Community discussions

 
joshgambit
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:14 pm

hEX S & SFP S-RJ01

Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:19 pm

I just purchased a hEX S & S-RJ01; but I can't seem to get the SFP port to work with my WAN. I'm going directly from a cable modem into the SFP port, but I can't get it to link up. If I put the cable modem cord into ETH1 and change the setting from ETH1 to SFP1, it works. It seems I can only use the SFP port for a LAN port?

Pardon my ignorance; I'm a beginner with this hardware & software.

Thanks,
Josh
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: hEX S & SFP S-RJ01

Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:30 pm

SFP port can be purposed however you need it to be.
Can you put the SFP into your :AN and connect a PC to it and access the router?
It sounds like hardware issue or negotiation problem between modem and SFP.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1158
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: hEX S & SFP S-RJ01

Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:56 pm

SFP port can be purposed however you need it to be.
Can you put the SFP into your :AN and connect a PC to it and access the router?
It sounds like hardware issue or negotiation problem between modem and SFP.
Indeed switch of auto negotiation and set speed to 1Gbit.
Those SFP can generate much heat and in the middle of the thread you see my solution for the hEX-s
viewtopic.php?p=671105
Two RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. One does PPPoE/IKEv2 and the other does the rest of the tasks.
Running:
RouterOS 6.46Beta / Winbox 3.19 / MikroTik APP 1.2.10
Having an Android device, use https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases no root required
 
joshgambit
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:14 pm

Re: hEX S & SFP S-RJ01

Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:24 pm

Okay. Here's what I've done.

SFP Port is going to my computer.
Ether1 is going to the modem.
I'm able to access the internet and the router with no problems.

If I switch it to:
SFP going to the modem
Ether1 going to my computer

I'm unable to access the internet. I've turned off Auto-Negotiation and set the speed to 1Gbit. I've also switched the "Port" setting under Internet in the Quick Set from Eth1 to SPF1. So, what am I doing wrong?
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1158
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: hEX S & SFP S-RJ01

Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:12 pm

Two RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. One does PPPoE/IKEv2 and the other does the rest of the tasks.
Running:
RouterOS 6.46Beta / Winbox 3.19 / MikroTik APP 1.2.10
Having an Android device, use https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases no root required

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests