Page 1 of 1

New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:21 am
by pin
One night, a few of days ago the Internet stopped working.
I decided to start winbox, but alas... no connect! also off Wi-Fi
The computer automatically assigns itself an address: 169..
Neighbors does not define the router.
1. reset 30:30: 30 not working
2. netinstall does not detect the router.
Noticed that when you turn on does not light up / does not flash the indicator "usr", as well as when you hold the reset it is silent.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:27 pm
by Sob
If it doesn't light up at all, it's probably dead power supply.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:55 pm
by mkx
hAP ac2 is silent by design ... it doesn't have a beeper.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:10 pm
by pin
in this context, silent means that the usr led does not light up

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:11 pm
by pin
If it doesn't light up at all, it's probably dead power supply.
I only used it for 2 weeks and there were no power surges

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:53 pm
by Sob
Things break, even unexpectedly. If it doesn't do anything, power adapter is first thing to check. According to specification, it should take anything between 12 and 30 V, so it shouldn't be hard to find another adapter to test with.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:59 pm
by pin
Things break, even unexpectedly. If it doesn't do anything, power adapter is first thing to check. According to specification, it should take anything between 12 and 30 V, so it shouldn't be hard to find another adapter to test with.
the router is turns on and all LEDs work except USR

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:30 pm
by Sob
Sorry, my bad, I misundertood the original description, I thought "does not light up" referred to whole router.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:04 pm
by pin
I got a factory defect?

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:41 pm
by Sob
Hard to say, it's a possibility, I guess.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:31 pm
by Swordforthelord
The USR LED is not connected to any router functions by default, it's a customizable indicator. For example, I use mine to indicate whether my guest wifi is on or off.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:38 pm
by Swordforthelord
Make sure this is the procedure you're using to factory default the router (from the quick guide, abridged):

Hold the button before powering on the device, and at power up, the button will force load the backup boot
loader. Continue holding the button for the other two functions of this button.
Release the button when green LED starts flashing to reset RouterOS configuration.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:30 pm
by Stirliz
Same for me!

I have found my router with leds for link 2 and 4 and both pwr and usr leds on. Without wifi and internet access. However links were really up.
I powered the router off and on with no effect. Swithing the router on (without any network cables connected) resulted in only pwr led light. No other leds are even blinking since start.
No effect on reset button too. I held it for 6 minutes with no effect. usr led did not lit.
router is not seen in winbox

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:27 pm
by zlobster
NetInstall to the rescue?

Run NetInstall (check wiki) on a PC, power off router, press and hold the reset button, wait untill NetInstall detects the router, proceed as described in wiki.

I too thought my RB2011 was bricked beyond repair but now it's back from the dead. It seems MT's are hard to kill.

Re: New haP ac2 became a brick

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:20 am
by Stirliz
unfortunatelly no reaction in netinstall