Community discussions

 
skdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:07 pm

CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:45 am

Hello,
after replacing Zyxel GS1900-24HP with CRS328 (nothing changed except poe switch, same cabling etc) I experienced these problems with poe:
  • maximum current delivered to powerbox pro (any device) is approx 350mA ~ 19W. If more that 2 poe device connected to PBoxPro (RB960PGS-PB), CRS port is overloaded ("poe-status: overload" in CRS log) and port/device is restared, If I switch back to zyxel everything went ok.
  • ether2 port on cAP ac is unusable for PoE, is showed like "powered" but no poe device attached to this port is powered (not even poe splitter), port on CRS is not overloaded. Docs stated that ether2 port is passive PoE only, but with zyxel fwds PoE to splitter or 802.3af device w/o problems.
I tested all combinations for poe port on CRS (auto on/forced on, poe voltage low/high) without success.
It seems like CRS328 is operating only as 802.3af. Is there any way to force port to 802.3at/PoE+?
edit: checked specs for RB960PGS-PB, on webpage is Poe in: passive PoE only, but description in newsletter is: "It also supports passive or standard 802.3at/af PoE input/output". Little bit confusing.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 7:05 am

I have this also. I have 3 Hikvision camera's nothing is wrong en working fine.
But Grandstream camera's don't work and the CRS328 Give error overload.
I have made i supout.rif and send this to Mikrotik.
I have also the Zyxel GS1920-24HP and everything works fine.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
rushlife
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:15 pm

hi, you must set PoE Out : to "forced ON"
I have this errors on couple of my switches but this was always solution for me.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:12 pm

I am powering up two RC1100AHx2 through one CRS328 (different ports). So, it does support passive PoE.

BUT, did you check the load on the port?
https://mikrotik.com/product/crs328_24p_4s_rm

Max out per port output (input > 30 V) 450 mA
Max out per port output (input < 30 V) 1000 mA

I think You really are overloading the port.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:23 pm

Yes i think so. Grandstream use 802.3af PoE
Greatings
 
skdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:39 pm

https://mikrotik.com/product/crs328_24p_4s_rm

Max out per port output (input > 30 V) 450 mA
Max out per port output (input < 30 V) 1000 mA

I think You really are overloading the port.
Yes, I checked it, and also I check same page with text: "CRS328-24P-4S+RM is a 28 independent port switch, it has 24 Gigabit Ethernet ports, which offer different power output options: Passive PoE, low voltage PoE, 802.3af/at (Type 1 “PoE” / Type 2 “PoE+”) with auto-sensing.", 802.3at PoE+ is 30W on PSE, approx. 25W on PD. There are these options:
  • option 1: CRS328 is NOT PoE+, 802.3at
  • option 2: stated max out per port is wrong (if voltage 52V (supplied voltage by my CRS328), than 0,45x52 = ~23W, if we count with 57V (IEEE limit) = ~25W)), 23W or 25W is completely out of 802.3af/class0 specs (15W PSE/13W PD), 23W is something we can check with low voltage option, 24 x 1A = 24W on PSE
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:07 pm

https://mikrotik.com/product/crs328_24p_4s_rm

Max out per port output (input > 30 V) 450 mA
Max out per port output (input < 30 V) 1000 mA

I think You really are overloading the port.
Yes, I checked it, and also I check same page with text: "CRS328-24P-4S+RM is a 28 independent port switch, it has 24 Gigabit Ethernet ports, which offer different power output options: Passive PoE, low voltage PoE, 802.3af/at (Type 1 “PoE” / Type 2 “PoE+”) with auto-sensing.", 802.3at PoE+ is 30W on PSE, approx. 25W on PD. There are these options:
  • option 1: CRS328 is NOT PoE+, 802.3at
  • option 2: stated max out per port is wrong (if voltage 52V (supplied voltage by my CRS328), than 0,45x52 = ~23W, if we count with 57V (IEEE limit) = ~25W)), 23W or 25W is completely out of 802.3af/class0 specs (15W PSE/13W PD), 23W is something we can check with low voltage option, 24 x 1A = 24W on PSE
You said:
"maximum current delivered to powerbox pro (any device) is approx 350mA ~ 19W. If more that 2 poe device connected to PBoxPro (RB960PGS-PB), CRS port is overloaded ("poe-status: overload" in CRS log) and port/device is restared, If I switch back to zyxel everything went ok."

I may have misunderstood you, but It looked to me that your powerbox was drawing 350mA before You plugged something more in it. Given the limit of 450mA/port, I think it is quite easy to exceed them, with this setup. It would need just 2 x 2,5W devices to get there.
 
skdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:41 pm

You said:
"maximum current delivered to powerbox pro (any device) is approx 350mA ~ 19W. If more that 2 poe device connected to PBoxPro (RB960PGS-PB), CRS port is overloaded ("poe-status: overload" in CRS log) and port/device is restared, If I switch back to zyxel everything went ok."

I may have misunderstood you, but It looked to me that your powerbox was drawing 350mA before You plugged something more in it. Given the limit of 450mA/port, I think it is quite easy to exceed them, with this setup. It would need just 2 x 2,5W devices to get there.
My fault, RB960PGS draws about 7W, if I plug one device to RB960, everything is ok (ip camera, 7W), if one more plugged (eg. ip camera, 7 + 7 + 7 = 21W), port is overloaded. Funny thing about ip cams: by day is everything ok (consuming 6-7W), but in night with IR on camera (9-10W per camera), CRS port is overloaded and restarted.
If RB960PGS powered from Zyxel PoE switch, with truly 802.3at, class4 maximum (30W) is delivered to RB960 and everything went ok.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:10 pm

I may have misunderstood you, but It looked to me that your powerbox was drawing 350mA before You plugged something more in it. Given the limit of 450mA/port, I think it is quite easy to exceed them, with this setup. It would need just 2 x 2,5W devices to get there.
My fault, RB960PGS draws about 7W, if I plug one device to RB960, everything is ok (ip camera, 7W), if one more plugged (eg. ip camera, 7 + 7 + 7 = 21W), port is overloaded. Funny thing about ip cams: by day is everything ok (consuming 6-7W), but in night with IR on camera (9-10W per camera), CRS port is overloaded and restarted.
If RB960PGS powered from Zyxel PoE switch, with truly 802.3at, class4 maximum (30W) is delivered to RB960 and everything went ok.
Well, Mikrotik never said CRS328 would power 30W/port. In fact, it specifically tells that it goes as far as 450mA/port. I don't know this Zyxel, but looks like it can deliver more power/port than the CRS328.
 
skdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:32 pm

Well, Mikrotik never said CRS328 would power 30W/port. In fact, it specifically tells that it goes as far as 450mA/port. I don't know this Zyxel, but looks like it can deliver more power/port than the CRS328.
Ok, so I stick with 802.3at, Type2 PoE+ (https://mikrotik.com/product/crs328_24p_4s_rm text from webpage: "...it has 24 Gigabit Ethernet ports, which offer different power output options: Passive PoE, low voltage PoE, 802.3af/at (Type 1 “PoE” / Type 2 “PoE+”) with auto-sensing...", which is, wait for it, 30W PSE, ~26W PD. And this is not working... So the question is: is CRS328 Type2 PoE+ capable or not. If not, then description on mikrotik page is misleading.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Fri Apr 19, 2019 12:03 am

Well, Mikrotik never said CRS328 would power 30W/port. In fact, it specifically tells that it goes as far as 450mA/port. I don't know this Zyxel, but looks like it can deliver more power/port than the CRS328.
Ok, so I stick with 802.3at, Type2 PoE+ (https://mikrotik.com/product/crs328_24p_4s_rm text from webpage: "...it has 24 Gigabit Ethernet ports, which offer different power output options: Passive PoE, low voltage PoE, 802.3af/at (Type 1 “PoE” / Type 2 “PoE+”) with auto-sensing...", which is, wait for it, 30W PSE, ~26W PD. And this is not working... So the question is: is CRS328 Type2 PoE+ capable or not. If not, then description on mikrotik page is misleading.
Yes, I agree is weird. Wikipedia giver a upper limit of 25,5W to 802.3at (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_over_Ethernet). Curiously, it states that the maximum current would be 600mA. Now I don't know what to think. I believe it is worth noting that 57V x 450mA = 25,65W. Maybe all the problems come from this.

One must consider the voltage drop too - especially when daisy chaining. I understand that it can't power 3 devices. Can it power2? Can it power 3, with short cables?
 
skdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:07 pm

Re: CRS328 and poe-out status: overload

Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:29 am

Yes, I agree is weird. Wikipedia giver a upper limit of 25,5W to 802.3at (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_over_Ethernet). Curiously, it states that the maximum current would be 600mA. Now I don't know what to think. I believe it is worth noting that 57V x 450mA = 25,65W. Maybe all the problems come from this.

One must consider the voltage drop too - especially when daisy chaining. I understand that it can't power 3 devices. Can it power2? Can it power 3, with short cables?
Voltage drop is something to consider, but internal power supply is at PSU1=26.4, PSU2=52.8V (/system health print), e.g. 26.4W and 23.7W according to specs.
I also tested "short cables" in this setup, length doesn't matter (talking about 10m to 20m), all devices shows 51.8V on long cable (52V on short ~ 3m) if powered from CRS (fun fact, one RB960 is now powered with mikrotik 48V/70W PSU with PoE injector and reports 47V (e.g. voltage drop 1V on this cable) with 4x802.3af devices, all devices working flawlessly).
As you write above, 450mA is not 600mA, its simple.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests