Community discussions

 
h17
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:01 pm

10G switch with RJ45?

Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:45 am

Hello,

I'm looking for a switch with 8 to 24 10GBASE-T ports, and 2 or more SFP+ ports... and quiet cooling.
Passive would be ideal. Preferably rackmounted. Do you guys have something like that in your plans for the future? :)

Sorry if there was similar thread already - I couldn't find any.
Regards.
 
klaus007
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:06 pm

+1 for a switch with has both types of 10GB ports
 
leonman
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:57 am

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Thu Aug 31, 2017 9:13 am

TP-Link T1700G-28TQ?
 
h17
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:07 am

TP-Link T1700G-28TQ?
I'm not interested in 1G ports. Already have couple of such switches.
I want to upgrade my network to 10G.

I was thinking about buying CRS317-1G-16S+RM but idea of having
so many copper SFP+ modules makes me cringe.
 
barkas
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: RE: Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:15 pm

TP-Link T1700G-28TQ?
I'm not interested in 1G ports. Already have couple of such switches.
I want to upgrade my network to 10G.

I was thinking about buying CRS317-1G-16S+RM but idea of having
so many copper SFP+ modules makes me cringe.
As far as I have seen so far, there are no t-sfp+ modules.
 
h17
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: RE: Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:26 pm

As far as I have seen so far, there are no t-sfp+ modules.
There are some. The price is a killer though.
 
Andrewyi12
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:00 am

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:48 am

10G SFP+ optical modules with RJ45 port is related to copper modules, esp for 10GBASE-T. See this, http://www.fs.com/c/10g-sfp-plus-63?0-5-50m=2609. But the price is higher. For short link distance, you can try 10G DAC cable for connection, see this http://www.fs.com/c/10g-sfp-dac-1114.
 
h17
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:22 am

For short link distance, you can try 10G DAC cable for connection, see this http://www.fs.com/c/10g-sfp-dac-1114.
Guys, I am using direct attach cables wherever I can, but I want to upgrade my whole home network to 10G.
It's problematic to use additional FO. Can't fit single SFP+ module into holes in my walls, and I have no experience in FO welding.
I'd like to use existing CAT 6 copper cables, so I'm looking for a switch with copper 10G (and a few additional SFP+).
 
Shadeofspirit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 12:15 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:37 pm

Hello,

I'm looking for a switch with 8 to 24 10GBASE-T ports, and 2 or more SFP+ ports... and quiet cooling.
Passive would be ideal. Preferably rackmounted. Do you guys have something like that in your plans for the future? :)

Sorry if there was similar thread already - I couldn't find any.
Regards.
D-Link DXS-1210-10TS
Cisco SG350XG-2F10-K9
HP OfficeConnect 1950 12XGT 4SFP+

but i don't think you will be able to find smth passive cooling.
10G devices are rather "hot"
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
Andrewyi12
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:00 am

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:53 am

How many SFP+ ports do you need? I searched and found this:
XS708Ev2: https://www.netgear.com/business/produc ... -techspecs (1 x SFP+ 1000/10GBASE-X fiber port)
XS728T: https://www.netgear.com/business/produc ... -techspecs (4 SFP+ 1000/10GBASE-X fiber ports)
HOPE THIS HELP!
 
h17
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:26 am

Guys, thank you for your suggestions. I'll have to choose something. I'm just not convinced to any of those models.
Seems like I'm dreaming of utopia. :) 90..130 Watts is an overkill for a switch to me. My whole rack consumes now
less than 250W.

I wrote here hoping that MT has something in their future plans.
CRS317-1G-16S+RM with 42W max power consumption looks good for me,
I'd just like to wait for copper version. What can I say... I like SwOS.
 
leonman
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:57 am

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:47 am

How about TP-Link T1700X-16TS? It is equipped with 12 x 10GBASE-T RJ45 ports and 4 x 10G SFP+ ports, providing 320 Gbps switching capacity.
 
h17
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:15 pm

How about TP-Link T1700X-16TS? It is equipped with 12 x 10GBASE-T RJ45 ports and 4 x 10G SFP+ ports, providing 320 Gbps switching capacity.
Looks promising, but...
I had two TP-Link gigabit switches, and once or twice a year they tend to block all network traffic on downlinks when dhcp-snooping option was enabled. Tested on last two revisions of firmware.
I don't trust TP-Link anymore.
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1721
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:56 pm

I think only thing that is missing is (100M/1G/2.5G/5G/10GBASE-T) RJ45 SFP+ module, then we can use any SFP+ only device.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests