Community discussions

 
Tuhin
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:56 pm

How much bandwidth can be controlled using RB750GR3?

Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:42 am

I am going to buy a RB750GR3 for my home network. But I am not sure about the maximum bandwidth amount it can handle. Can anyone please help me about this. My home internet connection from ISP is 100mbps. Will it be any problem for this router. TIA
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 642
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: How much bandwidth can be controlled using RB750GR3?

Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:19 am

Maximum bandwidth which RB750Gr3 can handle is 1,972.2 Mbps (for details see https://mikrotik.com/product/RB750Gr3#fndtn-testresults)
That is the simple and exact answer to your question. That is the number, which should be compared with any other manufacturers or models.

However, in reality you can never achieve exact same result because you are not using it in laboratory with very specific conditions.
Based on how many features you use, the number may vary greatly:
- If you use current firmware and default configuration (which is secure and sufficient for most of home users), you should not feel any limitation on 100Mbps - this model can achieve almost full wire speed with default config (almost 10 times more)
- If you start playing with config (which is great fun but also great responsibility) and do some mistake, you may find that your device struggles to get even fraction of that speed. That can happen despite the fact there is more than enough spare power to handle 100Mbit. This is the price for being able to configure almost anything...

If you find out that your device is not performing good enough (typically you will see too high CPU usage while bandwidth is still low), feel free to ask for advice here on forum. Usually it is not hard to spot a mistake in the config. :)

edit: DISCLAIMER: above answer is given for question "I am going to buy a RB750GR3 for my home network". After answering this, I noticed that you asked similar question in other topics and you actually wanted to serve 100-200 users with queues and vlans. That is way way above usual "home network" needs and you will most likely have to adjust the default config a lot. That means I cannot guarantee what speed you will really achieve. As said earlier, there is a lot of spare power but with queues and vlans, you will have to be careful to not misconfigure things.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1682
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: How much bandwidth can be controlled using RB750GR3?

Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:55 am

with
NAT
FIlter Rules
complex QoS Mangle packet and connection marking and queuing

60-75 mbps off users internet traffic without problem
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 642
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: How much bandwidth can be controlled using RB750GR3?

Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:06 am

@chechito
I am pretty confident he should achieve more unless he stuffs up.
I simulated it on RB951G(1*600MHz) instead of RB750Gr3 (2*880MHz) and I reached continuous 100Mbps with TCP iPerf. To be precise, the config was similar as the one you described (basic NAT and firewall, software bridge, no fast-track/fastpath and a simple queue high enough it will consume the CPU but won't limit the transfer itself)

I am sure that fasttrack would improve the result significantly but my idea was to avoid any features which might later interfere with something else and might need to be disabled.
I also couldn't spend much time on playing with it so I didn't try any optimizations and I didn't play with vlans. I guess it would perform better if the bridge was removed (for ISP-style config, bridge is not necessary anyway)

test config for reference:
[admin@MikroTik] > /export hide-sensitive 
# feb/25/2019 07:04:54 by RouterOS 6.42.3
# software id 
#
# model = 951G-2HnD
# serial number
/interface bridge
add fast-forward=no name=bridge1
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] ssid=MikroTik
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge1 name=defconf
/queue simple
add max-limit=200M/200M name=queue1 target=""
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 hw=no interface=ether2
/interface bridge settings
set allow-fast-path=no
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge1 list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge1 network=192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" disabled=yes in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" connection-state=established,related disabled=yes
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf:  drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
However, if its true that he want's the old HEX (second cheapest router in the range) for starting an ISP business and not for home purpose, I can just facepalm... The HW is not designed for such task and due to all extra requirements, it will barely support the current uplink speed. In the end, I am afraid it won't bring anything than complaining users which will spread bad word and destroy his reputation. On the other hand, if he is going to start with just few users and learn on it while growing the network, its probably safest choice. In the worst case, if he gives up in month or two, it won't hurt so much.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1682
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: How much bandwidth can be controlled using RB750GR3?

Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:09 pm

@ vecernik87

my scenario is this (small wisp installation):
RB750GR3
155 CUSTOMERS
4 NAT RULES
27 IP FILTER RULES
96 MANGLE RULES (FOR QoS)
1.846 QUEUE SIMPLES
ALMOST 8.000 CONNECTIONS ON CONNECTION TRACKING TABLE
75 MBPS TOTAL TRAFFIC AT PEAK HOUR (summ of downlaod and upload)
31% TOTAL AVERAGE CPU USAGE
50% CPU USAGE ON MOST TAXED CORE

Because this cpu is 2C/4T (Dual Core/Quad Thread)
I interpret 50% of CPU usage in a core on this CPU as 90-100% of CPU usage on a normal CPU with 1 thread per core

I think in this scenario rb750Gr3 is close to be maxed out

Looking to upgrade with a rb4011
Last edited by chechito on Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1682
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: How much bandwidth can be controlled using RB750GR3?

Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:18 pm

@ vecernik87

i have another scenario with a rb951g (home environment)
RB951G
1 CUSTOMERS
18 devices connected wired and wireless
4 NAT RULES
14 IP FILTER RULES
115 MANGLE RULES (FOR QoS)
20 RULES QUEUE TREE
ALMOST 200 CONNECTIONS ON CONNECTION TRACKING TABLE
35 MBPS TOTAL TRAFFIC AT PEAK HOUR (sum of download and upload)
65% TOTAL AVERAGE CPU USAGE (MOST TRAFFIC WIRED)

in this scenario i think rb951g can escalate to almost 50 mbps of traffic
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2936
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: How much bandwidth can be controlled using RB750GR3?

Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:51 pm

Hmmm not sure what your numbers are revealing but I recently went to a 1 gig service.
With that I could see my hex top out around 400megs.................. my RB450Gx4 got me into the 900 megs range...................
(speed tests (speedtest app from ookla) from ISP mobile to ISP broadband (same network), and very similar results using dslreports speed test.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests