Community discussions

 
jko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:23 am

Can I connect "internet" to other than Port 1 on the hEX PoE?

Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:47 am

The hEX PoE documents port 1 as "internet" and ports 2-5 as "LAN". Only ports 2-5 support PoE out.

Is port 1 in some way special with respect to routing, on either hardware or OS level? Can I connect my upstream network to ports 2-5 instead? The block diagram at least shows all ports connected to the same gigabit switch.

I'm looking for something that can supply 802.3af/at power to an LTE router (Zyxel LTE7460), wondering if hEX PoE can do that.
 
User avatar
fmarais007
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:16 am

Re: Can I connect "internet" to other than Port 1 on the hEX PoE?

Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:38 pm

Hi,

This is just the default config that ships with RouterOS.
You will either need to modify this, or reset config with no defaults and setup your own network.

Any port can be used for anything on RouterOS, except obviously if it doesn't do POE out it won't.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Can I connect "internet" to other than Port 1 on the hEX PoE?

Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:05 pm

configuration wise, the internet port is the one that has a DHCP client on it, a firewall, and some NAT rules.
the LAN ports are in a bridge, and the bridge has a DHCP server on it.

You can set any other ports to do the same things, you can even have multiple internet ports in any order.

Here is some more info on how devices are configured https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:D ... igurations
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jebz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Can I connect "internet" to other than Port 1 on the hEX PoE?

Fri Nov 23, 2018 1:56 pm

The hEX PoE documents port 1 as "internet" and ports 2-5 as "LAN". Only ports 2-5 support PoE out.
Is port 1 in some way special with respect to routing, on either hardware or OS level? Can I connect my upstream network to ports 2-5 instead?
If you have a current ROS version remove port 5 from the bridge. Add a DHCP client to port 5 and srcnat to port 5. Add firewall rules for port 5 internet connection.
Use port 5 for connection to your PoE modem.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests