Community discussions

 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:03 pm

This thing looks great from the inside. I'm just guessing, but the photos i was able to take in Vienna tell some story. now here's my theory: It is very likely this box is built around QCA6335 baseband, which has support 8 (!) phased array antennas. if you look closely, you can see the unpopulated power headers for the QCA6310 (most probably, i was never brave enough to pry the small squares out from their beds) RF stages - the red/black wires, 4 on the top, 4 on the bottom left side. the RF connectors are on the backside, and most probably only 3 of them are populated with the appropriate RF connector.
also, the silkscreen says 60Gx8 which is quite a hint that supports my theory.

i'd like to see real life results with this thing, especially with clients spaced so widely apart, they can connect only to separate antenna arrays.

i love the simplicity of this, love the excellent price point. the only thing i might change here would be to add a 2nd ethernet port, or a NBASE-T so we could later enjoy 1Gbps+ speeds if the modulation scheme will surpass MCS8, but that would surely increase the costs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
#TR0359
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:38 pm

Also "CH0 5G" - 5GHz backup, unpopulated again
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:53 pm

Also "CH0 5G" - 5GHz backup, unpopulated again
they are digging their own grave!
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:19 am

they are digging their own grave!
sub 6GHz is not always necessary. we have a reasonably big - 145 links in one of the networks - 60GHz routed mesh (with a different equipment) without any 5GHz backup links, without any problems.
#TR0359
 
joegoldman
Member
Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:41 am

I'd love to try 60ghz out in some of our busier areas mostly because 5ghz is super noisy.

How wide are the channels, and how much spectrum can be accessed by these devices? i.e. since each chip can only hand 8 stations (so thats 24 clients per wAP 60Gx3) how many of these could I comfortably run on a tower before interfering with each other?

My other concern is rain fade - our primary market at the moment is in a tropical area, and my 24ghz kits (AirFibers) have suffered total rain fade over just 2-3km (these should be good for 10+).

I would plan on doing 60ghz only within 500m of the base station, but at 500m in torrential rain can I expect downtime?
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:44 am

I'd love to try 60ghz out in some of our busier areas mostly because 5ghz is super noisy.
Wap has 3 Antenna Elements but uses only one Channel, the maximum is 8 Clients not 24.

All distances over 150m with WAP to WAP. Or WAP to sXT needs 5 GHz Backup, with LHG with more then 500m, but they need it too. So why in the hell they don’t make it useable? For my business it is impossible to offer connection that drops in rain or snow
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:00 pm

For WAPs and mesh targeted hardware, it's not that important, but LHGs should have had 5GHz backup from the beginning!
It's a shame LHGs still doesn't have backup radio. There is even place for all the RF chips on the board, but it's not populated.
It probably failed to pass FCC tests or there is some similar stupid reason why it was never used (extra cost?!)...
But now that Ubiquity will offer 60+5GHz hardware, there is no reason why Mikrotik should stay behind and do nothing. Wake up!
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: wAP 60Gx3 AP - anyone already tested it?

Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:47 pm

Wap has 3 Antenna Elements but uses only one Channel, the maximum is 8 Clients not 24.

All distances over 150m with WAP to WAP. Or WAP to sXT needs 5 GHz Backup, with LHG with more then 500m, but they need it too. So why in the hell they don’t make it useable? For my business it is impossible to offer connection that drops in rain or snow
mesh setups have short link lengths compared to p2p links. in our case the mean link length is 65m. the longest links are just over 270m long. more than 1/3rd are shorter than 50m.
rain and snow is no issue. the only killer thing is wet foliage or when the radome ices over [this last one is theoretic cause it did not happen during winther].

the client number is a limitation on the Qualcomm baseband. you can read about it here: http://www.atlantikelektronik.de/filead ... -Brief.pdf
if you'd need more stations connecting simultaneously to the phased array antennas, you'll need more basebands. the combo offered by the regular wap60G is a single baseband paired with a single antenna array. this one supports more antenna arrays, but this fact doesn't magically squeezes more juice out of it. you're still limited by the 1Gbps ethernet port and by the airtime. switching beamforming patterns takes up precious airtime, even up to 10%, when switching between 8 clients. the more clients you have connected, the more airtime you waste.

the other thing is, that in mesh situation you are also limited by the homes/buildings you can reach. your device will be close to them, so a FOV of 60 degrees will not give you more than 2-4 homes in rural environment. but if you consider that your next sector will be just 40-60m apart, this ain't no issue. so you might not be able to squeeze that much customers into a single sector anyway.
#TR0359

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests