Community discussions

 
nbctcp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:32 pm

RB951 Wifi slow but normal with cable

Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:00 am

DIAGRAM:
ISP < Mikrotik1 < Mikrotik2

PROBLEMS:
1.
speedtest.net to my ISP using wireless Mikrotik1 only got 5MB but if using cable got 18MB
2.
but if using wireless via Mikrotik2, I got normal 16MB

tq

[admin@MikroTik] > export
# oct/04/2018 09:28:09 by RouterOS 6.43.2
# software id = M40N-PGNH
#
# model = 951Ui-2HnD
# serial number = 643105AFCC07
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=E4:8D:8C:41:CA:E4 auto-mac=no comment=defconf fast-forward=no \
name=bridge
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] advertise=\
10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] advertise=\
10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] advertise=\
10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] advertise=\
10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] advertise=\
10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] amsdu-limit=2048 band=2ghz-g/n country=taiwan \
disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=2452 frequency-mode=\
regulatory-domain hide-ssid=yes mode=ap-bridge ssid=id5 tx-power-mode=\
all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11 wps-mode=disabled
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" \
group-ciphers=tkip,aes-ccm mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=id5 \
unicast-ciphers=tkip,aes-ccm wpa-pre-shared-key=password \
wpa2-pre-shared-key=password
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=10.0.10.101-10.0.10.200
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=10.0.10.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=10.0.10.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=10.0.10.0/24 comment=defconf dns-server=9.9.9.9 domain=ngtrain,com \
gateway=10.0.10.1 ntp-server=103.31.225.225
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=9.9.9.9,4.2.2.2
/ip dns static
add address=10.0.10.1 name=router.lan
/ip firewall address-list
add address=10.0.10.0/24 list=LAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="default configuration" \
out-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall service-port
set ftp disabled=yes
set sip disabled=yes
/ip hotspot service-port
set ftp disabled=yes
/ip route
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.20.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.30.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.40.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.50.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.60.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.80.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.90.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
add distance=1 dst-address=10.0.100.0/24 gateway=10.0.10.211
/ip service
set telnet disabled=yes
set ftp disabled=yes
set www disabled=yes
set api disabled=yes
set api-ssl disabled=yes
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Asia/Jakarta
/system routerboard settings
set silent-boot=no
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2929
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: RB951 Wifi slow but normal with cable

Thu Oct 04, 2018 12:16 pm

Are both of your mikrotiks same model? If yes, can you compare ouptut of
/interface wireless export
between both of them to check if thare are some differences in how WiFi is set-up on both.

One thing I'd change in your setup is tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed ... this typically doesn't work great at higher speeds and I'd change it to
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] tx-power-mode=default
Another thing: 951Ui-2nD is no high-performance beast. What is CPU usage while you're testing wifi throughput when connected to Mikrotik1? WiFi consumes quite some CPU, routing (done by Mikrotik1) as well, so it could be that CPU is a bottleneck here. Observe output of commands /system resource monitor and /tool profile ...
BR,
Metod
 
nbctcp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:32 pm

Re: RB951 Wifi slow but normal with cable

Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:34 pm

1. RESULT: 4.5MB
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] tx-power-mode=default

2. wireless export
Both same model and firmware

MIKROTIK1
> /interface wireless export
# oct/04/2018 17:25:21 by RouterOS 6.43.2
# software id = M40N-PGNH
# model = 951Ui-2HnD
# serial number = 643105AFCC07
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] amsdu-limit=2048 band=2ghz-g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce country=taiwan disabled=no distance=\
indoors frequency=auto frequency-mode=regulatory-domain hide-ssid=yes mode=ap-bridge ssid=id5 wireless-protocol=802.11 \
wps-mode=disabled
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" group-ciphers=tkip,aes-ccm mode=dynamic-keys \
supplicant-identity=id5 unicast-ciphers=tkip,aes-ccm wpa-pre-shared-key=password wpa2-pre-shared-key=password

MIKROTIK2
> /interface wireless export
# oct/04/2018 17:22:53 by RouterOS 6.43.2
# software id = 8EC1-0IGD
# model = 951Ui-2HnD
# serial number = 43CE02222B43
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n country="united states" default-authentication=no \
disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=2447 frequency-mode=regulatory-domain hw-retries=2 \
mode=ap-bridge ssid=id3 tx-power=30 tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11 \
wps-mode=disabled
/interface wireless nstreme
set wlan1 enable-nstreme=yes
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" group-ciphers=\
tkip,aes-ccm mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik unicast-ciphers=tkip,aes-ccm \
wpa-pre-shared-key=password wpa2-pre-shared-key=password
/interface wireless access-list
add comment="aan hp*" disabled=yes mac-address=14:DD:A9:A5:B3:15 vlan-mode=no-tag

3./system resource monitor and /tool profile
/system resource monitor
MIKROTIK1
> /system resource monitor
cpu-used: 9%
free-memory: 99856KiB

MIKROTIK2
> /system resource monitor
cpu-used: 4%
free-memory: 97452KiB

/tool profile
only 3 devices connect to each mikrotik
MIKROTIK1
> /tool profile
NAME CPU USAGE
wireless 0.5%
ethernet 0.5%
console 0.5%
firewall 0.5%
networking 0.5%
winbox 1%
management 5%
routing 0%
dhcp 0%
telnet 0%
bridging 0%
unclassified 1.5%
total 10%

MIKROTIK2
> /tool profile
NAME CPU USAGE
wireless 1%
ethernet 0%
console 0.5%
firewall 0.5%
networking 1%
winbox 1%
management 2%
profiling 0%
telnet 0%
bridging 0%
unclassified 1%
total 7%

Are both of your mikrotiks same model? If yes, can you compare ouptut of
/interface wireless export
between both of them to check if thare are some differences in how WiFi is set-up on both.

One thing I'd change in your setup is tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed ... this typically doesn't work great at higher speeds and I'd change it to
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] tx-power-mode=default
Another thing: 951Ui-2nD is no high-performance beast. What is CPU usage while you're testing wifi throughput when connected to Mikrotik1? WiFi consumes quite some CPU, routing (done by Mikrotik1) as well, so it could be that CPU is a bottleneck here. Observe output of commands /system resource monitor and /tool profile ...
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2929
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: RB951 Wifi slow but normal with cable

Thu Oct 04, 2018 2:31 pm

How's intereference situation? Mikrotik2 has fixed channel while Mikrotik has it set to auto....
WiFi settings on both APs are completely different (some of them might actually affect transmitted power). So why don't you just copy settings from Mikrotik2 over to Mikrotik1? If signal from both APs overlaps, you have to change frequency on one of them.

BTW, combination of settings on Mikrotik2 (country="united states", frequency=2447 and tx-power=30) is not legal. It might be legal in your country (whatever it might be) if settings on Mikrotik1 (country=taiwan) are correct.
BR,
Metod
 
nbctcp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:32 pm

Re: RB951 Wifi slow but normal with cable

Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:32 am

already copied Mikrotik2 config to Mikrotik1
change SSID name, password, frequency
RESULT: still 4.5MB speedtest.net with Mikrotik1 va Wifi
Mikrotik1 to Mikrotik2 connected through cable
Wifi speedtest via Mikrotik2 speed is 10MB-15MB
Both Mikrotik same model and current firmware. Difference only factory fw which Mikrotik1 is newer than Mikrotik2
Any more idea?
tq

/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] amsdu-limit=2048 band=2ghz-g/n country=taiwan default-authentication=no disabled=no distance=\
indoors frequency=2442 frequency-mode=regulatory-domain hide-ssid=yes mode=ap-bridge ssid=id5 tx-power=30 tx-power-mode=\
all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11 wps-mode=disabled
/interface wireless nstreme
set wlan1 enable-nstreme=yes
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" group-ciphers=tkip,aes-ccm mode=dynamic-keys \
supplicant-identity=MikroTik unicast-ciphers=tkip,aes-ccm wpa-pre-shared-key=password wpa2-pre-shared-key=\
password
/interface wireless access-list
add comment="aan hp*" disabled=yes mac-address=14:DD:A9:A5:B3:15 vlan-mode=no-tag

How's intereference situation? Mikrotik2 has fixed channel while Mikrotik has it set to auto....
WiFi settings on both APs are completely different (some of them might actually affect transmitted power). So why don't you just copy settings from Mikrotik2 over to Mikrotik1? If signal from both APs overlaps, you have to change frequency on one of them.

BTW, combination of settings on Mikrotik2 (country="united states", frequency=2447 and tx-power=30) is not legal. It might be legal in your country (whatever it might be) if settings on Mikrotik1 (country=taiwan) are correct.
 
nbctcp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:32 pm

Re: RB951 Wifi slow but normal with cable  [SOLVED]

Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:07 pm

CASE CLOSED:

SpeedTest Android App
Mikrotik1: 18MB

SpeedTest Windows App
Mikrotik1: 17MB

SpeedTest Windows Browser (Opera)
Mikrotik1: 4.5MB

SpeedTest website said to use windows app to get reliable connection.
When I tried that. I got similar result to Android app.
So I think. We should use SpeedTest app to get consistent result

tq

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests