmware-type: qca8513
factory-firmware: 3.22
current-firmware: 3.22
upgrade-firmware: 3.22

update - dig some logs ...

> connected i350-t4 here
09:55:54 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
09:55:55 interface,info ether1-master link down
09:55:58 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
09:56:01 interface,info ether1-master link down
09:56:04 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
09:56:05 interface,info ether1-master link down
09:56:07 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
09:56:08 interface,info ether1-master link down
09:56:11 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
09:56:13 interface,info ether1-master link down
09:56:16 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
09:56:17 interface,info ether1-master link down
09:56:19 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
09:56:22 interface,info ether1-master link down
09:56:23 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 100M, full duplex)

> disconnected i350-t4
09:59:17 interface,info ether1-master link down

> connected to ubiq switch

09:59:24 interface,info ether1-master link up (speed 1G, full duplex)

> ... link is up still

thanks
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 3037
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:00 pm

Could be Energy Efficient Ethernet setting (RFC 802.3az) on the i350-t4, according to Intel:
Link flap when Energy Efficient Ethernet is enabled
---------------------------------------------------
Some switches do not support Energy Efficient Ethernet (EEE) correctly. Make
sure your switch is loaded with the latest firmware. Disabling EEE on your
adapter may resolve this issue.
Try disabling it:
ethtool --set-eee igbX eee off 
ethtool --show-eee igbX
If that doesn't solve the problem, generate a supout while it's happening and email it to support.

I think that even if it solves the problem, you should write support to let them know (link to this post).
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
tkotek001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:21 am

Re: crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:11 pm

Hi

thanks for hint, results are confusing

first turned off eee on i350 but id did not help - link is still flapping
rebooted router, still the same - flapping in few seconds

then changed cable from 2m to 10m (both cat5e, factory made)
still flapping, rebooted router - now flapping occurs with interval in minutes

then turned ON eee - interval does not change

very strange
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 3037
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:29 pm

I'd write support, including a supout and linking to this thread.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
tkotek001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:21 am

Re: crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:34 pm

Hi

just did it and for your curiosity - extending cable length to 15m (max i have) interval is prolonged to several hours (7 to 10 max)
will follow-up with info from support once have it

thanks
 
Petzl
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:14 pm

Re: crs210-8g-2s+in ether1 port flap

Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:09 am

I think it has something to do with the fact that port1 is also the POE port.

i had the same problem on a CRS112 and CRS210

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Guntis, w32pamela and 13 guests