Community discussions

 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

RB532 with Ubiquiti SR2 and SR5, too mucho power consumption

Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:19 pm

i was told by a reseller that the ubiquiti's minipci has too much power consumption and he don't recommend me to use 2 ubiquitis in the same routerboard because i could have problems. He suggest me to use for example an ubiquiti and a senao, but not two ubiquiti.

do you have had some experience in this?
 
Dryanta
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:39 pm

Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:56 am

Using 2 sr cards is a recipe for destruction. It really does cause issues and can blow out the radios or 532s. If you need more than one 400mw card I would suggest using an amplifier and lower rated cards if it is within your budget.
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:42 am

You can easily go for 2 SR cards with a 48V PSU, but not more. I have links running with this config for long time and with full load on the cards.

Never never go for the AMP, go for better antennas. I shoot 8km with R52 and 23dBi panels on 5G with full speed and +30dBm SNR

/Henrik
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Wed Jan 24, 2007 3:05 am

i need to make a 25km p2p link to serve in rural zone. I want to use SR5 for the p2p link and the 2nd point put an omni with an SR2, so i wanted to use a RB532 with a SR5 and a SR2, but i don't want to have problems later due to that technical descision.
I can replace the SR2 with a 200mw minipci, but if i use a SR2 i will have more potencial clients...

What would you do in my situation? a RB532 resists an SR5 and a SR2?
 
User avatar
dbostrom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:45 pm

Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:44 am

Our experience w/RB532 is that it has no problem running 2 SRx radios. If you do the math on the power consumption the watts are available to run the cards.

According MT specs, 14 watts are available on the RB532 3.3v rail w/ 3 watts consumed by RB532, leaving 11 watts for running cards. 1.3A to run SR2 at full power=4.3W, meaning that 2 cards will squeeze into the supply leaving a little less than 2.5W to spare.

Those numbers assume the SR2 is running at 24Mbps or less. Once the connection hits 36Mbps the consumption drops to 2.6W and drops further yet as the rate increases, meaning the power consumption is by then not even close to hitting the PS limit.

SR5 uses 4.7 watts full up, so PS head room is commensurately less at lower rates on 5Ghz but again the power consumption falls as the bit rate goes up.

If you are running 24Mbps or less you can always dial back the cards a wee bit if you're concerned about running the PS at a little over 80% capacity.
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:49 am

If you are pushing the PS to 80% I would keep an eye on cooling.
I dont tink I would want it on a tall tower...
I hate hights !!!

Things that make you go Hmmmmm.....

Craig
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
User avatar
dbostrom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:45 pm

Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:06 am

If you are pushing the PS to 80% I would keep an eye on cooling.
I dont tink I would want it on a tall tower...
I hate hights !!!

Things that make you go Hmmmmm.....

Craig
The radios in question are scattered through jungle a little over 8,000km from where I sit so they'd better darned well not fry up...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests