Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mitaka
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:36 am

Connecting CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ

Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:16 am

Hi Guys!
A customer of mine needs to connect one CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ using twinax cable.
Will it work?
Thank you.
EDIT: Perhaps I should clarify that I meant sfp+ connection between the two devices... 10gbps
 
Guntis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: Connecting CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ

Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:46 pm

You should check if it's made according to Multi-Source Agreement (MSA) , it should work if it's compliant.
 
mitaka
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Connecting CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ

Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:14 pm

Thanks @Guntis, but I can't find any info about tp-link and msa...
I was thinking from standard('s) point of view... considering that both product support twinax... will it work...
 
Guntis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: Connecting CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ

Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:47 pm

Information if it's MSA compliant, should be noted on product page, when buying SFP modules or twinax cables, majority of modules are compliant. There are no vendor locks in our devices, as such it should work together with TP-Link using, twinax cable.

But if you are unsure about TP-Link side, you could try asking them for confirmation. We haven't ran into issues with compatibility ourselves.
 
mitaka
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Connecting CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ

Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:01 pm

Thanks I'll ask them and post the result here.
 
mitaka
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Connecting CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ

Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:20 am

Ok.
Here is the answer of TP-Link support:
Sorry that we cannot guarantee that our switch T2600G-28SQ can work with MikroTik CCR1072-1G-8S+ at 10Gbps since we haven't tested it yet.
But our SFP Switches are comply with the industry standard and have no any detection code or any other limitation to other brand's devices.
And when I asked them about MSA:
Our switch T2600G-28SQ use SFP+ Slots, which is one standard of MSA.
If there is no vendor locks in MikroTik switch either, they should be able to work together.
So at this point we are willing to purchase the equipment and give it a try.
When we have result - I will post here.
 
Tobei
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 3:25 pm

Re: Connecting CCR1072-1G-8S+ with TP-Link T2600G-28SQ

Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:19 pm

Hi,

we have a similar situation in our data center, we are using Flexoptix DAC-cables to connect our CCR1072 to our Aruba core switches. This works since over a year without any problems. Our experience is that the MikroTik CCR are very picky when optical SFP(+) modules join the game. DAC cables are less problematic.

One advantage of the Flexoptix DAC cables is that you can flash both ends of the cable. Yes you can also flash two different ends. That is very handy if you have to connect different vendors.


Regards Tobias

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests