Community discussions

 
n4p
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:54 pm

Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:22 pm

Hi there,
i need to connect an hap ac lite to an poe+ switch. As far as i know this would not work, because the hap ac only uses passive poe and not poe+.
Is there any way to disable the poe in on the hap ac lite that i still can connect them?

Thanks
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:45 pm

I assume you refer to 802.3af/at as POE+.
In this case, the power supplied by a POE+ switch is negotiated, meaning that it will not supply power to devices which are not able to negotiate it according to that standard (like the hap lite). So it is safe to assume that you can connect your hap lite to the switch without issues, it just will not get any power via ethernet.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
n4p
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:50 pm

yes,
switch uses 802.3af/at standart.
But it's not correctly working if i connect the hap ac lite to the switch. The switch try to power the hap ac lite which is show by the poe led on the switch. The hap ac lite did not power on.
As far as we know 802.3xxx is not compatible with passive poe.

And if i connect the mikrotik powerplug for the hap ac, it ends with permanently rebooting. Router starts and 3 Minutes later it restarts.
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:55 pm

That means that either one, or both devices don't play according to standards. But there could be a workaround: place a passive POE injector at the hap end, without powering it, or even power the hap via that injector. It has a separating transformer inside, that will prevent DC to flow between the devices.
Last edited by docmarius on Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
n4p
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:57 pm

Ah,
that's a nice idea i will give it a try!
Thanks!

GSW-1600HP is the switch i prepared with this setup.
 
User avatar
Melody5781
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:53 am

Ah,
that's a nice idea i will give it a try!
Thanks!

GSW-1600HP is the switch i prepared with this setup.
Still, you can buy adapters or you buy a UBNT PoE switch which supports passive PoE as a port option.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:09 pm

Ah,
that's a nice idea i will give it a try!
Thanks!

GSW-1600HP is the switch i prepared with this setup.
Still, you can buy adapters or you buy a UBNT PoE switch which supports passive PoE as a port option.
Mikrotik has equal switch.
https://mikrotik.com/product/crs328_24p_4s_rm
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:20 pm

Or replace the hap ac lite with something supporting 802.3af/at, which is cheaper than buying a $400 switch, and throw out an existing $250 one?
The AF adapter solution comes with a price tag at around 30$.
A RBPOE adapter costs $5 and allows, if needed, POE for the hAP, from a separate power supply...

@n4p: Regarding the 3 min reboot: are you sure it isn't a watchdog issue? If it is electrical, it should manifest itself immediately, not after such a long (in electrical terms) time.

To go one step further:
A purpose built homemade ethernet patch cord connecting only pairs 1-2 and 3-6 would also do the trick, since non-gigabit passive POE uses pairs 4-5 and 7-8. This would mean either operating on a regular patch chord cutting into the external insulation and clipping the blue and the brown pair, or built one from scratch.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
muetzekoeln
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Wed Dec 26, 2018 8:54 pm

I am powering a hAP AC from a Cisco SG250 (SG250-08HP). Works like a charm, although it should not work by the datasheet.
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Connect hap ac lite to poe+ switch

Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:31 pm

I am powering a hAP AC from a Cisco SG250 (SG250-08HP). Works like a charm, although it should not work by the datasheet.
Hap ac is active POe capable HAP ac Lite is not

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests