Community discussions

 
User avatar
hgonzale
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:12 pm
Location: Fuengirola, Spain
Contact:

New "RB2011".... reloaded

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:03 pm

Now, you are "selling/creating" very nice and new equipment like RB3011, hEX etc etc
But the RB2011 still doesn't have a replacement.

For example the RB has 10 ports, one model with very good wifi (2.4.... but wifi) and option for -non- rack mount.

Are you planning to create a office/home powerfull router like this with the new requirement today. IpSEc hardware aceleration, 5 Ghz, 10 ports....

I know, exist https://mikrotik.com/product/RB2011iL-IN and maybe this is the answer with is more than the double in price than 2011....

If this is correct and this is the answer..... perfect, just to know!!!!
Thank youuuuuu
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded  [SOLVED]

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:19 pm

Upon your request, RB4011 has been announced on MikroTik frontpage: https://mikrotik.com/product/rb4011igs_5hacq2hnd_in
 
mTwUser
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:38 pm

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:29 pm

sadly it's not available yet... earlierst delivery date i found (EU): mid november
 
User avatar
hgonzale
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:12 pm
Location: Fuengirola, Spain
Contact:

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:43 pm

Yes. Thank you my friend. And the FULL reloaded is the 4011, but I was "waiting" some little cheaper (between 2011 and 4011) jajaja
But if this is the answer.. PERFECT...
Waiting in Europe for try it.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:44 pm

Available already (EU). 3 pcs rb4011 in service...
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:09 am

I would like to see a line with RB3011 power at RB2011 price (or maybe $10 more).
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 644
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:21 am

Do you really need router with 10 ports and wifi? Wouldn't it be easier to have stuff nicely separated? i.e. have router for routing, switch for switching, AP for wifi?
For example
- router will be probably hidden somewhere. It will never be positioned properly to utilize wifi coverage as much as possible. AP can be placed anywhere (ideally on ceiling, it is really big difference!)
- router usually have limited switching abilities so you will likely hit some unexpected issue.

To be specific:
- RB2011 has 5 ports limited to 100Mbit ethernet, other 5 ports and SFP cage share single 1Gbit line to CPU. That means any non-switched forwarding between two 1Gbit ports will be always limited to 1Gbit half-duplex speed! (Yes, I know it was not issue many years ago but now it is simply outdated)
- RB3011 still has port-flapping issue when you use 100Mbit device (for example printer) in group with 1Gbit devices.
- RB4011 has each group of 5 ports shared 2.5Gbit line. Not bad, but if you expect to utilize all ports, you will hit the limit. And you can't do wire-speed switching between separate groups of ports. In addition, RB4011 currently can't use switch chip for VLAN filtering.

It would be lovely to have some "universal" device but as far as I can see, every model from RBx011 range has some issues :(
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:48 am

Do you really need router with 10 ports and wifi? Wouldn't it be easier to have stuff nicely separated? i.e. have router for routing, switch for switching, AP for wifi?
For example
- router will be probably hidden somewhere. It will never be positioned properly to utilize wifi coverage as much as possible. AP can be placed anywhere (ideally on ceiling, it is really big difference!)
- router usually have limited switching abilities so you will likely hit some unexpected issue.

To be specific:
- RB2011 has 5 ports limited to 100Mbit ethernet, other 5 ports and SFP cage share single 1Gbit line to CPU. That means any non-switched forwarding between two 1Gbit ports will be always limited to 1Gbit half-duplex speed! (Yes, I know it was not issue many years ago but now it is simply outdated)
- RB3011 still has port-flapping issue when you use 100Mbit device (for example printer) in group with 1Gbit devices.
- RB4011 has each group of 5 ports shared 2.5Gbit line. Not bad, but if you expect to utilize all ports, you will hit the limit. And you can't do wire-speed switching between separate groups of ports. In addition, RB4011 currently can't use switch chip for VLAN filtering.

It would be lovely to have some "universal" device but as far as I can see, every model from RBx011 range has some issues :(
I have limited space and my RB2011 ports are full. I would like to see a desktop wireless product in the RB4011 price range with 4x 10G + 10x 1G (CRS-like with RB3011 power).
 
User avatar
hgonzale
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:12 pm
Location: Fuengirola, Spain
Contact:

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:04 am

It depends my friend, but yes.... for and "power house" like mine.... I have 10 used, now I am using a RB493 extra like AP and Switch but my 10 ports are FULL right know, and the CPU average is getting high with everyday more VPN (L2tp + IPsec) users and the internet speed is getting higher everyday....
Do you really need router with 10 ports and wifi? Wouldn't it be easier to have stuff nicely separated? i.e. have router for routing, switch for switching, AP for wifi?
For example
- router will be probably hidden somewhere. It will never be positioned properly to utilize wifi coverage as much as possible. AP can be placed anywhere (ideally on ceiling, it is really big difference!)
- router usually have limited switching abilities so you will likely hit some unexpected issue.

To be specific:
- RB2011 has 5 ports limited to 100Mbit ethernet, other 5 ports and SFP cage share single 1Gbit line to CPU. That means any non-switched forwarding between two 1Gbit ports will be always limited to 1Gbit half-duplex speed! (Yes, I know it was not issue many years ago but now it is simply outdated)
- RB3011 still has port-flapping issue when you use 100Mbit device (for example printer) in group with 1Gbit devices.
- RB4011 has each group of 5 ports shared 2.5Gbit line. Not bad, but if you expect to utilize all ports, you will hit the limit. And you can't do wire-speed switching between separate groups of ports. In addition, RB4011 currently can't use switch chip for VLAN filtering.

It would be lovely to have some "universal" device but as far as I can see, every model from RBx011 range has some issues :(
 
mTwUser
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:38 pm

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:50 am

Available already (EU). 3 pcs rb4011 in service...
he was talking about wifi though, the one with wifi is sadly not available yet
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5830
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:10 pm

I would like to see a line with RB3011 power at RB2011 price (or maybe $10 more).
I would like to see a router with CCR1072 performance at RB2011 price (and of course at RB2011 mains power usage).
But hey, not everything we would like to see is possible today. Maybe in 5 years?
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:32 pm

I would like to see a line with RB3011 power at RB2011 price (or maybe $10 more).
I would like to see a router with CCR1072 performance at RB2011 price (and of course at RB2011 mains power usage).
But hey, not everything we would like to see is possible today. Maybe in 5 years?
The RB2011 was released in 2012 and RB3011 in 2015. It would be normal to have 3011 power at 2011 price by now.
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: New "RB2011".... reloaded

Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:31 pm

Looking at the hAP ac2, it seems Mikrotik has abandoned the $100 CPE router market.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests