Community discussions

 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Powerbox Pro overload detection

Mon Apr 09, 2018 4:47 pm

I have two powerbox pro powering 3 ubiquiti rocket ac prism connected to each one.
Both of them turn off power to one port several times a day. In log appears OVERLOAD DETECTED.
I power both powerbox via ethernet and the 24v 2.5a original power switching ...

The rocket datasheet says that the max power consumption of the unit is 0.4a.
Powerbox pro can power max 1a per port and 2a max sum all ports.

So afaik there is no overload ....

What can I do to prevent ports from being shut down?
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Powerbox Pro overload detection

Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:41 pm

i replaced 2.5a original power switching with a 10a ...

"overload detection" problem still happens, but not several times a day... but one or twice a week
 
bennyh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Powerbox Pro overload detection

Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:39 am

i replaced 2.5a original power switching with a 10a ...

"overload detection" problem still happens, but not several times a day... but one or twice a week
Maybe cable or connector problem. What if you try to put new RJ45 plugs on booth end of the cable, or try with other cable (with thicker full copper wires).
How long the cabel betweeen Ubi and Miki device?
Maybe the new PSU give higher voltage then factory one, and the radio needs less amper, that cause less frequent overload. Maybe, if the PSU has voltage adjustment, you can add a little more voltage, but can be dangerous, if the radio doesnt support higher voltage then 24V
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Powerbox Pro overload detection

Tue Aug 14, 2018 3:39 pm

Cable is 30 meters long
Cable is 100% copper
PSU has voltage adjustment and I adjust it to let the powerbox receive 24v exactly

I don't think it is RJ45 because it happens to more than one powerbox... with different cable...

I will try to power the powerbox with dc-jack
 
CuriousKiwi
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:44 am

Re: Powerbox Pro overload detection

Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:37 pm

I found a hacky fix to this problem, but it works and can be done remotely.

The only catch is you have to have one spare PoE port.

Set the spare port to have PoE output forced on, and set the PoE priority lower than the other ports.

When overload is detected, it will disable PoE on the spare port and recheck the load before turning other ports off - the overload seems to be instantaneous so it never turns off the other ports (in my experience).
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Powerbox Pro overload detection

Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:56 pm

nice workaround. i will try it

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests