Community discussions

 
User avatar
digin4
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:18 pm

Can the hAP ac² act as a router?

Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:09 pm

Hello, can the hAP ac² act as a router instead of an access point? I want it to act as a DHCP server and use firewall nat rules.
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 644
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: Can the hAP ac² act as a router?  [SOLVED]

Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:59 pm

Yes it can :) any mikrotik running RouterOS can act as router with firewall, NAT, DHCP, Queues, VPN, etc etc..
That is true for every model except CSS range (which feature SwOS)
hAP ac2 actually comes with factory default setting as router+ap. Your WAN will be predefined on eth1 while wifi and eth2-eth5 will work as LAN. You can of course reconfigure it in any way you can imagine.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Can the hAP ac² act as a router?

Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:35 pm

It doesn't need to act, because it already is a router out of the box (and has some firewall and NAT rules pre-configured already, for your convenience).
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: Can the hAP ac² act as a router?

Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:53 pm

Hello, can the hAP ac² act as a router instead of an access point? I want it to act as a DHCP server and use firewall nat rules.

Exactly what it is designed for
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests