Page 1 of 1

No CRS with redundand power?

Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:53 pm
by AlexanderM
Hello everyone,
I am a happy user of CCR routers. I get one CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+ shortly when they are announced. Then another. Then CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+. Then more of them... Totally happy with everything. BGP works fine I have enough CPU power for the BGP, tons of firewall rules, 10s of Queues. I have redundancy with pairs of CCR + VRRP. I use the MikroTik API with some custom code to manage everything.

However I am starting to slowly overload the CPUs. No complains whatsoever - I do A LOT on this routers. So I tried to do what a wise man have to do - to search for the better model with more cores. And here comes the BUT part:

BUT it have to be dual PSU device. This is our 100% policy. I may have a compromise with a second PSU being PoE devise provided it is stable and switches fast enough.

It turns out that there is no actual option for me.
CCR1009-7G-1C-PC		- 3 ( AC+DC+PoE )		$425.00
CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+PC	- 3 ( AC+DC+PoE )			$495.00
CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+	- 3 (AC+AC+PoE)				$495.00
CCR1016-12G			- 1 (AC)			$645
CCR1016-12S-1S+		- 2 (AC + AC)				$745
CCR1036-12G-4S		- 1 (AC)				$1095.00
CCR1036-12G-4S-EM	- 1 (AC)				$995.00
CCR1036-8G-2S+ 		- 1 (AC)				$1195.00
CCR1036-8G-2S+EM	- 1 (AC)				$1295.00
CCR1072-1G-8S+		- 2 (AC + AC)				$3050.00
I need 6 Ethernets, SFP and SFP+ for every router.
That is - I have no actual upgrade path from CCR1009. I can only :
* Get CCR1016-12S-1S+ Its not so big upgrade actually (78% more cores only). I also need a bunch of S-RJ01 modules.
* Get CCR1072-1G-8S+ Its by far overkill (800% more cores). I will need to put S-RJ01 modules in a SFP+ port (is this possible?). I will have huge power consumption.,
* Move out from Mikrotik (and rewrite all of my code!)
* Move to CHR (and change the topology in many points where we are present).

Anyone have any ideas?
Is CCR line a dead end(I see no announcement there)?
Is there any way to modify a CCR1036-8G-2S+ to be dual powered? Something simple and reliable?
Why there are all of the cheap models dual powered but most of the expensive ones are not?

Any help will be very welcomed. I am stuck with this problem for too much time.

Greetings,
Alexander

Re: No CRS with redundand power?

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:09 pm
by yHuKyM
If your load is not predicted to increase A LOT in the foreseeable future, get one CCR1016-12S-1S+ with the SFP modules and see how it goes.

Re: No CRS with redundand power?

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:16 pm
by AlexanderM
Unfortunately this is not a good option. The upgrade is too small and the traffic will hopefully get bigger.
With no new CCRs on the horizon (the last new model was 10 NewsLetter issues ago - issue_68/November2015) I feel like they are simply stopping the development.
If I have no further upgrade path I have no choice but to consider CHR or another vendor. It turns out that I can't put 1G SFP copper modules in 1072 too...

It looks like there will be a number of CCRs in Bulgarian OLX soon :)

Re: No CRS with redundand power?

Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:57 pm
by yHuKyM
...
It looks like there will be a number of CCRs in Bulgarian OLX soon :)
I don't mind getting a cheap CCR :)
1U server with additional NICs and RouterOS?
Is it possible to aggregate your connections on a switch, then 2x10gbit LACP to ccr1072 by VLAN?
Though you may not like the power consumption.

Re: No CRS with redundand power?

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:44 am
by Paternot
If I have no further upgrade path I have no choice but to consider CHR or another vendor. It turns out that I can't put 1G SFP copper modules in 1072 too...

It looks like there will be a number of CCRs in Bulgarian OLX soon :)
According to Mikrotik documentation, You can:

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/MikroTik ... h_1G_links
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/MikroTik ... lity_table

Re: No CRS with redundand power?

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:13 pm
by yHuKyM
Unfortunately this is not a good option. The upgrade is too small and the traffic will hopefully get bigger.
It's not so small. Pure math:
CCR1009 has 9 cores 1GHz = 9GHz
CCR1016 has 16 cores 1.2GHz = 19,2GHz
(19,2 - 9) / 9 = 113% more.

Re: No CRS with redundand power?

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:33 pm
by pe1chl
What is consuming your CPU? Depending on the task of those routers, you can sometimes optimize firewall rules, decide
between connection tracking or not, queuing can also be done in different ways, and when you traffic increases you may
be able to have multiple CCR1009 alongside handling part of the traffic.
Also, instead of having a central place where
- all traffic has to pass
- all the firewalling has to take place
- all the queues have to be implemented
you may be able to have these tasks in different routers.
E.g. it does not seem to be a good idea to do the BGP (I presume internet routing, not BGP for your local network) on the
same router were you also do firewalling and queueing individually for customers.