Community discussions

 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

MikroTik specification - is throughput "duplex"?

Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:45 pm

I've been discussing with friend performance of CRS317. It claims ~160 gbps throughput. I thought it means it can basically handle all ports at 100% speed (16x in + 16x out = 16 streams = 160 gbps). However friend tells me that in order to handle all ports at 100% you need 360 gbps bus throughput because in + out don't sum up this way in throughput. So what is actual definition of "throughput" in MikroTik specification table. Does 2 gbps of "throughput" mean [1 gbps in + 1gbps out] or [2 gbps in + 2 gbps out]?
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: MikroTik specification - is throughput "duplex"?

Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:11 pm

in theory this switch its wire-speed non-blocking, that is, capable of switching all ports at full duplex capacity, simultaneously

i dont understand de meaning of Non blocking Layer 1 throughput vs Non blocking Layer 1 capacity in switching test results, very confusing to see one value being half other

keep in mind this is a 10g switch, that is 10gbit full duplex per port
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: MikroTik specification - is throughput "duplex"?

Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:27 pm

I know it's duplex 10G but it's still not clear to me whether it can actually handle 160 gbps in + 160 gbps out at once (all ports full duplex) or only 8 ports full duplex
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 644
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: MikroTik specification - is throughput "duplex"?  [SOLVED]

Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:06 am

You can clearly see, that there is "troughput" 160 and "capacity" 320. I think your friend's calculation is referring to capacity.
If it can handle just 8 port full-duplex, then capacity number would not make sense as it would never happen.
Fact is that it can handle 16 port full-duplex (that is definition of non-blocking switch).
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: MikroTik specification - is throughput "duplex"?

Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:26 am

Mikrotik tests are simplex - You can see it in the footnotes, where they give the methodology.

BUT the switches are (as far as I know), non blocking. So, they can switch all the ports, at the same time, full duplex at capacity. Hence the "throughput 160" and "capacity 320".
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: MikroTik specification - is throughput "duplex"?

Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:21 am

After more detailed research and discussion we came to conclusion that what Cisco refers to as "bandwidth" is MikroTik's capacity, not throughput. So indeed CRS317 is all ports concurrent full duplex and in order to do so internal bus must handle 320 gbps of data 160 for input and 160 for output. I also checked out CRS317's switch chip datasheet and found out that Marvell Prestera 98DX8216 is actually 24 port 10G switch and CRS317 uses only 16 connectors so even if CRS317 had more ports it could still handle that.

I wonder what was the reason to not use all 24 ports but probably it's passive cooling performance.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests