Community discussions

 
Babujnik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:15 pm

Powerline with 1gbit

Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:19 pm

Hey,

are you planning to release powerline adapter (like https://mikrotik.com/product/pwr_line_ap) but with gigabit interface ?
I would be really interested in such solution :)
 
52516
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:16 pm

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:46 pm

have tried other company's product(TP-link),speed is not stable enough.
 
Babujnik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:15 pm

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:10 pm

I'm having Fritz! PLC, and works fine.
But there is no chance of monitoring devices unless you're plugged in directly. having it on RouterOS would definitely help and allow for other functionality :)
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 642
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:23 am

wow, I don't want to see the interference produced by 1Gbit flowing via non-twisted and non-shielded wiring...
How is it possible that these things even get certification? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kyYeTWHUnUk
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:57 pm

Those devices barely reach 100 mbps in practice. Mine achieve 20mbps (connected to single phase). So Gigabit sounds unlikely. Still flexibility coming from ROS is worth more than raw speed to me at least
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
Babujnik
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 2:15 pm

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:10 pm

depends on your electric infrastructure. i can easily get 300mbps between two Fritz devices. and utilizing 100mbps when my ISP gives me 250mbps is a huge loss
 
ofer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 11:45 am

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:19 pm

they make a decent enough devices https://www.devolo.com/
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Thu Mar 07, 2019 5:26 pm

they make a decent enough devices https://www.devolo.com/
Though I'm afraid nobody except MikroTik makes managed powerline adapters. I'm tunneling 3 VLANs using PWR-Line with IPSec EoIP over pwr-line interface for additional security.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1713
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:05 am

they make a decent enough devices https://www.devolo.com/
Though I'm afraid nobody except MikroTik makes managed powerline adapters. I'm tunneling 3 VLANs using PWR-Line with IPSec EoIP over pwr-line interface for additional security.
will be nice to see how much throughput can you achieve with so small cpu and IPSEC EoIP
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:22 am

they make a decent enough devices https://www.devolo.com/
Though I'm afraid nobody except MikroTik makes managed powerline adapters. I'm tunneling 3 VLANs using PWR-Line with IPSec EoIP over pwr-line interface for additional security.
will be nice to see how much throughput can you achieve with so small cpu and IPSEC EoIP
Like I said 20 mbps over wifi from powerline but it seems that CPU is not bottlenecking since it's almost idling. I actually downclocked it to 500mhz. CPU it has included is insanely overkill for this kind of device (it's full MIPSBE, not some SMIPS). I'll try to make some measurements directly eth-eth over powerline (no wifi) later. I used to use IPSec EoIP with hAP lite before which is SMIPS and it still was quite fine though CPU load was high during heavier traffic. 10/100 is not that much traffic tbh. Even with IPSec. PWR-Line should be around as fast as RB2011 so it should be able to reach almost gigabit with fasttrack if it wasn't for 10/100 ports so this CPU is probably bored as hell.

Some stats for those who are interested:
- I have around 20 mbps throughput over wifi, over powerline single phase with IPSec EoIP.
- With varying load around 2kW on average in circuit from various servers, PCs and other stuff.
- CPU doesn't seem to sweat too much.
- around 3-5ms ping between powerlines. Around 0.5ms ping over ethernet to uplink CCR1009.
- for comparison at my home 2.4 wifi achieves 13-40ms pings with 8ms being absolute top 5% so worst case powerline is much better than best case wifi (that's mostly why I use powerlines, as my load is in some cases quite latency sensitive (eg. low latency audio streaming and NAS access))
- I'm NOT using fasttrack and I DO use full firewall with several hundred rules and bridge-ip-firewall (since effectively those powerlines are creating 3 bridges for 3 VLANs) so in general config is quite heavy.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Powerline with 1gbit

Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:49 pm

TP-Link has downloadable configuration utility that shows to connection speed. Use Wireshark to see how it gathers its data.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests