Community discussions

 
Jonkheer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:47 am

CRS326 and 802.3ad / LACP bonding with VLANs, no HW offload

Wed May 16, 2018 10:18 pm

Just bought a CRS317 and CRS326. Currently I'm configuring the CRS326 with VLAN ports and trunks (which do work), but I would also like to setup a two gigabit wire/port bond with a Cisco switch (SG300-20) using LACP. Currently the Cisco switch is working nicely together with a HP switch (which I want to replace with the CRS326) using an existing LACP bond.
I found a clear guide about this on the wiki, but found hardware offloading not to be active on the bond after following the guide.

Here is my current config exported + proof hw offloading on the bond is not active:
[admin@MikroTik] > export
# may/16/2018 20:19:33 by RouterOS 6.42.1
# software id = WWXP-DMKD
#
# model = CRS326-24G-2S+
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=CC:2D:E0:29:xx:xx auto-mac=no comment="created from master port" name=bridge1 protocol-mode=none pvid=10 vlan-filtering=yes
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=ether1-master
/interface bonding
add mode=802.3ad name=bond3_4 slaves=ether3,ether4
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether7
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether8 pvid=50
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether9 pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether10 pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether11 pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether12 pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether13 pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether14 pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether15 pvid=20
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether16 pvid=20
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether17 pvid=30
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether18 pvid=30
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether19 pvid=30
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether20 pvid=30
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether21 pvid=30
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether22 pvid=30
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether23 pvid=40
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether24 pvid=40
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=sfp-sfpplus1 pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 ingress-filtering=yes interface=sfp-sfpplus2
add bridge=bridge1 ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether1-master pvid=10
add bridge=bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether6
add bridge=bridge1 ingress-filtering=yes interface=bond3_4
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge1 untagged=sfp-sfpplus2,ether2,ether5,ether6,ether7,ether3,ether4,bond3_4 vlan-ids=1
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=ether2,sfp-sfpplus2,ether3,ether4,bond3_4 untagged=ether9,ether10,ether11,ether12,ether13,ether14,sfp-sfpplus1,ether1-master vlan-ids=10
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=ether2,sfp-sfpplus2,ether3,ether4,bond3_4 untagged=ether15,ether16 vlan-ids=20
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=ether2,sfp-sfpplus2,ether3,ether4,bond3_4 untagged=ether17,ether18,ether19,ether20,ether21,ether22 vlan-ids=30
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=ether2,sfp-sfpplus2,ether3,ether4,bond3_4 untagged=ether23,ether24 vlan-ids=40
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=ether2,sfp-sfpplus2,ether3,ether4,bond3_4 untagged=ether8 vlan-ids=50
/ip address
add address=192.168.10.18/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge1 network=192.168.10.0
/ip dns
set servers=192.168.10.254
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.10.254
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/x
/system routerboard settings
set boot-os=router-os silent-boot=no
/tool bandwidth-server
set enabled=no


[admin@MikroTik] > /interface bridge port print 
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, D - dynamic, H - hw-offload 
 #     INTERFACE                                                        BRIDGE                                                       HW  PVID PRIORITY  PATH-COST IN
 0   H ether2                                                           bridge1                                                      yes    1     0x80         10   
 1 I H ether5                                                           bridge1                                                      yes    1     0x80         10   
 2 I H ether7                                                           bridge1                                                      yes    1     0x80         10   

...

18 I H ether23                                                          bridge1                                                      yes   40     0x80         10   
19 I H ether24                                                          bridge1                                                      yes   40     0x80         10   
20 I H sfp-sfpplus1                                                     bridge1                                                      yes   10     0x80         10   
21 I H sfp-sfpplus2                                                     bridge1                                                      yes    1     0x80         10   
22 I H ether1-master                                                    bridge1                                                      yes   10     0x80         10   
23 I H ether6                                                           bridge1                                                      yes    1     0x80         10   
24 I   bond3_4                                                          bridge1                                                      yes    1     0x80         10
As can be seen in the export, I also put ether3 and ether4 in the VLAN config after a first attempt without them, although this was not described in the wiki (read it somewhere over here I think, maybe it was necessary for other/older hardware or an other version of RouterOS) but this did not help.
I hope someone can point me in the right direction.
 
peson
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CRS326 and 802.3ad / LACP bonding with VLANs, no HW offload

Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:59 am

I got the same problem on 6.42.7.
Hardware offloading for bonding interface not working in CRS326.
Have you tried it on the CRS317?
Did you solve it?
Reboot is the last resort, try to find out what's wrong instead.
 
Jonkheer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:47 am

Re: CRS326 and 802.3ad / LACP bonding with VLANs, no HW offload

Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:41 am

Sorry, I did not solve the problem, nor did I try it on the 317. I recently updated to 6.43 and might try (and report) again.
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: CRS326 and 802.3ad / LACP bonding with VLANs, no HW offload

Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:22 pm

I'm on latest ROS (6.43.7 i think) and I have HW accelerated xor bonding between CRS317 and CRS326. It happened to me that bonding interface acceleration sometimes "derps" after you perform reconfiguration of interfaces and looses HW state. Putting interface down and up or rebooting device usually solves issue. I used to use 802.3ad before and it worked the same way.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
peson
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CRS326 and 802.3ad / LACP bonding with VLANs, no HW offload

Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:56 pm

I'm on latest ROS (6.43.7 i think) and I have HW accelerated xor bonding between CRS317 and CRS326. It happened to me that bonding interface acceleration sometimes "derps" after you perform reconfiguration of interfaces and looses HW state. Putting interface down and up or rebooting device usually solves issue. I used to use 802.3ad before and it worked the same way.
Have you reported the up and downs to MT support?

I wonder if it only works between MT devices, I will do some tests tonight.
Reboot is the last resort, try to find out what's wrong instead.
 
peson
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CRS326 and 802.3ad / LACP bonding with VLANs, no HW offload

Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:06 am

I'm on latest ROS (6.43.7 i think) and I have HW accelerated xor bonding between CRS317 and CRS326. It happened to me that bonding interface acceleration sometimes "derps" after you perform reconfiguration of interfaces and looses HW state. Putting interface down and up or rebooting device usually solves issue. I used to use 802.3ad before and it worked the same way.
Have you reported the up and downs to MT support?

I wonder if it only works between MT devices, I will do some tests tonight.
Here is an update after my tests, note that the bonding interface stays without HW offloading until the ethernet port(s) got a link.
Also add the bridge interface itself if you want to have a vlan interface in routeros for assigning IP and do routing.
I hope this helps
Cable disconnected
int ether pr where (name=ether3 || name=ether4)
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME                               MTU MAC-ADDRESS       ARP             SWITCH                            
 0  S ether3                            1500 CC:2D:E0:8E:28:A2 enabled         switch1                           
 1  S ether4                            1500 CC:2D:E0:8E:28:A2 enabled         switch1                           
int br po pr where interface~"Trk"
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, D - dynamic, H - hw-offload 
 #     INTERFACE                 BRIDGE                HW  PVID PRIORITY  PATH-COST INTERNAL-PATH-COST    HORIZON
 0   H Trk1                      bridge                yes    1     0x80         10                 10       none
 1 I   Trk2                      bridge                yes    1     0x80         10                 10       none
Cable connected
int ether pr where (name=ether3 || name=ether4)
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #    NAME                               MTU MAC-ADDRESS       ARP             SWITCH                            
 0 RS ether3                            1500 CC:2D:E0:8E:28:A2 enabled         switch1                           
 1  S ether4                            1500 CC:2D:E0:8E:28:A2 enabled         switch1                           
int br po pr where interface~"Trk"             
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, D - dynamic, H - hw-offload 
 #     INTERFACE                 BRIDGE                HW  PVID PRIORITY  PATH-COST INTERNAL-PATH-COST    HORIZON
 0   H Trk1                      bridge                yes    1     0x80         10                 10       none
 1   H Trk2                      bridge                yes    1     0x80         10                 10       none
My setup:
CRS328:
sys pack print where name~"router"
Flags: X - disabled 
 #   NAME                                     VERSION                                     SCHEDULED              
 0   routeros-arm                             6.43                                                               
int bond pr                                                  
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R ;;; Trunk port for bonding to CSS326
      name="Trk1" mtu=1500 mac-address=CC:2D:E0:8E:28:A0 arp=enabled arp-timeout=auto slaves=ether1,ether2 
      mode=802.3ad primary=none link-monitoring=mii arp-interval=100ms arp-ip-targets="" mii-interval=100ms 
      down-delay=0ms up-delay=0ms lacp-rate=30secs transmit-hash-policy=layer-2-and-3 min-links=0 

 1  R ;;; Trunk port for bonding to Cisco 2950
      name="Trk2" mtu=1500 mac-address=CC:2D:E0:8E:28:A2 arp=enabled arp-timeout=auto slaves=ether3,ether4 
      mode=802.3ad primary=none link-monitoring=mii arp-interval=100ms arp-ip-targets="" mii-interval=100ms 
      down-delay=0ms up-delay=0ms lacp-rate=30secs transmit-hash-policy=layer-2-and-3 min-links=0 
int br po pr where interface~"Trk"
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, D - dynamic, H - hw-offload 
 #     INTERFACE                 BRIDGE                HW  PVID PRIORITY  PATH-COST INTERNAL-PATH-COST    HORIZON
 0   H Trk1                      bridge                yes    1     0x80         10                 10       none
 1   H Trk2                      bridge                yes    1     0x80         10                 10       none
 ip addr pr where interface="vl2"
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         INTERFACE                                                                
 0   172.30.99.1/24     172.30.99.0     vl2                                                                      
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge tagged=Trk1 vlan-ids=1004
add bridge=bridge tagged=Trk2,bridge vlan-ids=2
/interface vlan
add interface=bridge name=vl2 vlan-id=2
add interface=bridge name=vl1004 vlan-id=1004
Cisco 2950:
interface Port-channel1
 switchport mode trunk
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/1
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode active
 channel-protocol lacp
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/2
 switchport mode trunk
 channel-group 1 mode active
 channel-protocol lacp
!
#sho lacp 1 nei
Flags:  S - Device is requesting Slow LACPDUs
        F - Device is requesting Fast LACPDUs
        A - Device is in Active mode       P - Device is in Passive mode

Channel group 1 neighbors

Partner's information:

                  LACP port                        Oper    Port     Port
Port      Flags   Priority  Dev ID         Age     Key     Number   State
Gi0/1     SA      255       cc2d.e08e.28a2   7s    0x11    0x1      0x3D
Gi0/2     SA      255       cc2d.e08e.28a2   7s    0x11    0x2      0x3D
sho ip interface vlan 2
Vlan2 is up, line protocol is up
  Internet address is 172.30.99.11/24
  Broadcast address is 172.30.99.255
CSS326
css326.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Reboot is the last resort, try to find out what's wrong instead.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests