Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
fastblue
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:04 am

RBwAPR-2nd w/ R11e-LTE-US [SOLVED]

Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:00 pm

SOLVED: AT&T gave me a defective SIM the first time. You also need to have the SIM activated in a more conventional device before using it in the MT.

So I bought one of the wAP LTE kits without a modem card in it, and purchased an R11e-LTE-US for it. I'm trying to use an AT&T sim, and just having no luck. The LTE interface is shown, but will not Run no matter what I do.

Factory firmware on the board was 3.39. I have updated to 6.43.4.
Factory RouterOS was 6.39.2. I have updated to 6.43.4.

Steps taken:
Update RouterOS to 6.43.4. LTE interface now visible.
Verify and enter APN information for AT&T.
Attempt to add dhcp-client to LTE interface. lte1 not listed as an interface to add a client to in winbox.
Use console to add dhcp-client to lte1. "no such interface"
Scan LTE. "Couldn't start - modem isn't configured yet(6)"
Last edited by fastblue on Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RBwAPR-2nd w/ R11e-LTE-US

Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:43 pm

enable the system logging topic "lte,!raw" and then check the logs what does it report.
What APN are you using?
 
fastblue
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:04 am

Re: RBwAPR-2nd w/ R11e-LTE-US

Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:05 pm

I'm using the APN "ATT Broadband", where the actual APN is "broadband".

The log repeats forever, so I grabbed one full segment from start to fail.

Jan/02/1970 01:41:07 lte,async lte1: sent AT E0 V1
Jan/02/1970 01:41:07 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:07 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CFUN=4
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async,event +CREG: 0
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async,event +CGREG: 0
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async,event +CGEV: ME DETACH
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CMEE=2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CREG=2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CGREG=2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CEREG=2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CGEREP=2,0
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CMGF=0
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CNMI=1,1,0,1,0
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CFUN=1
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd OK
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CPIN?
Jan/02/1970 01:41:09 lte,async lte1: rcvd +CPIN: READY
Jan/02/1970 01:41:10 lte,async,event +CREG: 2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:10 lte,async,event +CGREG: 2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:10 lte,async,event +CREG: 1,"BB7","8680552", 2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:12 lte,async,event +CGREG: 1,"BB7","8680552",2
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CPMS="SM","SM","SM"
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: rcvd +CPMS: 0,30,0,30,0,30
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CFUN?
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: rcvd +CFUN: 1
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CNUM
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: rcvd
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CIMI
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: rcvd <MY_IMSI>
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: sent AT+ICCID
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: rcvd ICCID: <MY_ICCID>
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: sent AT+CPIN?
Jan/02/1970 01:41:13 lte,async lte1: rcvd +CPIN: READY
Jan/02/1970 01:41:15 lte,async lte1: sent AT+COPS=0,0,,7
Jan/02/1970 01:41:15 lte,async lte1: rcvd ERROR
Jan/02/1970 01:41:15 lte,error lte1: setting network mode failed

EDIT>
I noticed on the status tab for the lte1 interface Functionality is flipping back and forth between "full" and "tx and rc rf disabled" every few seconds.

Image
Image
 
BitHaulers
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:23 am

Re: RBwAPR-2nd w/ R11e-LTE-US [SOLVED]

Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:57 pm

The title to this thread says solved, but I don't see what the solution was?

I see this error on SIMs that work in other devices. I see it with the US Version, the INT Version, and with Quectels using the LTE interface. It's really hit and miss, and I'd like to get a solution in place.

I'll have a SIM that works just fine, then this error happens, and it won't work again in that device. Sometimes the SIM works in other devices, sometimes the SIM seems bricked.
 
unematt
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 6:22 pm

Re: RBwAPR-2nd w/ R11e-LTE-US [SOLVED]

Thu May 07, 2020 5:23 pm

I am having the same problem with my r11e-LTE-US. I am using ATT, I got everything working perfectly, was working on testing NAT rules and it stopped working correctly. Traffic was not getting routed or something. So I cleared the RB and started over. Card never worked again. I called ATT and they say the sim card comes 'online' and downloads a profile.
From my end the ppp interface doesn't show up my default anymore, when I add it it changes addresses every 3 seconds. Also only 1 serial port shows up from the card, I thought I saw 2 before.

When I look at the log I get the same error as above:
sent AT+COPS=0,0,,7
rcvd ERROR
setting network mode failed

Is there a way to reset the LTE card??

I was hoping to deploy this quickly (thats why I chose the mikrotik card)
 
User avatar
krafg
Member
Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: RBwAPR-2nd w/ R11e-LTE-US [SOLVED]

Sat May 09, 2020 10:30 am

Update RouterOS and check that your APN profile is OK.

Regards.
If you want to know my network, you can find it here.

Image
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: RBwAPR-2nd w/ R11e-LTE-US [SOLVED]

Fri May 15, 2020 12:21 am

and remember that AT&T can give you a connection but without any internet access. Even can block you sim card if they detect the device who is not phone.
Remember to check your AT&T PLAN !
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests