Community discussions

 
zervanko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 12:19 am

What is two gigabit lines for ports in Mikrotik hex gr3?

Mon May 13, 2019 12:26 am

https://forum.openwrt.org/t/some-questi ... 0gr3/35993 the second question is that I want to ask here. OpenWRT just use mt7530 switch driver, than creates 2 vlans for WAN and LAN networks, while on router os I can group some ports, and them will go by one of gigabit "lines", while others to another line. Are you using any self-created driver to do that?
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: What is two gigabit lines for ports in Mikrotik hex gr3?

Tue May 14, 2019 5:28 am

It would be good to have an official Mikrotik answer, but I don't think the lines are so clear divided. They look to me something more like the dual channel memory we have in computers: both channels are just used by what is needed.

Take a look at this pdf. The block diagram is at page 2

http://www.t-firefly.com/download/FireW ... MT7621.pdf
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5351
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: What is two gigabit lines for ports in Mikrotik hex gr3?

Tue May 14, 2019 2:52 pm

When you want an official MikroTik answer, why not get the info from the MikroTik website instead of from other sites?
https://mikrotik.com/product/RB750Gr3#fndtn-downloads
(I think) all MikroTik equipment uses hidden VLANs to make the indivudual ports accessible on an architecture like that.
This is also the reason why VLAN switching is not accelerated on that device: the VLAN layer is already used by the device itself, user defined VLANs are handled in software above that.
Of course when you decide to run different software on it, you can also decide to do it in a completely different way.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests