Community discussions

 
User avatar
0012nish
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:15 pm

RB4011 POE problem

Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:14 pm

Hello,
I've just got my first RB4011 and it works fine except the port 10 which is POE port, wich give the rate of 10Mbps with POE
any idea..
Nizar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:21 pm

Didn't notice before, but I have the same issue: RB4011 <=> cAP ac autoneg 100Mbps, non-autoneg 1Gpbs.
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:33 pm

Are you guys(?) using GB compatible POE injectors?
https://mikrotik.com/product/RBGPOE
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:41 pm

Are you guys(?) using GB compatible POE injectors?
https://mikrotik.com/product/RBGPOE
I think they are talking POE out, not in.
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
User avatar
0012nish
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:04 pm

Yes, I'm using POE out !!
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:28 pm

My bad: no injectors involved. Have you checked with support, as that's hardware related?
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:37 pm

I'm also using an RB4011, ether10 is PoE powering an hAP AC correctly. What hardware are you using on port 10?
 
User avatar
0012nish
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:05 pm

I'm using an Aerohive AP
 
storp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:53 pm

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:31 am

Haven't seen the problem, I'm powering a cAP without any problems with PoE out from port10 on a RB4011. But the cAP only have 100Mb port.
 
Quindor
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RB4011 POE problem  [SOLVED]

Sun Nov 25, 2018 4:17 am

I'm using an Aerohive AP
Wait, does that device even support powering using Passive POE? I can see it supporting active POE over mode A, not passive/mode B.

Maybe it does but only using 100Mbit but can't find anything about it being officially supported for your device.

There is a difference between mode A and mode B POE, they use different cables and can cause different connection speeds if mixed incorrectly. Worst case they fry equipment! For more information about the differences, I wrote a bit about there here a while back.
http://www.campzone.nl World's Largest Outdoor LANParty, http://intermit.tech Intermittend Technology blog, My blog about the ESP8266, IP Camera's and other tech related subjects!
 
User avatar
0012nish
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: RB4011 POE problem

Mon Nov 26, 2018 10:03 pm

I'm using an Aerohive AP
Wait, does that device even support powering using Passive POE? I can see it supporting active POE over mode A, not passive/mode B.

Maybe it does but only using 100Mbit but can't find anything about it being officially supported for your device.

There is a difference between mode A and mode B POE, they use different cables and can cause different connection speeds if mixed incorrectly. Worst case they fry equipment! For more information about the differences, I wrote a bit about there here a while back.
Yes, it looks like you are right :( unfortunately MT poe is Passive while Aerohive is Active.
Thank you

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 9 guests