Community discussions

 
timreichhart
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:11 pm

cant reset rb1100 x2 ah after firmware update

Tue May 29, 2018 7:10 pm

Hey Guys
Last night I think I loaded the wrong firmware on the rb1100 x2 ah and it’s like in reboot all the time and I tried the the 2 buttons inside of the case and noting works and I even tried the netinstall but the netinstall (used windows 7 for netinstall) doesn’t even see the routerboard. Any Ideas how I can get this rb back up and running?

Tim
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4545
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: cant reset rb1100 x2 ah after firmware update

Tue May 29, 2018 7:19 pm

There seems to be more of these reports lately. Unlike others, your device has serial console, so you could perhaps see something useful there.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
timreichhart
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:11 pm

Re: cant reset rb1100 x2 ah after firmware update

Tue May 29, 2018 7:35 pm

Ok what happens if serial dont pick it up? is it junk?
 
User avatar
vadimbn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Russia, Berdsk
Contact:

Re: cant reset rb1100 x2 ah after firmware update

Tue May 29, 2018 9:18 pm

Ok what happens if serial dont pick it up? is it junk?
Have you loaded the wrong bootloader ("firmware" in the Mikrotik's notation) or RouterOS? If the firmware was wrong, serial console will be unavailable. For this case all RouterBoards have a second or backup firmware. You can load router (and then install a correct firmware) using the next algorithm:

1)Turn Off the router.
2) Push the reset button on front pannel.
3) Turn ON the router.
4) Install a correct firmware after load RouterOS.

Please read this manual for details.
These routers are hard to kill.
Veni. Vidi. Feci.
RBSXTLTE3-7, CRS326-24G-2S+RM, RB850Gx2, RBMRTG, RB1100AHx4, RB750Gr3, RBD52G-5HacD2HnD-TC, Woobm-USB
 
timreichhart
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:11 pm

Re: cant reset rb1100 x2 ah after firmware update

Tue May 29, 2018 9:24 pm

there is NO reset button in the front just fyi there is 2 reset buttons inside of case.
 
User avatar
vadimbn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Russia, Berdsk
Contact:

Re: cant reset rb1100 x2 ah after firmware update

Tue May 29, 2018 10:08 pm

there is NO reset button in the front just fyi there is 2 reset buttons inside of case.
Ah yes, You are right. RB1100AHx4 has reset button in hole of front pannel, RB1100AHx2 has the button in backward of board. But You can use same algorithm using this button.
Veni. Vidi. Feci.
RBSXTLTE3-7, CRS326-24G-2S+RM, RB850Gx2, RBMRTG, RB1100AHx4, RB750Gr3, RBD52G-5HacD2HnD-TC, Woobm-USB

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests