Community discussions

 
nuru
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Kaduna, Nigeria

Problem with CCR1072 SFP Interface

Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:57 pm

Just installed a new CCR1072. The CCR is connected to multiple CRS317 and a Cisco 2900 Router via multi mode 1.25GB SFP module.
Anytime the link between any device and the CCR1072 is interrupted either because of power failure on the other device or if you unplug the fiber cable and plug it back. The CCR1072 is not able to reestablish the link until the Interface is disable and re-enable or the CCR1072 is power cycled.

Anyone with this experience please or suggestion on solution please.

Nurudeen
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with CCR1072 SFP Interface

Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:03 am

Which ROS version are you using? I'm sure I remember seeing something in a change log recently that addressed something like this?
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
nuru
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Kaduna, Nigeria

Re: Problem with CCR1072 SFP Interface

Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:59 am

Which ROS version are you using? I'm sure I remember seeing something in a change log recently that addressed something like this?
Thank you for your response
The CCR 1072 came with ROS v6.39.2. Then I though it could be a bug and upgraded to 6.41.1 but its still the same problem. You have to manually disable and enable the Interface before the link is established. The strange thing is the CCR 1072 will indicate a link light but not receiving any packet from the connected device while the connected device indicate a link down status. Until I manually disable and enable the CCR 1072 SFP Interface or reboot the CCR 1072.

Nurudeen
 
User avatar
bajodel
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: Problem with CCR1072 SFP Interface

Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:53 am

I've similar problem on a rb3011 connected to crs326 via DAC cable, disabling auto-negotiate on sfp interface and manually setting 1G (probably 10G in your setup I guess) the link came back fine. There is still a issue, now my rb3011 doesn't detect sfp down state (down link counter stay always on 0) whether the crs correctly detects it.
Anyway to me it's better to be able to recover the link than detecting the down, but I'm waiting for the fix (frankly it's only a hope, now it's almost a year).
 
displacedkiwi
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:24 pm

Re: Problem with CCR1072 SFP Interface

Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:44 pm

I am another one with this issue. I have just upgrades my CCR1072 to 6.42.6 and still see the 1Gb links to a Netgear or 3Com switch not always coming up.

Mikrotik - the issue looks to be auto negotiate - why does the interface information on WinBox show that auto negotiate is DONE when the interface is down? Clearing this by disabling/enabling the interface or turning autoneg off/on clears this state and allows the other device to complete auto negotiation process and come up active. Surely the port driver should send a software interrupt to the autoneg module to say the link has gone down - reset the autoneg complete flag?

As long as that flag is reset - a 1G SFP fiber link comes up. I have tried multiple SFPs and multiple manufacturers devices and always see the same thing. At present - we accept that if a link goes down for any reason we have to log in and disable/enable the Mikrotik interface to bring the link up.

I have many years Engineering experience in the Ethernet manufacturing industry - this should be a simple software interrupt fix!!
 
grahamwt
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:24 pm

Re: Problem with CCR1072 SFP Interface

Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:47 pm

I am on my second CCR1072 with the exact same issue, except the second one I got doesnt work with mikrotik modules so so so unhappy
 
neptune
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:00 pm

Re: Problem with CCR1072 SFP Interface

Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:56 pm

Same issue here between CCR1072 with various SFP 1G modules (S-31DLC20D and S-85DLC05D) and differents routers.
But it seems to work correctly when using 10G SFP+ modules (S+31DLC10D for example)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests