Page 1 of 1

10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:45 am
by h17
Hello,

I'm looking for a switch with 8 to 24 10GBASE-T ports, and 2 or more SFP+ ports... and quiet cooling.
Passive would be ideal. Preferably rackmounted. Do you guys have something like that in your plans for the future? :)

Sorry if there was similar thread already - I couldn't find any.
Regards.

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:06 pm
by klaus007
+1 for a switch with has both types of 10GB ports

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 9:13 am
by leonman
TP-Link T1700G-28TQ?

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:07 am
by h17
TP-Link T1700G-28TQ?
I'm not interested in 1G ports. Already have couple of such switches.
I want to upgrade my network to 10G.

I was thinking about buying CRS317-1G-16S+RM but idea of having
so many copper SFP+ modules makes me cringe.

Re: RE: Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:15 pm
by barkas
TP-Link T1700G-28TQ?
I'm not interested in 1G ports. Already have couple of such switches.
I want to upgrade my network to 10G.

I was thinking about buying CRS317-1G-16S+RM but idea of having
so many copper SFP+ modules makes me cringe.
As far as I have seen so far, there are no t-sfp+ modules.

Re: RE: Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:26 pm
by h17
As far as I have seen so far, there are no t-sfp+ modules.
There are some. The price is a killer though.

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:48 am
by Andrewyi12
10G SFP+ optical modules with RJ45 port is related to copper modules, esp for 10GBASE-T. See this, http://www.fs.com/c/10g-sfp-plus-63?0-5-50m=2609. But the price is higher. For short link distance, you can try 10G DAC cable for connection, see this http://www.fs.com/c/10g-sfp-dac-1114.

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:22 am
by h17
For short link distance, you can try 10G DAC cable for connection, see this http://www.fs.com/c/10g-sfp-dac-1114.
Guys, I am using direct attach cables wherever I can, but I want to upgrade my whole home network to 10G.
It's problematic to use additional FO. Can't fit single SFP+ module into holes in my walls, and I have no experience in FO welding.
I'd like to use existing CAT 6 copper cables, so I'm looking for a switch with copper 10G (and a few additional SFP+).

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:37 pm
by Shadeofspirit
Hello,

I'm looking for a switch with 8 to 24 10GBASE-T ports, and 2 or more SFP+ ports... and quiet cooling.
Passive would be ideal. Preferably rackmounted. Do you guys have something like that in your plans for the future? :)

Sorry if there was similar thread already - I couldn't find any.
Regards.
D-Link DXS-1210-10TS
Cisco SG350XG-2F10-K9
HP OfficeConnect 1950 12XGT 4SFP+

but i don't think you will be able to find smth passive cooling.
10G devices are rather "hot"

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:53 am
by Andrewyi12
How many SFP+ ports do you need? I searched and found this:
XS708Ev2: https://www.netgear.com/business/produc ... -techspecs (1 x SFP+ 1000/10GBASE-X fiber port)
XS728T: https://www.netgear.com/business/produc ... -techspecs (4 SFP+ 1000/10GBASE-X fiber ports)
HOPE THIS HELP!

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:26 am
by h17
Guys, thank you for your suggestions. I'll have to choose something. I'm just not convinced to any of those models.
Seems like I'm dreaming of utopia. :) 90..130 Watts is an overkill for a switch to me. My whole rack consumes now
less than 250W.

I wrote here hoping that MT has something in their future plans.
CRS317-1G-16S+RM with 42W max power consumption looks good for me,
I'd just like to wait for copper version. What can I say... I like SwOS.

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:47 am
by leonman
How about TP-Link T1700X-16TS? It is equipped with 12 x 10GBASE-T RJ45 ports and 4 x 10G SFP+ ports, providing 320 Gbps switching capacity.

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:15 pm
by h17
How about TP-Link T1700X-16TS? It is equipped with 12 x 10GBASE-T RJ45 ports and 4 x 10G SFP+ ports, providing 320 Gbps switching capacity.
Looks promising, but...
I had two TP-Link gigabit switches, and once or twice a year they tend to block all network traffic on downlinks when dhcp-snooping option was enabled. Tested on last two revisions of firmware.
I don't trust TP-Link anymore.

Re: 10G switch with RJ45?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:56 pm
by macgaiver
I think only thing that is missing is (100M/1G/2.5G/5G/10GBASE-T) RJ45 SFP+ module, then we can use any SFP+ only device.