Community discussions

 
kep
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:15 am

Can PowerBox Pro support simultaneous multiple power inputs?

Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:20 am

Can a PowerBox Pro support multiple power inputs at the same time, i.e. PoE and DC jack?

Our hope is that we can have both plugged in so one is a failover for redundancy.
 
User avatar
IS0FFD
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:30 pm
Location: Sassari - Sardinia Island ITA

Re: Can PowerBox Pro support simultaneous multiple power inputs?

Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:37 am

Can a PowerBox Pro support multiple power inputs at the same time, i.e. PoE and DC jack?

Our hope is that we can have both plugged in so one is a failover for redundancy.
It also supports passive or standard 802.3at/af PoE input/output.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Can PowerBox Pro support simultaneous multiple power inputs?

Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:45 pm

Yes, you can use PoE and Jack at the same time, for redundancy. Just avoid using the exact same voltage on both.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 642
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: Can PowerBox Pro support simultaneous multiple power inputs?

Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:04 pm

Normis , could you please describe it slightly more? I am actually using similar setup with several hAP ac2 (PoE + DC, both 24V) for redundancy and I didn't notice any info against it.
What kind of issue is there and what are the consequences?
 
Askey307
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:20 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Can PowerBox Pro support simultaneous multiple power inputs?

Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:16 pm

Hi Normis

A bit more info would be appreciated. We also have quite few clients that runs 24v DC and 24v PoE up their units for redundancy. Never have we had problems that the units does not work, power failures or "burned" units.
 
whatever
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: Can PowerBox Pro support simultaneous multiple power inputs?

Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:14 pm

I think the device will always use the power input with the highest voltage. Having similar voltage on different inputs may cause flapping between them.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Can PowerBox Pro support simultaneous multiple power inputs?

Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:41 am

Yes, exactly what "whatever" said. Normally though, PoE will slightly drop voltage with longer cable, so Jack will be used.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 11 guests