Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Lyudmil
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:34 pm

GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:21 pm

I need to replace a GPON router (Huawai HG8245H) my ISP gave me. I want to continue using my rb951g-2hnd ethernet router (rock-solid).
I am looking at the Mikrotik GPON ONU module with a hope that I can get rid of the Huawai altogether.
In the specs for the GPON ONU module https://mikrotik.com/product/SFPONU#fnd ... ifications, I see it says all SFP products, all Router OS versions, plug and play. Great! So I should be able to use it in the RB260GS switch I plan to buy https://mikrotik.com/product/RB260GS. So far so good. However, the tricky part is that "all configuration will be done on the ISP side". Long story short, the ISP tech support is quite inadequate. If I get them to do anything, I will have to tell them precisely what to do.

I am wondering what would that configuration on the ISP side include? ONU ID and a password?

In the Huawai specs I see this for the GPON interface:
• Class B+
• Receiver sensitivity: -27dBm
• Wavelengths: US 1310nm, DS 1490nm
• WBF
• Flexible mapping between GEM Port and TCONT
• GPON: consistent with the SN or password
authentication defined in G.984.3
• Bi-directional FEC
• SR-DBA and NSR-DBA

I am not sure if the physical connectors are compatible and if the Mikrotik GPON ONU module will autodetect the wavelengths.
Thanks!
 
User avatar
RusConSPb
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 4:17 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:27 pm

Hi,

most ISP use autoprovision for EPON and GPON equipment, so it should be supported by end user devices (in most cases same brand as ISP equipment). Can you ask your ISP which model of GPON OLT (optical line terminal) they use? Are they ready to do manual setting for you instead of autoprovision?
 
mohands
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:23 am

Re: GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:02 pm

I have the same issue, I have purchased the HAP AC and GPON ONU module I have same your story and everything is done by my ISP side, and if it is not working with GPON module, I can't persuade them to give me the manual configuration or the username and password of the line. the trick is to let the gpon works like the huwaei one.

this is my configuration
Image
 
sterod
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:13 am

Re: GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:17 pm

You are going to need a Huawei SFP GPON. I had a similar problem where my ISP (Bell Canada) issued a Nokia (Alcatel) ONT with an integrated GPON that was not removable. I tried the MikroTik SFP GPON and it simply would not work. I had to buy an Alcatel SFP GPON in order for it to work, and I also had to provide Bell with the SFP SN so they could add it to the account whitelist. Bell Canada locks out GPON's which are not authorized on their network.
 
mohands
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:23 am

Re: GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:52 am

is there any option to change the serial number of the sfp gpon onu module to deceive the isp
 
sterod
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:13 am

Re: GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:26 am

You can't change the serial number on the MikroTik SFP GPON. There is a guy in spain that offers a programmable SFP GPON, which you can set your own serial number on, but that won't help you if his SFP GPON doesn't run the proper chipset to match the ONU on the other provider end, usually Huawei or Alacatel-Lucent.
 
mohands
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:23 am

Re: GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:03 am

mine is huawei, so i expect it will run
 
Lukasz032
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: GPON ONU module to replace ISP GPON router

Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:59 pm

that won't help you if his SFP GPON doesn't run the proper chipset
It's not the chipset, it's the vendor-specific OMCI extensions that make this failing. GPON itself is created with interoperability in mind, some vendors are ignoring that fact though.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests